We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
110
78
18
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
78
18
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace dona lola safety rules brick bbq tennis courts steam room and sauna first floor road noise huge patio uncrowded beach small pool towels and bedding apartment was very clean asked reception cooking utensils bedroom unit small market
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We returned to the Villacana Club in late October/early November following a previous visit that had left us disappointed. Our two stays could not have been further poles apart, and we are so glad that we returned!

We stayed in Don Piettro 43 which was a superb location for the main bar and pool area - a huge, extremely comfortable duplex apartment with 2 large bedrooms and a downstairs area that provided so much space and comfort we would happily live there. A lovely courtyard in the rear provided a lovely setting to enjoy our breakfast and lunches alfresco!

The resort was really quiet as it was just after the English half term week, and we were blessed with some great weather for the time of year that provided almost 5 days of sunshine during our stay. The main pool was heated which was great (as was the indoor pool), and we enjoyed the various activities that were put on - especially the Sangria demonstrations provided by Lisa! We also recommend the Paella demonstration that is usually on the Sunday - both times it has been simply delicious, and great to see it being cooked from scratch in front of you.

Lisa was great with the children, and made a lot of fuss over all of them - they certainly enjoyed the Halloween pizza making activity! Many thanks to you Lisa - you certainly added to the enjoyment of the girls.

Some tips for any future stays:
- the Lidl store approx. 1km away is great for groceries. Very good choice and value
- Well worth a short stroll over the bridge to Cancelada. Especially in the morning where you can buy Churros and mingle with the locals. Otherwise the various cafe's are alive once again the evenings
- Puerto Banus isn't as expensive as it seems. Street parking is free from 2-4pm, and some of the marina side restaurants do great early evening food offers with 30% off.
- Estepona is a must visit for the old town. They have maps in reception and parking is fairly easy. The marina is also worth a visit as it has some really nice restaurants, and you can also visit the bullring that is in that area.
- The local markets are great. Well worth a visit to one of them during your stay.

We were so glad that we returned, and will keep an eye out for any future opportunities to visit the resort again. Many thanks to all staff!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dai47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere in well maintained village style set up.. easy stroll down to uncrowded beach with beach bar, sun loungers and restaurant. Friendly efficient staff .. cleanliness and maintenance excellent. Two bed apartment spacious and well equipped. Balcony on inner courtyard not really used as didn't get a lot of sun but not big issue for us.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We normally stay at our own resort (Macdonald Leila Playa) but as my wife is now in a wheelchair that is no longer suitable being located on a steep hill.
So we arranged to exchange to Villacana and were very happy as the resort is much flatter and accessible.
We stayed in Dom Pedro 1 and as soon as we had checked in, the maintenance team added a ramp to the front door and also a ramp onto the terrance. The apartment was very spacious and well appointed and as being MacDonald owners the wifi was included free of charge.

The on-site has both an indoor and outdoor heated pool which were very nice, but the other smaller outdoor pool was not heated and very cold!

Wheelchair accessiblility is very good throughout the resort with lots of ramps, but access to the bar and swimming pools means going around onto the road outside the main area and then coming back in through a side gate but this was not a problem.

One small disappointment was that the on-site restaurant was closed so we had to leave the site to eat, but that was no major problem as there are many very good restaurants within easy walking distance.
However it would have been nice for the bar to remain open in the evening as we like to have a night-cap in the bar after we have eaten before we go to bed.
Apart from this minor niggle, we had an excellent stay and are trying to arrange to stay for a week next year.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 204philj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Very nice apartment for our first night in Spain. The Old Town in Estepona is really a must see. Known for its different colored flower pots. Lovely cafes to have a beverage and Tapas. Super nice boardwalk along the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We spent last week in Villicana and had a lovely time. The staff were great...every single one of them, polite and friendly. The unit was very clean and spacious with a modern feel. The only strange thing was twin beds in a one bed unit....no romantic getaway!!!
The restaurant/bar was lovely ...Gina and Luis were great hosts - strangely it was quiet at times, even happy hour which was good value. The pool areas were clean and relaxing, at times we were the only people on the sunbeds next to the little pool! The whole grounds were immaculate, probably the nicest we have seen and all the staff took real pride in their role of maintaining the high standards. We did have a roof terrace but the weather was so hot we didn't use it, preferred to stay by the pool under an umbrella! Don't be put off by the location, the surroundings are scruffy but the village over the bridge is beautiful and the restaurants great. The beach is nearby and clean but again a bit disappointing in terms of its access appearance.The transfer was a little expensive but worth it!

Room Tip: Some have gardens, ours was next to the small pool which was great. Check the type of beds you have.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank janeymooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews