We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$112
PricelineUS$112
Hotels.comUS$112
TravelocityUS$112
FindHotelUS$112
TripadvisorUS$112
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
153
103
21
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
153
103
21
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2019 via mobile

After the previous good experiences in other hotels of this German chain, we decided to stay once more in a MotelOne.

The hotel has an unbeatable location as everything is within walking distance: to give you an idea, the breathtaking Nikolaikirche is just in front of the reception, if you turn the corner you are on the pedestrian and busy Grimmaische Straße and in 5 minutes you can reach the Hauptbahnhof too.

Room is larger than the ones of other Motel One hotels but still basic (little or no furniture at all; maybe just a safe and a mini-fridge would be appreciated).
The bathroom is small too, but the shower works very good.

Reception is cozy but there is a nice larger lounge at the 1st floor.

WiFi works properly all around the property.
Can't say anything about the breakfast as we were on a only-bed treatment.

If you are fully aware of what you are reserving when staying at a Motel One (an affordable design hotel, with essential services), you can only give a 5 stars rating. They never disappoint you.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank fabiodiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotelOneLeipzig, Front Office Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2019

Dear Fabio,

Thank you very much for your great Review of our hotel. Our whole Team is very pleased.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Motel Leipzig-Augustusplatz and would be happy to welcome you again soon.

With best regards
Anke Reinhardt - Front Office & Reservation Manager
und das Team des Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

This was our first stay at a Motel One; it was conveniently located to attractions and restaurants and shopping. The room was not huge,but it was comfortable and clean and bright. The staff was exceptionally helpful. The breakfast was very good. We will definitely stay at other Motel Ones.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Virginiatravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotelOneLeipzig, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Jörg Freimuth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2019 via mobile

It was just a short stay. They ha super unfriendly staff. One of them was even partly aggressive. Even the great location of the motel isn’t worth a treatment like this. We will definitely stay somewhere else the next time.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Ava_Eliza90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotelOneLeipzig, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Dear "Ava_Eliza90",

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
Jörg Freimuth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2019

This was but one of 4 Motel One experiences on this trip, and our fifth in total. beautifully located next to Nikolaikirche, and just a block from another Motel One. Don't let the funky name fool you, these folks have a great product/ concept! Clean, pretty, friendly, economical and convenient, the Motel One hallmark, we had a great stay. Staff was helpful and friendly as usual. We were able to leave our luggage here before and after checkout. Motel One is good about getting your room ready as quickly as they can even if you arrive early. This location has a stunning view of the church from their breakfast room, but the bar/lounge is on the smaller side for the MOs we have stayed at. (If church bells bug you, you are in the wrong part of town) On the plus side, the MO just on the other side of the church/street (MO Nikolaikirche) has a killer lounge, that you can visit as well, which we did on several occasions when we just wanted a nice cozy place to check emails and have a drink. WiFi at all MOs gets high marks from us for being extremely reliable. Tip: Order the chocolate raspberry bar on the menu for a sweet treat, it is delicious.

On all Motel One visits on this trip, we opted for breakfast with our room. Although we hear many reviewers complain about the price, we are honestly mystified by this, as we don't know where else one would have found a cheaper breakfast of the same selection and quality for a cheaper price. Although there are not "hot" foods other than soft boiled eggs, there is an abundance of selection. Typically European, with lots of bread, fruit, meats, cheeses, pastries, cereal, juices and coffees. You will not go away hungry. We found this to be a nice, gentle start to a busy day of sightseeing.

I love the fact that all MO's have a 24 hour lounge where you can get coffee or a drink. When insomnia or jet lag monkeys with my schedule, I like to be able to go downstairs for tea or coffee. They also offer a very limited assortment of sandwiches and snacks, and while not extensive, you will not starve.

This brand works for us, but it may not work for all. The style and design is fresh and clean. Service is friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms are small, as per the typical Euro model. But understand, there is no phone, coffee maker, safe or even a closet in most MO room locations, although they are lovely and and modern in a simplistic way. There is generally no bell service, you will take your own bags to your room. Again, this works for us, but won't work for all. If I could ask for one thing to be improved upon, it would be for MO to add room safes to all locations, as I believe they might be endeavoring.

Thanks again to the kind and helpful team at MO Augustusplatz.

Room tip: Specify if you want a church view room.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacyandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotelOneLeipzig, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Jörg Freimuth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2019 via mobile

There is really nothing to fault here - clean, bright, quiet room; fun bar on the top floor with views across the city; unobtrusively good service; very reasonably priced. If I am back in Leipzig, I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank poptastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotelOneLeipzig, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Jörg Freimuth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews