We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Villacana Club Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$190
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
US$115
FuerteHoteles.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$535
US$304
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ona Valle Romano Golf & Resort(Estepona)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$68
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$177
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$372
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
99
69
17
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
69
17
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terraceleila playatennis courtsroad noiseuncrowded beachsmall poolasked receptioncoastal highwayfirst floorbed apartmentbus servicesmall marketmentioned earlierpool areapuerto banusliving areafurther afield
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Very nice place, premises are beautiful, right on the beach. The houses are comfortable, there is a very good (really very good) restaurant - Gregorio, tennis courts, etc.
Unfortunately, our visit was way offseason, and weather did not allow us to use the amenities to its fullest.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yuri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for your comments Yuri. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Stayed here for 7 days. It was outstanding. They apartment was very clean and tranquil, the walk down to the pool through the gardens is something els The beds are very comfortable and get changed once a week. If you're a sun worshipper like me there a roof terrace with your own apartment space with two sun loungers and a table and six chairs. I recommend this complex.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank frankbyrne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We returned to the Villacana Club in late October/early November following a previous visit that had left us disappointed. Our two stays could not have been further poles apart, and we are so glad that we returned!

We stayed in Don Piettro 43 which was a superb location for the main bar and pool area - a huge, extremely comfortable duplex apartment with 2 large bedrooms and a downstairs area that provided so much space and comfort we would happily live there. A lovely courtyard in the rear provided a lovely setting to enjoy our breakfast and lunches alfresco!

The resort was really quiet as it was just after the English half term week, and we were blessed with some great weather for the time of year that provided almost 5 days of sunshine during our stay. The main pool was heated which was great (as was the indoor pool), and we enjoyed the various activities that were put on - especially the Sangria demonstrations provided by Lisa! We also recommend the Paella demonstration that is usually on the Sunday - both times it has been simply delicious, and great to see it being cooked from scratch in front of you.

Lisa was great with the children, and made a lot of fuss over all of them - they certainly enjoyed the Halloween pizza making activity! Many thanks to you Lisa - you certainly added to the enjoyment of the girls.

Some tips for any future stays:
- the Lidl store approx. 1km away is great for groceries. Very good choice and value
- Well worth a short stroll over the bridge to Cancelada. Especially in the morning where you can buy Churros and mingle with the locals. Otherwise the various cafe's are alive once again the evenings
- Puerto Banus isn't as expensive as it seems. Street parking is free from 2-4pm, and some of the marina side restaurants do great early evening food offers with 30% off.
- Estepona is a must visit for the old town. They have maps in reception and parking is fairly easy. The marina is also worth a visit as it has some really nice restaurants, and you can also visit the bullring that is in that area.
- The local markets are great. Well worth a visit to one of them during your stay.

We were so glad that we returned, and will keep an eye out for any future opportunities to visit the resort again. Many thanks to all staff!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dai47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere in well maintained village style set up.. easy stroll down to uncrowded beach with beach bar, sun loungers and restaurant. Friendly efficient staff .. cleanliness and maintenance excellent. Two bed apartment spacious and well equipped. Balcony on inner courtyard not really used as didn't get a lot of sun but not big issue for us.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We normally stay at our own resort (Macdonald Leila Playa) but as my wife is now in a wheelchair that is no longer suitable being located on a steep hill.
So we arranged to exchange to Villacana and were very happy as the resort is much flatter and accessible.
We stayed in Dom Pedro 1 and as soon as we had checked in, the maintenance team added a ramp to the front door and also a ramp onto the terrance. The apartment was very spacious and well appointed and as being MacDonald owners the wifi was included free of charge.

The on-site has both an indoor and outdoor heated pool which were very nice, but the other smaller outdoor pool was not heated and very cold!

Wheelchair accessiblility is very good throughout the resort with lots of ramps, but access to the bar and swimming pools means going around onto the road outside the main area and then coming back in through a side gate but this was not a problem.

One small disappointment was that the on-site restaurant was closed so we had to leave the site to eat, but that was no major problem as there are many very good restaurants within easy walking distance.
However it would have been nice for the bar to remain open in the evening as we like to have a night-cap in the bar after we have eaten before we go to bed.
Apart from this minor niggle, we had an excellent stay and are trying to arrange to stay for a week next year.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews