We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Dresden Hotel
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fabulous location”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Dresden for 2 nights in early September, 2011. We were surprised to find that it was right in the heart of the old walled city but parking was not a problem. The check in was seamless, the room was huge by european standards. The service was warm, friendly and perfect. Everything we wanted to see in Dresden was within walking distance including many great restaurants. If you want to visit a beautiful old european city Dresden is a great choice and the Hilton is the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papasquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear User papasquid,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Dresden and for the nice words in your review. We are glad that your stay in September 2011 was memorable and that you enjoyed our services.

We hope you will visit Dresden again soon and we will have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    696
    191
    68
    27
See reviews for
350
788
136
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We are just back from a weekend stay at the Hilton and had a great time. We are two friends who shared a twin room. The room was on the small side considering it was an executive room. I was expecting a larger room with two double beds as this is my experience of other exec' twin rooms in the Hilton, Marriott, intercontinental etc. nevertheless it was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast good and service excellent. The food in the Hotel lobby bar good not so good but cocktails were lovely and the bar staff were very friendly.

Check in was quick. And concierge were very helpful.

Overall a great stay in a perfect location on old town square. For the location value for money was good, especially as we got an advance purchase rate with 33% off.

I will return to the Hilton next time I stay in Dresden.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiseprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear User Louiseprague,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Dresden and for the nice words in your review. We are glad that your weekend stay was memorable and that you enjoyed our services. It is a delight to receive such positive feedback about our Service Staff and we have shared your comments with all our Team Members.

Furthermore we thank you very much for your information regarding the quality of our snacks offered at our Balance Bar. We will review our menu to make the necessary improvements and to fulfill our guests high demands.

We hope you will visit Dresden again soon and we will have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Toda we have booked our third stay att the Hilton Dresden staying for 9 nights from June 17th 2012. We have booked this because we are confident that we will be treaed well and the hotel has everything to make our stay happy - we have treated ourselves to a junior suite this time and the Executive lounge is perfect for my husband to rest and read in while I go shopping! (he is 76 yrs old). We are always treated with respect and good manners which is why we choose to return.
We stayed in June last year and the weather was lovely.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive floor option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victorsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear User victorsj,

Thank you for being our loyal guest and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that your experience with us was fulfilling and you enjoyed the hotel during your last stay in June 2011. We are more than happy to read that you already booked your next stay with us.

We can assure you that we will do our utmost to make your holiday memorable and offer you the best services.

We very much looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Hilton Dresden.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Location is top notch, just off the Frauenkirche and in the heart of the old city. Reservation and check-in was painless as expected, but we found the concierge slightly cold when requested for help. While I did not like the horde of tourists and the impersonal feel throughout (this huge operation is not a place for boutique hotel lovers), all amenities were beyond reproach. Room was old-style but well maintained and comfortable.

We especially liked the Executive Lounge which served an excellent quality (if simple) breakfast and drinks in a space that never felt crowded or rushed. The fitness centre surprised us with its open air jacuzzi, a real luxury in the cold! The pool (and surrounding area) however was unreasonably cold despite being "heated" and after dipping toes we rushed back to the warmth of the jacuzzi.

We would consider returning to this property, but given the stiff competition in the vicinity, it is surprising that it did not attempt to stand out in any aspect, particularly in warmth of service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePrivateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear User ThePrivateer,

Thank you very much for this nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Dresden and hope you had a memorable holiday. It is our pleasure to ensure our guests feel cared for and we try to support all visitors discover a new city.

Therefore we very much regret the impression left by the incommunicative behaviour of our Concierge Team. We will discuss your observations with our Team as the metioned service does definitely not belong to the standard we strive to reach and which you may expect from Hilton.

We would like to thank you for your comments as they help us to continuously improve our services and are therefore highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsewhere
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This review is long overdue and it is about time that I acknowledged the wonderful service I encountered! I had the pleasure of staying at the Dresden Hilton almost two years ago, for ten days, in February 2009. I should preface this by saying that it was a long cherished dream of mine to visit historic Dresden and my stay exceeded my expectations. During my stay I was continually impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, which made my stay truly memorable.

That the Hilton possibly has the best location in Dresden is an additional bonus and cannot be over emphasized, as all of the major historic sites are easily reached on foot from the Hilton in this pedestrian friendly town. The restoration of the Baroque architecture in the old part of town in which the hotel is located is a pleasure to see, and is extremely well done.

Check in was friendly, professional and quick. Upon arrival, I was upgraded from my standard single room to a deluxe single room on the fifth floor, a wonderful and completely unexpected surprise, which I greatly appreciated. A complementary fruit plate was a lovely additional touch.

The room was very comfortable, quiet, impeccably clean, but perhaps a bit smaller than average but it certainly contained everything needed for a pleasant stay. It featured a very comfortable bed, desk with a nice chair, flat-screen TV and an inviting easy chair with footstool. A small fridge and coffee making equipment was also provided. Best of all was the lovely view of the Elbe, part of the Frauen Kirche, and the top of the marvelous Art Academy, from the window. As it was snowing, the ambience was truly magical.

The very nice modern bathroom was spacious and well supplied with Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. A further nice touch was the bathrobe and complementary slippers that were also provided, very convenient for those of us who have to consider airline weight restrictions and must leave these items at home. A daily German newspaper was also available as a curtesy for the guests by the elevator.

There was so much to see and do in Dresden that I did not have the opportunity to sample many of the hotel’s amenities such as the pool and the gym. One thing I rather liked was that next to the concierge desk one can find a notice board, informing guests of events in town to which they can obtain tickets for you, such as the opera, concerts, etc.

If you have the time, walk across the Augustus Bridge and visit the charming Museum of Saxon Folklore.

If you are traveling outside of town, a day trip to the Saxon Switzerland area, the mountains by the Czech border, is well worth your time, the landscape is truly astonishing. This can easily be combined with an excursion to the ancient Königstein Fortress, a trip not to be missed.

In closing I would like to say that I have stayed in a number of Hilton Hotels over the years and this one is a favourite. The superb service, not to mention the charming and helpful doorman, makes it a credit to the Hilton chain of hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Second_Self
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear User Second_Self,

we really appreciate your nice words and we would like to thank you on behalf of the Hilton Dresden Team for your review regarding your stay in February 2009.

Our main goal is to deliver excellent services to all our guests and we were very glad to read that you still remember after such a long time. Our staff is doing their best to help you enjoy every minute of your stay and we have shared your very positive impressions with all our staff.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel at your next visit in Dresden.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dresden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dresden Hotel

Property: Hilton Dresden Hotel
Address: An der Frauenkirche 5, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dresden
#7 Family Hotel in Dresden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#10 Business Hotel in Dresden
#10 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Dresden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the breathtaking views of the famous Frauenkirche in Dresden directly from the hotel. All major sights of this historic and vibrant cultural metropolis can be found in the near vicinity. With us you can enjoy your stay. Our numerous restaurants and cafés offer something for everyone. Stay here guarantees nothing to be desired. Spoil your loved one with a visit to our restaurant Rossini - one of the best Italians Dresden with spectacular views of the Frauenkirche - or try typical Saxon cuisine in our Bierhaus Dampfschiff. Try a perfect Steak at our Steakhouse "Alte Münze" or visit our Bistro Ecke Frauenkirche to watch a football match in a typical atmosphere and with other like-minded people. Visit our numerous terraces on sunny days. How about a delicious ice cream or homemade cakes? Then visit our Ice Cream Factory Dresden and enjoy next to all the delights the breathtaking view of the Elbe valley and Brühl's Terrace - the Balcony of Europe. Our elegant rooms and suites offer everything that could be wished for. Enjoy a drink from the mini-bar, watch the 42" LED TV, relax in comfortable fluffy slippers or get to work at the desk with wireless internet. An Executive room offers a personalised service and access to our unique Executive Lounge. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, soft and alcoholic drinks and snacks during service hours. Start active in the day and visit our LivingWell Health Club. On the over 1,100 m2 fitness area you can enjoy a workout properly. Look for relaxation after a busy day? Then use our swimming pool or the heated outdoor whirlpool overlooking the famous Church of our Lady. Planning an event? Wonderful! With us you are in the right hands. Whether large conference, a discreet meeting, a birthday party or family celebration, Christmas party or wedding - our professional Event Team takes care to your event with passion and sensitivity . With us every event is a success - we promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Dresden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dresden
Dresden Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing