We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
94
106
29
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
106
29
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomhotel is locatedwalking distance from the city centershower roomold townsmall bathroomhotel is excellentenjoyed my stayper daymain stationbreakfast was excellentthe air conditioningperfect locationfree wifiihgzwingerreception
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

The hotel is located five minutes walk from Am Zwinger and another 5 min walk brings you the old city center. One could enjoy all the benefits of the city center without actually staying in it.

We had a three night stay in the executive room and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is totally done in an unusual black & white color scheme with sparks of citrus colors here and there to brighten up the spaces. Room was well anointed with light-blocking curtains, premium linen, Nespresso coffee maker, Dove soap dispenser and the likes. I particularly liked the mirror wall behind the bed-head which made the room look bigger & roomier.

My special appreciation comes in for two things. The days we were there had really got hot and the hotel kept carafes of infused drinking water at the reception - a very thoughtful gesture on a hot sunny day. I also appreciated the hotel for providing sockets for USB & all type of plugs in the room - something I don't find in many hotels in Germany.

Unabashedly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sanjay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja W, Quality & Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Dresden - Am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Sanjay G, we would like to thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to tell us your good impressions.
It is a great pleasure for us to read your detailed feedback.
Nice that you felt very comfortable and were very satisfied with our service and the staff. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back for further bookings.

Kind Regards from Holiday Inn Dresden - Am Zwinger, Anja Wehnert - Quality & Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Hotel is very well located and you can easily walk to the old city. Bed is comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed a 2-night stay on a weekend. Tip: breakfast buffet is good but costs 16€. As alternative (and also cheaper), try the Caffe Mokka (5min Walk) too.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja W, Quality & Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Dresden - Am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Alexandros K, thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely from Holiday Inn Dresden - Am Zwinger, Anja Wehnert - Quality & Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Very good located, on walking distance from the city center. Nice old building from the 50’s completely renovated into a modern and cosy hotel.

Unlike many HI-hotels no masses or loud tourists but more a ambient atmosphere.

Breakfast buffet is ok, though I missed fried eggs. Staff is friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Blauridder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja W, Quality & Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Dresden - Am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Blauridder, thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Best Reards from Holiday Inn Dresden - Am Zwinger, Anja Wehnert - Quality & Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Business trip to a convention. Arrived early and they were able to check us in straight away (I had sent an e-mail to advise early arrival). Miss Julia Franz at the front desk was exceptionally helpful and informative. Room booked was an Executive and was spacious, well appointed, neat and spotless. Never heard the tram which was only about 35 meters from my 4th floor room. Meals served in the restaurant were quite good and the service was spot on. Special recognition to Franziska Schesff (mind the spelling) who always had a brilliant smile and a kind word. Very helpful. Just in general, the staff is terrific and always willing to assist in any way the can.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Redleg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja W, Quality & Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Dresden - Am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Redleg06, thank you so much for your candid review. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely from Holiday Inn Dresden - Am Zwinger, Anja Wehnert - Quality & Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We were booked to spend 5 nights in this hotel, when we entered our room which was overlooking the street it was obvious that the tram noise would be a problem during the night as they run till 0400, we asked if we could move to the back of the hotel so they showed us another room but this was quite bit smaller. We asked re a suite or bigger room and they found us an executive room which was lovely with an amazing bathroom with bath and wet room. The only complaint re the room was that the wardrobe is very small, half taken up with an ironing board so it was very difficult to get our clothes in. There were quite a few shelves but unfortunately they were so high that no one could reach them without a ladder. This all said the hotel staff were amazing in sorting the room out, breakfast were very good with choice of hot and cold food. It is situated very close the the centre so can be walked in approx 10 mins but if you want to go further the tram system is very good and very easy to use. You can eat in the hotel restaurant and there are many restaurants in the centre plus a typical German bierhaus just around the corner. Not sure about the charge to park the car as this is only in a side street and there is nothing stopping anyone parking there without paying and it is not very secure.

Room Tip: Room at back away from street
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank uktravellerHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, Guest Relation at Holiday Inn Dresden - Am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.



Sincerely,



Erik Nitsche

Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews