We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
80
101
66
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
101
66
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice promenade stayed for one night underground garage the river ships balcony travemunde furniture sauna
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

For a short stay the hotel is adequate. It has seen better times but is still well maintained and clean. The clients are generally from an older generation and are probably used to such standards. Breakfasts are good but the evening meals are just an average buffet, lacking taste and imagination.
The wellness and beauty area could be improved with the presence of a member of staff. The pool is large but needs a clean (bottom of the pool is full of debris).The treatments are done professionally and all reiki here can be recommend.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 October 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses und dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihre Bewertung mit dem freundlichen Hinweis abzugeben. Hilft uns doch die konstruktive Kritik eines Gastes, Schwachstellen in unserem Haus zu erkennen und abzustellen. Für alle Unannehmlichkeiten möchten wir uns bei Ihnen entschuldigen und Ihnen versichern, dass es nicht dem normalen Service unseres Hauses entspricht.
Wir würden uns freuen Sie wieder in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I'm sure this was one of the best places to be in 1976, but 40 years later without any major renovations, the hotel is just terrible compared to what they're charging per night.

The carpets are stained, the bathrooms are old and most other things are just depressing.

The only thing that's still good, is the views, if you get a room with a balcony facing the water.

It's sad really, because this could be a great place if they poured some money into renovating it.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank magnuso785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 September 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Meinung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns mitzuteilen. Auch wenn wir es bedauern, dass Sie keine besseren Erfahrungen bei uns gemacht haben, hilft uns Ihre Beurteilung dazu zu lernen und uns zu verbessern. Wir arbeiten daran, es unseren Gästen an nichts fehlen zu lassen. Wenn Sie uns die Chance geben, Ihr Vertrauen zurück zu gewinnen, garantieren wir Ihnen, unser Bestes zu geben, damit Sie genauso gute Erfahrungen mit uns machen können, wie andere Gäste.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The whole ambiance feels luxurious and our room faced the water with a balcony. Room was really comfortable and large with a well appointed bathroom. The breakfast had everything - a variety of cereals, lovely bread, meat, cheeses, fruit and pastries.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fritzmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für die gute Bewertung, die Sie unserem Hotel gegeben haben.
Wir freuen uns, dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt bei uns gefallen hat und hoffen, Sie bald wieder in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel und Kongresszentrum Lübeck-Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We stayed one night at this beach-hotel. The service was great with an attentive staff.
The room was on the 9:th floor with a wonderful view and a private balcony, which we enjoyed both during the day and the evening...
The bed was a bit to hard for me but perfect for my husband.
The room was fresh but a bit outdated (with a "fat TV" and a bit of 80's decor).

We had two meals at the hotel; dinner at the Pub (at the very bottom of the hotel) and breakfast (breakfast buffé in the big diningroom). Both meals were very good!!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari_E519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

This hotel is located right on the beach and estuary and therefore the location is great and the views from the rooms where you can watch the various ferries and boats going in and out are great.
However, there were quite a few issues:
1. Parking - the hotel charges 12 euros per night, but literally at the bottom of the hotel entrance is a public car park for 4 euros per 24 hours.
2. Interior - as other reviewers have mentioned the hotel was built in the 60s and it may not have been refurbished since! There is lots of wood panelling and old faded pictures on the wall
3. Tech - when was the last time you saw a 21 inch CRT TV (yes, one of those old big ones!) ? Well they're still here in every room! Surely, the hotel could afford some flat screen TVs with a decent screen size... Also, look out for the old radio which is built into the bedside table which belongs in a museum (even though ours didn't work!)
4. Breakfast - although there was plenty of choice, the scrambled eggs were revolting - like watery eggy jelly - my tip is order fried eggs or omelette instead which are slightly better. Also, watch out if it is busy, as they will open extra parts of the conference room and you will be a mile or two away from the buffet
5. Bars etc - as mentioned by other reviewers, the rooftop bar/restaurant doesn't seem to be often open so in 2 days we were never able to see the view. Also, when arriving back in at 9pm after dinner, there was not a single bar or cafe open in the hotel so nowhere to get a drink - I've never heard of this in a hotel of this size!
6. No tea of coffee facilities in the room and again often nowhere to get a hot drink anywhere else either.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidC792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews