We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, traditional and full of history”
Review of Sachsischer Hof

Sachsischer Hof
Ranked #33 of 163 Restaurants in Weimar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We were here one summer evening and enjoyed very good traditional German dishes. The restaurant has a cozy outside area and also a very nice dining room inside. Service was personal, quick and polite.
Hotel Sachsischer Hof is one of the oldest houses and hotels in Weimar, and it is little known that Goethe lived there the first 5 to 7 years after he settles in Weimar. Location is perfect, right at the place with the big Dom and with Herder looking at you from his big statue. From there, you can enter the 2 main streets through old Weimar.
I can really recomment this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank MicWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2015

Ate here in the summer duiring Spargel season. Took my wife back while on a Christkindlmarkt trip in Weimar. English menus available if necessary. Had goose as an entree, it was very good. Wife had a schnitzel and was quite happy. Dessert was a bit week...not the best apfelstruedel i've ever had. Friendly, efficient service.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Wanted a restaurant with a spargel menu and the hotel suggested this one. Unassuming little bar/restaurant just off the St. Peter and Paul church square. Sauerbraten was well liked. I had the spargel menu with a fantastic, creamy spargelcremesuppe, and a pork schnitzel with spargel and Hollandaise. Another guest had the spargel with hollandaise and ham. A fourth had a pork steak. We enjoyed our meals and the accompanying Schwarzbier. Dessert was a disappointment as it was a rather tiny piece of apfelstruedel with a tiny ball of ice cream and whipped cream. Prices were reasonable but not great.

US credit cards not accepted, just the Maestro card.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Restaurant has a nice, although rather small, beer garden open to the street. We started with the local onion soup (more creamy than a French one, and with added herbs) which was really good. For main course they were almost out of pork chops with potato croquets and a mushroom sauce, so we had to split one such and half a duck with kloessen. The kloessen were better than expected with good texture and taste, but both the mushrooms of the sauce and the duck were rather disappointing in offering little in terms of taste. The rest of the ingredients were about as one would be able to prepare oneself, with no real sparkles. However, with the courtyard sitting, a reasonable price tag and a large schwartzbier it was worth the visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lyngsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sachsischer Hof also viewed

 
Weimar, Thuringia
 

Been to Sachsischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing