We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
30
28
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
28
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2015

We visited in October and stayed in Hostal La Hormiga Voladora for the one night. This was our second visit and it did not disappoint. We brought friends who also loved it. The access to the Hostal is not prepossessing; while you can see the gates from the road to get to it you pass over a short unpaved section. Within the complex, which is formed by a number of attached buildings, being separate rooms each having its own small terrace or some rooms sharing a court yard with one or two others, it seems like a small village or hamlet . The terraces can be used for eating or socialising. No food is provided or supplied by the Hostal but there are a few nice places to eat in the immediate vicinity and shops selling food. One of our friends described it as what she imagined Spain was like before it became over commercial. There is the most beautiful beach. The Roman ruins of a small town are being excavated and there is a super interpretative center - not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandN5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Baja bolonia is an amazing little spot where is mandatory to stop if you like the ocean view and the quiet of a little town! The hostal it's clean and nice, exactly in front of the ocean with private entrance to the huge beach. The owners are very kind.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank francesco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed in room number 16 and we had the best seaview. So if you stay here ask for room number 16 or 7. They have a big terrace and beautiful sea view. Next to that the room is super cozy and really clean. We loved everything about it. The fridge in the room was also convenient. The beach is beautiful and clean as well. Bolonia it self was quiet. And that was exactly what we wanted.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Leoniedv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Depends on what one is looking for, personally, I would stay there for ever! Spent a full week and never got bored. The Hostal is very clean, basic, I had a nice apartment, no 4, fully equipped. Day and night I woke up and went to bed hearing the continuous ocean waves. The owners, Julia and Rafael are so sweet,and nice people, taking care of everything. There is free parking inside the property and there is free wifi by the reception. Juani, the cleaning lady would give you all the info about where to go in the surroundings and what little but fantastic details to discover, like the village of Facinas. The hostal is located on the wonderful beach Bolonia, just put on your bathing suit and walk a few steps. It is at a walking distance from the splendid ancient roman site of Baela Claudio, which, has a fantastic museum too. The landscape is wonderful, especially the huge natural dune which is a natural monument and where you can walk or ride a horse. There is scuba diving and the ocean is crystal clear and you can enjoy swimming or surfing' depending on the wind force. You can also walk southward on the beach and reach playa Paloma, another nice spot full of pine trees. And of course you can do body surf, windsurf and kite. There are a few nice restaurants and chiringuitos nearby the hostal where you can have nice food. I went often to the Alhmar, which makes very good home cooking, in tapas or bigger portions. If for a change, you want animation and lots of people then take half an hour drive to the cute village of Zahara de los Atunes. Some nights they have outdoor cinema or flamenco concerts which are very pleasant. Or drive for half an hour to Tarifa, which I found awfully ugly. But if you like crowds and bars, then this is your place. The hostal is a small paradise in every aspect and what makes it even better, is Julia and Rafael, the owners. Certainly there are more things I did not discover, but I will, on my next, trip.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank fanytag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This place may not look like much on approach, and promises even less when driving down short pot-holed dust "road" to the makeshift car park right in front of reception. However, then one looks to the right to see an amazing sea vista, and to the left the owners' family's gardening efforts with pots upon pots of succulents and plants. The 3 of us had 2 twin rooms, we shared a lovely large courtyard with few other rooms though it was super quiet, lovely for breakfasts or hanging beach towels to dry, and our friend had his own little courtyard - Room 17 (which also has a very nice new(er) bathroom). The more expensive rooms which were proposed to us in September at €85 have their own expansive terraces and fab sea views. The hotel has quite a few other common areas for use, under olive and fig trees, and has private back door access to the beach.

The beds are simple and on the hard side, with plastic covers under the sheets, but at €60 per night right on the beach, its not too bad, and the place is practically spotless. Housekeeping is 5-star quality, and the owners are very understanding and helpful, though it would help greatly if you speak Spanish.The hotel is excellently located to a few good lunch places with great seafood closer to the Roman ruins, and walking distance to the ancient amphitheatre where there are frequent evening seaside performances. There is basic very flat pillow, so if you want something specific bring your own.

There are 2 little supermarkets in the main street just outside the hostal, so breakfast or lunch or even picnic not a problem, especially as rooms have little fridge for guests use. The one closer to the hostal has excellent deli section with fresh cheeses, charcuterie, and fruit & veg. Otherwise there are plenty of little cafes for breakfast, and excellent La Marisma for bbq or excellent wood oven pizza right opposite the hostal (it is very very good). Rooms are air conditioned with super quiet units, mosquitos a bit of an issue if you sleep with open windows and no zircon, so bring your citronella candles or the like though there are electric anti mosquito plugs in the rooms. Similarly, bring your own hair dryer and any nice products as what is at the hotel is very basic, but the towels are plentiful and soft enough. Excellent place, fab for a week or more, and one can even order in a massage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews