We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely The Best Place to Stay in Bolonia?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cadiz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal La Hormiga Voladora
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Just beautiful. The best location surely - right by the beach - takes 30 seconds to walk there. Spacious, clean rooms, beautifully created hostal in traditional style. Very friendly owners, car park right in front of property. 10 Mins walk along the beach to the Roman ruins. Stunning views from the rooms. They have apartments available with kitchens also. The only thing to be aware is that wifi does not reach all the rooms, but hopefully you'll be here on holiday and not need it...

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2015

We visited in October and stayed in Hostal La Hormiga Voladora for the one night. This was our second visit and it did not disappoint. We brought friends who also loved it. The access to the Hostal is not prepossessing; while you can see the gates from the road to get to it you pass over a short unpaved section. Within the complex, which is formed by a number of attached buildings, being separate rooms each having its own small terrace or some rooms sharing a court yard with one or two others, it seems like a small village or hamlet . The terraces can be used for eating or socialising. No food is provided or supplied by the Hostal but there are a few nice places to eat in the immediate vicinity and shops selling food. One of our friends described it as what she imagined Spain was like before it became over commercial. There is the most beautiful beach. The Roman ruins of a small town are being excavated and there is a super interpretative center - not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandN5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Baja bolonia is an amazing little spot where is mandatory to stop if you like the ocean view and the quiet of a little town! The hostal it's clean and nice, exactly in front of the ocean with private entrance to the huge beach. The owners are very kind.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank francesco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed in room number 16 and we had the best seaview. So if you stay here ask for room number 16 or 7. They have a big terrace and beautiful sea view. Next to that the room is super cozy and really clean. We loved everything about it. The fridge in the room was also convenient. The beach is beautiful and clean as well. Bolonia it self was quiet. And that was exactly what we wanted.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Leoniedv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Depends on what one is looking for, personally, I would stay there for ever! Spent a full week and never got bored. The Hostal is very clean, basic, I had a nice apartment, no 4, fully equipped. Day and night I woke up and went to bed hearing the continuous ocean waves. The owners, Julia and Rafael are so sweet,and nice people, taking care of everything. There is free parking inside the property and there is free wifi by the reception. Juani, the cleaning lady would give you all the info about where to go in the surroundings and what little but fantastic details to discover, like the village of Facinas. The hostal is located on the wonderful beach Bolonia, just put on your bathing suit and walk a few steps. It is at a walking distance from the splendid ancient roman site of Baela Claudio, which, has a fantastic museum too. The landscape is wonderful, especially the huge natural dune which is a natural monument and where you can walk or ride a horse. There is scuba diving and the ocean is crystal clear and you can enjoy swimming or surfing' depending on the wind force. You can also walk southward on the beach and reach playa Paloma, another nice spot full of pine trees. And of course you can do body surf, windsurf and kite. There are a few nice restaurants and chiringuitos nearby the hostal where you can have nice food. I went often to the Alhmar, which makes very good home cooking, in tapas or bigger portions. If for a change, you want animation and lots of people then take half an hour drive to the cute village of Zahara de los Atunes. Some nights they have outdoor cinema or flamenco concerts which are very pleasant. Or drive for half an hour to Tarifa, which I found awfully ugly. But if you like crowds and bars, then this is your place. The hostal is a small paradise in every aspect and what makes it even better, is Julia and Rafael, the owners. Certainly there are more things I did not discover, but I will, on my next, trip.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank fanytag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
69.7 km away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,949 reviews
68.8 km away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
67.3 km away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.6 km away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 28 in Cadiz
856 reviews
66 km away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
68.3 km away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Hormiga Voladora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Hormiga Voladora

Address: Tarifa,Ensenada de Bolonia, Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hostal La Hormiga Voladora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing