We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,745)
Filter reviews
2,745 results
Traveller rating
1,454
1,062
197
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,454
1,062
197
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squaregreat locationriviera tourexcellent breakfastan excellent hotelold towntea and coffee making facilitiesquiet roomup to datewithin walking distancecafes and restaurantsmajor sitesrecommend this hotelstayed here for nightsgood sizeshort walkcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,745 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

.Together with a group of friends I visited the Semper Opera in Dresden and stayed at the Steigenberger Hotel which is in walking distance to the Semper and all other
historic sites in the City such as The Royal Palace and various Museums. The rooms are welcoming and a good size, There is a generous breakfast buffet and in the evening we had a verydelicious dinner..
The Staff are most helpful in a quiet courteous way

Stayed: April 2018
Thank wimpey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldeSaxe, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear wimpey48,
thank you very much for being our guest and for reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again next time you will be travelling to Dresden.
Best regards
Heidrun Waschhausen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is superbly situated close to all the major sites in Dresden, and fronts the Neumarkt square.
Rooms were comfortable, although there were a few practical things missed - no power points in the bathroom, no shower caps, no face washers and even though it was a room for two, we were only provided with one of everything (one wine glass, one brandy glass, one black tea bag etc). We personally found the pillows very uncomfortable, although this is quite a personal thing so others might prefer extremely soft pillows!
Despite fronting the square, the room was quiet. There were lots of options nearby for food etc, and the tourist info centre and a handy mini-market are just across the road.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank QBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Excellent position and very comfortable. The friendly and helpful staff help to make this fairly standard 4 star hotel a relaxing place to visit. The buffet breakfasts were fresh and attractively presented.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldeSaxe, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Mrs. W.,
it is great to learn that you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us soon again.
Best regards
Heidrun Waschhausen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We enjoyed every minute at this unpretentious, excellent hotel in the best location opposite the Frauenkirche, an easy walk to the Semperoper and the magnificent museums and galleries. If we came o Dresden again, we'd want to stay at the Steigenberger, because it is also good value. Our room was large, quiet and comfortable. Breakfasts were sensational, both in choice and quality.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Hospitality
Thank Renske M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldeSaxe, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Mrs. Renske,
it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you at our hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time for a comment at TripAdvisor.
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden.
Best regards
Heidrun Waschhausen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

This is a well run hotel which prides itself on its service. Everything is pristine and works effectively. The breakfasts are some of he best I have experienced. He range of salmon, hot cooked items, cheeses, hams fruits, cakes, breads, honeycomb etc was all hard to refuse. A great selection of teas supported. We only ate in the restaurant for one evening but again excellent. The rooms were spacious with lots of storage. It was good to have charging socket in the safe. The bathrooms had hot showers. Toiletries although shampoo and body lotion there was no conditioner. The shampoo was rarely restocked. Nice bar areas and reasonably priced drinks. The hotel is 5 mins from opera house and central to all museums. Taxis can drive to the front so great for a town trip.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank LCNM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldeSaxe, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Mrs. Mulhall,
thank you very much for this great review and for your visit in our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you spent a great time with us and enjoyed your stay in Dresden. Thank you for your hint regarding the restocking of the shampoo - we already informed our housekeeper about this. Conditioner is rarely used by our guests, that is why we do provide it only upon request.
We would be happy to get another opportunity to welcome you again during your next visit to Dresden.
Best regards
Heidrun Waschhausen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews