We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
33
61
22
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
61
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opposite the bus station old town rooms are clean christmas market europe garage holstentor pets luggage city parking
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Everyone has complained about the stairs in this hotel and after lugging our luggage up/down two flights of stairs I can say it wasn't fun but not that hard. Plus the manager offered to carry them but we declined.

However we had a pleasant stay. The beds are very comfortable (small but hey this is Europe), the room is super quiet (faced the back with a view and small balcony) and very clean. There is a TV but never had time.

The highlight was the bathroom. Small but very practical and efficient. Towel warmers and a super enjoyable shower just made it so much nicer than expected.

Breakfast is included. A good size and covers most of the northern German breakfast items (yum) but it does get busy.

There is parking but we arrived late and found a spot on the street. The manager asked where it was and willingly moved his car to let us have an even closer spot. Nice touch.

Lastly you can't beat the location. Near the main railway station (Hauptbahnhof) you can easily arrive by train or near the main road (as we did). It is only a couple of blocks from the historic island and easy to walk to.

In short, despite the stairs, this is a great place to stay.

Room tip: Ask for a quite room away from the street.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Came here for a tript to the wehinachtmarkt. Nice hotell, kinda small. Problem at breakfast when all tables were full. Alos has some kind of allergic reaction to my room. But all through a nice hotell

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Viktor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

When your arrival in a city for a couple of nights commences on Christmas Day after several hours of train travel (from Berlin), you focus on location first, and this place is so very close to the railway station it's brilliant . . . particularly if it's raining when you arrive and you really just want to get out of the weather and lose the luggage! So that's one positive thing (of many) to say about the Baltic- perfect for train travellers.

We'd chosen the Baltic a few months while looking for a hotel that wouldn't be closed for the Winter (as a few were). The TripAdvisor rating doesn't really do it justice, for the communication was great, the website clear and, when we arrived, the locals were wonderful. They made sure we knew where to go to head into the old town (we did, but it was nice to be asked), set us up with internet access, a local map and some advice for places to eat on Christmas Day. The rooms were neat a tidy, not large, but more than adequate.

We absolutely loved the breakfast the next morning, a great Scandinavian-style buffet featuring a good choice of meats, yoghurts and more smoked salmon than we'd seen in a long while! And they kept bringing us fresh coffee whilst preparing hot chocolate for the teenager in the family. Again we appreciated the closeness to the station for we were headed to Hamburg for a few hours to visit Miniatur Wunderland.

When we returned late in the afternoon we spent five hours wandering around the town, taking in the view from St Peter's and visiting the two Christmas markets again. It's not a long walk from the hotel - through the Holstentor (gate) for a bit of history - and we were again rather pleased we'd stayed near the station so we could have a late night, then enjoy a later breakfast and relax before our train to Copenhagen.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nawlinsgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

A really cosy hotel with a good breakfast suitable for people with strong legs. Placed in walking distance from Altstadt and a stones throw from the railway. Most rooms are accessed via stairs so not for wheelchairs or small children. No parking facilities but Street parking and garages close by.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anders K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel.

Location: it is easy to reach as it is situated opposite the train station and main bus station. If you come by car there is free parking available in front of the hotel. Lübeck's old town is in walking distance, approx. 10min to Holstentor (easy walk). There are some bakeries and little restaurants/take-away shops close by.

Room: a nice and comfy double room. Bathroom was bright and spacious. We even had a little balcony (but as it was winter we didnt use it).

Attention: we have not seen an elevator. The staircase up to the rooms is steep. Maybe you double-check with the reception if there is a lift available. We didnt need it so we dont know!

Staff: very friendly and helpful. If you need maps or other information, you will find it at the reception.

Breakfast: included in room rate. Plenty of things to eat. Yum German breakfast. Very cosy. You feel like home.

Wifi: you can use the free Lübeck wifi. For some reason it didnt work for the last 1.5 days.

Would we recommend it? Sure!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyPerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews