We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
131
79
29
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
79
29
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful view no air conditioning hotel shuttle old world car park auf der history castle forest luther wartburg hill germany luggage thuringian sauna surroundings
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017

For us, the visit to the Wartburg and Eisenach was for the historical experience. Little did we know on our first trip that the hotel would be a destination in and of itself.

Our room - a suite actually - overlooked the cobblestone courtyard and valley below. Living area and bedroom were warm and comforting. We would have loved to have spent more time simply in quarters, but history called and we walked out the door into the historic castle itself.

The dining rooms are spectacular with great views of the valley. The food was excellent, although heavy on the game meats. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we experienced. And the staff couldn't have been friendlier and helpful.

Two tips: If you arrive by train, get to Eisenach early, check your luggage into one of the large lockers in the station, and walk through the town - to the Luther House, the Bach House and the church in the main square. Have lunch in the café by the church. Then head back to the station and get a taxi to the hotel.

The hotel does not have an elevator if I remember correctly. So inquire if that may be a problem up and down stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U6292XP, Guest Relations Manager at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Richard,
we thank you very much for your visit at Wartburg castle and our Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Eisenach and that your expectations were met. Thank you for your kind words.

Regards the elevator - we do not have a lift in our hotel. However, we very much hope to be able to offer our guests this additional service in the future.

Dear Richard, thanks again for your visit and all the best for 2018.

Very kind regards,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg was built about 100 years ago and is adjacent to the Wartburg Castle, This is a 5-star luxury hotel with well appointed rooms. The rooms are not terribly large but the are large enough and have a sitting area plus an entrance room with a desk. The hotel is just steps away from the entrance to the Wartburg and presents the opportunity to walk around the castle at night when it is illuminated. It takes more than a day to see the entire Wartburg well, so spending the night places you within easy reach to begin touring the next morning. The hotel has a restaurant to match its 5-star rating where an extensive breakfast buffet is offered each morning. There is a bar and an adjacent plush lounge with a fireplace and leather furniture where drinks may be enjoyed. The staff is extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and pay in advance on-line for a significant discount.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U6292XP, Guest Relations Manager at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Bruce W,
we thank you very much for your stay with us as well as for your rating and very nice feedback on tripadvisor.com. We are very happy and thankful about your nice words and the detailed description of your stay.

Maybe you will visit us again soon in the future?

Very kind regards,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We had that hotels lunch special Wartburgvesper and shared for two. The beer and the view made up for the walk from the town centre as we walk the long route.. I suggest you book as we were lucky to get a table.

Room Tip: We had lunch
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U6292XP, Guest Relations Manager at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear John,
thank you for your visit at Wartburg castle and our restaurant.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and the Wartburgvesper as well.

Very kind regards and all the best,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had a great room overlooking the Wartburg. The hotel was comfortable, with pleasant facilities and helpful staff. Breakfast was reasonable. However our dinner experience was terrible. The view from the restaurant is superb,which was a blessing as we had plenty of time to enjoy it. One of our first courses simply did not arrive until several reminders had passed and the other had been long consumed. Far from that experience leading to better treatment, main courses were very slow and our request for dessert was ignored for a ridiculous amount of time. The food when it arrived was quite good, but our appetite had long fled.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela D, Guest Relations Manager at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear SallyandHarry,
thank you for your stay with us and your comment on tripadvisor.com.
I am glad to hear that you felt comfortable in your room and that you enjoyed the view to Wartburg castle and the Thuringian forrest.

Regards the restaurant experience, I am sorry that it came to the delays and you could not enjoy the dinner. Please be assured that this is not our standard.

Thanks again for your stay and your feedback. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

What a fantastic setting!! We stayed at the Romantik Hotel for a long weekend for a wedding ceremony. The quality of the rooms and the very friendly staff were equalled by the magnificent location beneath the Wartburg Castle and high above the surrounding area. We received a very friendly welcome and the staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly. The decor and quality of the rooms was totally in keeping with the surroundings and balanced with the castle. Finally, the cuisine throughout the weekend was of the top quality. It is expensive but it is so special.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SkinnyJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear SkinnyJonny,
thank you very much for your stay with us and the great feedback on tripadvisor.de.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!

The compliment to our team I gladly pass on. I would be very happy to welcome you again soon.

All the best for you and your family.

Very kind regards,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews