We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
77
101
65
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
101
65
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed for one night underground garage the river ships balcony travemunde furniture sauna
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Worn carpets, muffled air in corridors, warm (not hot) food...... A long list of negatives for the price.
The hotel is old and in need of renovation. The staff however were friendly and helpful.
The view fron the balcony was wonderful, and the few meters to the beach another plus point.

Stayed: September 2014
1  Thank Bfpo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses möchten wir uns bedanken und auch dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, die Bewertung abzugeben.
Wir bedauern es sehr, dass Ihr Eindruck von unserem Haus getrübt wurde und möchten Ihnen dazu gern mitteilen, dass in den letzten Jahren umfangreiche Renovierungsmaßnahmen durchgeführt wurden und auch weitere Erneuerungen geplant sind, so dass Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt mit einer Änderung rechnen können.
Sie recht bald wieder als in Gast in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen, würde uns sehr freuen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

I stayed for 2 days and one night with a small conference. I had never been to this part of Germany before - it is not easily accessible from the UK. but being with German colleagues made it easy.
Great hotel - very friendly staff and amazing location with views across the bay.
Nice promenade walking too - we were very lucky with the weather.

Room Tip: One with a balcony - not sure if they all have
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HJCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses möchten wir uns bedanken und freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben.

Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Maritim Strandhotel und Kongresszentrum Lübeck-Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014

We stayed in this hotel spontaneously after deciding to drive longer than planned on our way back from Scandinavia. We first went to Timmendorfer Strand, but that place looked too snobby, so we moved on to Travemuende.

Here this hotel isn't hard to spot, because it is very tall (35 floors) and directly at the mouth of the river flowing into the sea. From an architecture point of view, the building is ugly, but it turned out work perfectly for us.

We arriving at about 6 pm and asked for a room for 3 (parents + child). They had about 6 rooms left and offered us a double room with extra bed for a good price. On top they asked us for our favorite drinks and had them delivered to our room which was a very nice gesture. So we went with the offer.

We got a room in the 10th floor overlooking the river mouth and the sea. This was perfect, because this is the ideal spot to watch the big ferries (TT line and Finline) to go by. It is an impressive sight and the low frequency noise of their huge motors is very impressive and in no way disturbing.

Interior wise, the room was fine as well. The bed were good. Internet also ok, but they only offered wired access (30 minutes for free).

We also ate at the ground floor restaurant. The food was very good and arriving on a Saturday, there was also an enormous buffet to choose from. At the same time they also offered a la cart. The specific dietary needs my wife needs were also attended to with all the flexibility that was needed.

Breakfast on the next morning was also at the same place and saying that it was plentiful is gross understatement. They had tons of things including a lot of fish, sausages, cheese, cerials, breads, fruits, hot stuff, tons of juices, sparking wine and so on. Being someone who tends to go for breakfast late, I often see the cleaned plates. But not here, they still had more than enough of everything and given it was a Sunday, you could stay there till noon.

What is also great is that the beach starts directly in front of the house. There is also a big playground nearby which allows the kids to get their needed outlet after hours of driving.

So all in all we had great value for our money. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is that I reserve those for really truly awesome places that blew me away.

Room Tip: From a view point of view, I highly recommend the river side of the hotel. Take a room there. Around the 10th floor is I think a good height, given it provides you with a great perspective on the ferries. Much higher up might be less impressive in that way.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ReviewInProgress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a bit old, classic, with old-fashioned furniture, a not really modern bathroom, big windows, a long nice balcon with the seaside-view. A friendly staff on the reception, good service. Best breakfast I've ever had - big choice.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses und auch dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihre konstruktive Bewertung abzugeben. Hilft sie uns doch, Schwachstellen in unserem Hause zu erkennen und abzustellen.

Wir bedauern es aufrichtig, dass Ihr Eindruck von unserem Haus getrübt wurde und bitten um Entschuldigung. Nach vielfältigen Erneuerungen in den öffentlichen Bereichen wie dem Ostseerestaurant, der Bierstube, der Hotelbar und dem Neubau des maritim spa & beauty care Bereiches, ist eine umfangreiche Renovierung der Hotelzimmer als nächste Maßnahme in der zukünftigen Investitionsplanung. Deshalb sind wir sicher, Ihnen bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt in unserem Hause den erwarteten, guten Standard bieten zu können.

Sie recht bald wieder als bevorzugten Gast in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen, würde uns sehr freuen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A very nice hotel, the view is probably amazing but it was very foggy under my stay.
The food was great, especially the breakfast. There was a lot of different things to choose from.
I only stayed for one night, so I didn´t get to see much of the surroundings, but it was close to a shopping street and the beach (my visit was in December, so I did not go to the beach).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DortheBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews