We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, worn rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Actually, this hotel is not in Lübeck - but Travemünde (about half an hour driving from Lübeck).

We had a big family room on the corner at 8th floor. We had one comfortable double bed and two extra fold out beds which were not very comfortable.

The atmosphere of the town, beach and ferries passing by on their way to and from Sweden, Latvia and Finland appealed a lot to me. I really managed to relax and enjoy my stay there. Accidentally we happened to be their through the opening weekend of "Travemünder Woche", and there were a lot of people and activity there; activites for children, outdoor disco, temporary market with merchants selling a lot of different things (not crap).

Even though there were an outside disco there, the hotel room was acceptable sound proof (but of course we had to sleep with windows closed).

The hotel room it self was too expensive compared to what we got. With breakfast we paid more than 250 Euro per night, which the room was not worth.

As I already mentioned, the atmosphere and the view was fantastic - but the room was very worn. I got a feeling of being inside the movie "A Clockwork Orange", with a deep dive into luxury of the 70s.

There is a big garage in the basement, going over 2 floors. The garage has it´s own elevator - which has too low capacity, so you have to expect some waiting for that elevator.

We ate dinner one night at the hotel´s restaurant. That was good.
Also, the breakfast is good - but with a high price tag.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing southeast, that will give you view both over the beach, the sea - and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evlenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses möchten wir uns bedanken und auch dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, die konstruktive Bewertung mit dem freundlichen Hinweisen abzugeben.
Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel und Kongresszentrum Lübeck-Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Worn carpets, muffled air in corridors, warm (not hot) food...... A long list of negatives for the price.
The hotel is old and in need of renovation. The staff however were friendly and helpful.
The view fron the balcony was wonderful, and the few meters to the beach another plus point.

Stayed: September 2014
1  Thank Bfpo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses möchten wir uns bedanken und auch dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, die Bewertung abzugeben.
Wir bedauern es sehr, dass Ihr Eindruck von unserem Haus getrübt wurde und möchten Ihnen dazu gern mitteilen, dass in den letzten Jahren umfangreiche Renovierungsmaßnahmen durchgeführt wurden und auch weitere Erneuerungen geplant sind, so dass Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt mit einer Änderung rechnen können.
Sie recht bald wieder als in Gast in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen, würde uns sehr freuen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

I stayed for 2 days and one night with a small conference. I had never been to this part of Germany before - it is not easily accessible from the UK. but being with German colleagues made it easy.
Great hotel - very friendly staff and amazing location with views across the bay.
Nice promenade walking too - we were very lucky with the weather.

Room Tip: One with a balcony - not sure if they all have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HJCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses möchten wir uns bedanken und freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben.

Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Maritim Strandhotel und Kongresszentrum Lübeck-Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014

We stayed in this hotel spontaneously after deciding to drive longer than planned on our way back from Scandinavia. We first went to Timmendorfer Strand, but that place looked too snobby, so we moved on to Travemuende.

Here this hotel isn't hard to spot, because it is very tall (35 floors) and directly at the mouth of the river flowing into the sea. From an architecture point of view, the building is ugly, but it turned out work perfectly for us.

We arriving at about 6 pm and asked for a room for 3 (parents + child). They had about 6 rooms left and offered us a double room with extra bed for a good price. On top they asked us for our favorite drinks and had them delivered to our room which was a very nice gesture. So we went with the offer.

We got a room in the 10th floor overlooking the river mouth and the sea. This was perfect, because this is the ideal spot to watch the big ferries (TT line and Finline) to go by. It is an impressive sight and the low frequency noise of their huge motors is very impressive and in no way disturbing.

Interior wise, the room was fine as well. The bed were good. Internet also ok, but they only offered wired access (30 minutes for free).

We also ate at the ground floor restaurant. The food was very good and arriving on a Saturday, there was also an enormous buffet to choose from. At the same time they also offered a la cart. The specific dietary needs my wife needs were also attended to with all the flexibility that was needed.

Breakfast on the next morning was also at the same place and saying that it was plentiful is gross understatement. They had tons of things including a lot of fish, sausages, cheese, cerials, breads, fruits, hot stuff, tons of juices, sparking wine and so on. Being someone who tends to go for breakfast late, I often see the cleaned plates. But not here, they still had more than enough of everything and given it was a Sunday, you could stay there till noon.

What is also great is that the beach starts directly in front of the house. There is also a big playground nearby which allows the kids to get their needed outlet after hours of driving.

So all in all we had great value for our money. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is that I reserve those for really truly awesome places that blew me away.

Room Tip: From a view point of view, I highly recommend the river side of the hotel. Take a room there. Around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ReviewInProgress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a bit old, classic, with old-fashioned furniture, a not really modern bathroom, big windows, a long nice balcon with the seaside-view. A friendly staff on the reception, good service. Best breakfast I've ever had - big choice.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses und auch dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihre konstruktive Bewertung abzugeben. Hilft sie uns doch, Schwachstellen in unserem Hause zu erkennen und abzustellen.

Wir bedauern es aufrichtig, dass Ihr Eindruck von unserem Haus getrübt wurde und bitten um Entschuldigung. Nach vielfältigen Erneuerungen in den öffentlichen Bereichen wie dem Ostseerestaurant, der Bierstube, der Hotelbar und dem Neubau des maritim spa & beauty care Bereiches, ist eine umfangreiche Renovierung der Hotelzimmer als nächste Maßnahme in der zukünftigen Investitionsplanung. Deshalb sind wir sicher, Ihnen bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt in unserem Hause den erwarteten, guten Standard bieten zu können.

Sie recht bald wieder als bevorzugten Gast in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen, würde uns sehr freuen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
0.3 km away
Atlantic Grand Hotel Travemuende
0.4 km away
Hotel Strandschloesschen
Hotel Strandschloesschen
#27 of 56 in Lubeck
48 reviews
16.2 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Luebeck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Radisson Blu Senator Hotel
15.6 km away
Holiday Inn Luebeck
Holiday Inn Luebeck
#4 of 56 in Lubeck
393 reviews
0.6 km away
Landhaus Bode
Landhaus Bode
#33 of 56 in Lubeck
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde

Address: Trelleborgallee 2, 23570 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lubeck
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lubeck
#6 Business Hotel in Lubeck
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lubeck
Price Range: €117 - €217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its prime oceanfront location right at the mouth of the Trave, this fabulous hotel affords guests unparalleled views over the Bay of Lübeck and Mecklenburg. The wide, sandy beach starts at the hotel and entices sunbathing, swimming and leisurely strolls. At 117 metres tall, the maritime illumination atop the hotel makes it one of Europe's highest lighthouses. Enjoy the breathtaking views over the ocean and watch the graceful cruise ships as they leave the Trave to enter the Baltic and vice versa. Speaking of graceful, the historical four-masted steel barque "Passat" is moored across from the hotel. The Baltic is a four season affair - as invigorating in winter as it is relaxing in summer. Business traveller or holidaymaker, its wondrous natural beauty and numerous cultural highlights ensure every stay is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Strandhotel lübeck
Maritim Strandhotel Hotel lübeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing