We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bulow Palais(Dresden)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aparthotel Neumarkt(Dresden)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$111
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Dresden Neustadt(Dresden)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
IntercityHotel Dresden(Dresden)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
128
69
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
69
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscavalier housegreat propertythe riverwedding weekendfairy talebreakfast was amazingtram systemfitness centercommon areasking bedair conditioningbreakfast buffetold towncastleelbewifihaus
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Me and the spouse decided to select this hotel. We thought there was an error in the price. There wasn’t. Incredibly well priced for what we got.

The location is a bit far from town (20 mins by tram), but my God the views of the Elbe valley and Dresden literally leave you satiated. We stayed in the Cavalierhaus, which isn’t the centerpiece, but the grounds, the forest trails and the location is just unbelievable.

The breakfast was amazing. We didn’t get to try the restaurant, although after such a breakfast it seems like a big mistake. We should have tried.

Rooms were large, clean and slightly luxurious as well. There was no air conditioning, I would have assumed that air conditioning is like a bed, it I supposed to be everywhere, apparently not.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Aalahazrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The meals at the castle are great. We stayed here 2 nights and they meet the standards for an American. Many hotel in Germany are older and very, very small. This place is top notch. Would always stay here when in Dresden.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wyotravelerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSchlossEckberg, Geschäftsführer at Schloss Eckberg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of the Hotel Schloss Eckberg. We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and are already looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel.

With best regards
Hotel Schloss Eckberg

Your hosts
Thomas and Odett Gaier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelSchlossEckberg, Geschäftsführer at Schloss Eckberg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

The castle is very nice, the park surrounding is beautiful, the renovation is modern, linear and not luxurious, but the effect is great.
We slept in the dependence, the kavalier haus , surrounded by the trees of the park , recently refurbished in a modern and simple way, clean and efficient. You won't feel the atmosphere of the castle there, but you will enjoy it at breakfast or dinner, served in the castle's large and spacious dining room.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michele_The_Cix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSchlossEckberg, Geschäftsführer at Schloss Eckberg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review of the Hotel Schloss Eckberg. We are delighted to hear, that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and particularly liked your restaurant and the castle park.

It would be our great pleasure welcoming you back once again as our guest.

With best regards
Hotel Schloss Eckberg

Your hosts
Thomas and Odett Gaier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

First of all: be sure your room is located in the castle, not in the other building, otherwise you don't have the entire experience of sleeping in a castle.
Yes, it costs twice the price, but if you want to travel on a budget you can pick other hotel. Also have breakfast at the castle, not cheap but unique.
The service is not good, at least we did not have a ride with the golf cars eventhough we had two big luggages and was raining at check in time. So we dragged our luggages for almost 1 kilometer, one of the wheels of my luggage broke so I had to lift around 30 kilos for half kilometer.
The staff at the castle only showed up to help carry the bags stairs up - to get the tips, probably - which we declined because we had all the trouble to ourselves so far and some steps would be a peace of cake.
The room 401 is great and has a view of the Elba River, but does not have wifi.
We complained about the lack of wifi and reception lady said we should surf the web from the common areas because in the room there will not be wifi signal.
Last but not least, they have a beautiful Mercedes with stickers of the hotel and the expression "shuttle car" but there is no driver for that service, but they called the cab for us.
Despite the issues narrated above we really enjoy and recommend the Eckberg Castle Hotel, but they must improve service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank g-cardozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSchlossEckberg, Geschäftsführer at Schloss Eckberg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Mr Cardozo,

Thank you very much for your review of the Hotel Schloss Eckberg. The feedback of our guests is always very important to us, because we are constantly striving to improve ourselves.

We are sorry to hear that you had to had to lift your luggage all the way up to our castle, because the wheels broke. Our staff at the restaurant is always happy to help with the luggage and if possible we try to shuttle our guests, who travel without a car, to the castle. However we cannot permanently offer this service depending on the amount of hotel staff we have to our disposal. We ask for your understanding regarding this matter. Rest assured our staff constantly has the best interest of our guests at heart and does not offer their services just to get tips.

Regarding the wifi we are already working on a better solution, however due to monumental protection reasons it will still require some work and time to improve the signal all over the hotel rooms.

The shuttle service can be used by all our guests. Herefore it is necessary to request the service well beforehand, because the driver is not availabe 24/7. Of course our staff at reception is always happy to assist and call a taxi for you if the shuttle is not available.

Dear Mr Cardozo, we are happy that, despite the stated issues, you still enjoyed your stay with us and it would be our pleasure welcoming you once again as our guest and show you a better side of us.

With best regards
Hotel Schloss Eckberg

Your hosts
Thomas and Odett Gaier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews