We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$174
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Diana Park(Estepona)
US$192
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$213
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ona Valle Romano Golf & Resort(Estepona)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
US$115
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$211
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$571
US$547
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (997)
Filter reviews
997 results
Traveller rating
518
322
102
26
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
322
102
26
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnudist beachsea viewshared loungebedroom suitebeach bedsstayed daysadult only poolhuge bedtea making facilitieshand railsmercadona supermarketpool bareuro taxi ridegorgeous hotelthe hotel offersbath showerrecommend this hotel to anyone
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 997 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from our stay at this hotel where we stayed for 4 nights. We had a lovely large suite with a dining area, a living room, 2 large bedrooms one with shower room and one with a bathroom (towels were provided). The main bedroom had a lovely view facing the sea and the large gardens. The pools are very good, although my husband and I did not use them as they were not heated and the water was way too cold for us (outside temperature was actually lovely - usually 22 degrees, at the end of October it was VERY pleasant!)

The hotel was very good and very clean, with always something for everyone. Kids had activities and 2 playing areas, there was yoga in the morning or flamenco show in the evening. I also like the fact that there is a pool reserved to adults only. There is a spa, but we did not used it.

We had breakfast there every day. It is a buffet style so there is something for everyone, wether you like a French style breakfast (croissants, pains au chocolat, bread), a Germanic style with salami, sausages or British one with beans, eggs, bacon, sausages.

Dinner is the same style so there is something for everyone. Ideally you need to book at the hotel reception to pay a bit cheaper (€21/adult and €12/ child). If you wish you can also eat at the bar, where the food is a bit cheaper but still very tasty. There is a kids menu at €10, including drink.

You would need a car to access the hotel as it is 45 minutes from the Gibraltar airport. That being said, access was very easy. Just go straight and follow the direction to Estepona! You would also need a car as there is not much to do around the hotel. However the town of Estepona is only 4km away (9 euros by taxi) and there are many restaurants and tapas bars at very competitive prices. We also recommend a day trip to Gibraltar, it is worth the effort.

The hotel staff was very pleasant, always happy to help us (with the exception of one person did not really help us regarding dinner). A special 'muchas gracias' to Cristina and Fabian who have been exceptional with us and our 2 girls on many occasions.

There was a mistake from them at the checkout as they were going to charge us for 2 dinners at the restaurant when actually we ate there only once, so we had to argue our case a bit but in the end the lady agreed to remove the charge...

Important note: there is a NUDIST beach next to the hotel which was mentioned nowhere!! We only discovered it as we were walking on the beach with our 2 kids... not ideal! If it was just me and my husband, it would not bother me but I think it should be mentioned as it was not mentioned at the hotel neither on the information board located on the beach! There is no 'border' on the beach either to separate the 2 beaches.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank Santtu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Santtu10,
Many thanks for your stay at our Hotel Fuerte Estepona and for such a lovely comment in Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our Hotel activities, gastronomy and instalations. We take note about nudist beach and we will make a note in our website, many thanks for your suggestion. We hope to welcome you back again in near future.
Best Regards,
Mari Carmen López, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Just returned from an amazing one week stay in the Fuerte Suites and I cannot fault anything! Very welcoming staff, good cleaning, food and beautiful location. My family of four included two children, aged 9 & 14. There isn’t loads to do other than the pool, tennis, games area, although the location is fabulous and the kids played in the pool/made their own entertainment. Exactly how a holiday should be The hotel is not near anything else, so we hired a car and it’s the perfect base for visiting Estepona (10-15 mins) and Marbella (35 mins). The landscape of the hotel is beautiful, we spent days by the pool, walks on the beach, trips to Marbella, Estepona, Puerto Banus, etc. There is plenty going on, we were looking at water sports in Marbella, although ran out of time (try the sea front, parallel to the hotel Fuerte Marbella). The old towns in Marbella and Estepona are fantastic, a must if you are in the area. We found the hotel to be the perfect base, out of town for relaxation and also near to the action.

Big thank-you to all the staff and we will return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Fm3391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Fm3391,
Many thanks for taking your time to write us a lovely comment in Tripadvisor. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed our Hotel, instalations and our service. We hope to welcome you back again in near future.
Best Regards,
Mari Carmen López, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

On arrival at 2.00 a.m after a much delayed flight had to find the room ourselves and carry our suitcases, the room was not as booked,
Specifically asked for a double aspect room with sea view as on website, the operator at the Fuerte group assured me that is what we would get, not so, so went down to reception in the morning to keep being assured the room we had was better.....
Then they upgraded us to a suite, which was very nice with a lovely sea view and very large, bed extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was like a school canteen, most hotels have buffet for breakfast and I have no problem with that, but the eggs and bacon were luke warm, every day. The coffee was out of a machine not freshly brewed, and orange juice was also out of a machine made out of concentrate with added water, no freshly squeezed orange available. There seemed to be no queuing system, and if you thought about what you might have for more than a nanosecond, people would push you out of the way with their plates.

As we had a very late flight on our departure date, we requested a late check out (we booked the exclusive package as it offered late check out) but was told the hotel was fully booked and we had to check out at 1200midday, they offered us the wonderful facility of leaving our suit cases with reception, we asked if a room was available to shower or change in they said no, but we stood at the reception desk and showed them we could book a room for the night in question online, that very morning, but they still insisted nothing was available, but we were welcome to book the room on the website, but the problem was if we checked out at 12.00 the new room would not be available until 3pm, and as we only wanted to stay till 5pm, seemed pointless. They made no effort to help, as it was too much bother to clean a room twice in one day. And then to add insult the cleaners knocked on the door at 11.45am and then again at 11.55am, and when we left our room at 12.01pm, she was camped outside our room. When we went to check out, the queue was so long and only one person on the desk it took 30 minutes to get away.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank beverleyl643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear beverleyl643,
Many thanks for your opinion in Tripadvisor. Please let me explain you that our service of bell boy is running until midnight, after that time we have one recepcionist.
The room that you booked was an Exclusive Doble Front View and as in your perception the room was not up to your expectation, as a gesture of good, we gave you an upgrade to an Exclusive Apartment of one bedroom with not extra cost addtional.
Regards breakfast, most of our guests are happy with our gastronomy as you can read from the rest of traveller that make comments in Tripadvisor. Again sorry if we could not reach your expectations.
Late check-out is always available and offered to our clients, as the occupancy was high, in your case we did not have the possiblity of late check-out available. During your stay, in our website you could book a type of family room but not an Exclusive Apartment that was the room that you had and that we had another guest coming to enjoy their stay the day of your check-out.

We hope that you enyoyed the rest of the hotel instalations and services.

Best Regards,
Mari Carmen López, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Fuetre Estepona the first 2 weeks in September and also had our wedding at the hotel. We had an absolutely brilliant time and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
The hotel itself is lovely, nice big spacious rooms, some like huge apartments. They are quite spread out as it's a large hotel but just request a room in the main part of the hotel if you don't like walking far. The pool area is also very big with plenty of beds and it is one of the only hotels we have stayed in where people don't rush down in the morning to reserve them!!! Lots of entertainment through the day such as water polo and volleyball and nice pool bar serving drinks and really nice food. Service could be quite slow around the pool bar but you just learn to order a few drinks in advance!! The hotel is right on the beach and it's a lovely view from the sea facing rooms and from the pool.
We upgraded to all inclusive which was well worth it for us as it isn't the cheapest for drinks and food and if u like having a few drinks through the day is definitely worth doing. The food in the buffet restaurant was really good and really fresh with lots on offer everyday and the service in there was excellent, Lucas and Maria looked after us everyday and deserve a special mention!
Would highly recommend the hotel for a wedding as well, ours could not have gone more perfectly, the ceremony and the meal was in a lovely setting, the canapés and 3 course meal was amazing and the party in the evening was great to. Would highly recommend the band The Legal Aliens as well who played at our reception. Looking after us for the stay and coordinating the wedding was Mari Carmen who was absolutely brilliant, she was very professional and helpful the whole time and lots of our guests commented on how good she was as well. We had 80 people at the wedding with about 60 staying in the hotel and they all had an amazing time and had such good things to say about the hotel!
A few reviews on here have said that you need a car if you are staying here but you really don't so don't let that put you off! Admittedly there is nowhere you can just wander out of the hotel to but Estepona marina and old town are only a 5 minute 9euro taxi ride away. We went in most nights and it's very easy to get there and back and well worth it as lots of really nice bars and restaurants!
Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a lovely wedding and stay!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank laura_bray85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Laura,
How nice to hear back from you! We hope you, Stewart and your family are well. We are glad that our staff and our facilities made the difference for you.
We hope to welcome you back in future in your house in Estepona.
Strog regards, Mari Carmen López, Guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I stayed here for 2 nights in a duplex 1 bedroom apartment and this place was really good. The rooms are absolutely massive with great balconies overlooking the ocean. We were here with quite a large group and everything worked really well for that. Staff were good and the facilities are all very nice. It is really good value for money so pay close attention to negative reviews as they seem to be nitpicking. It is not walking distance to anywhere but the cab rides are short to get to various places and the old town of Estepona. All in all I enjoyed my time here and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari Carmen L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear JWalker,
Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Fuerte Estepona and for your nice review about our facilities, rooms and Staff on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back in future.
Best regards,
Mari Carmen López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews