We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
4
12
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
12
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We stayed in room 4, overlooking a busy street and one block to the Rhine River. The hotel's location is close to the Dom, market stalls, and yet about a 20 minute walk to either the main train station or Roman. The owner arranged to be there when we checked in and gladly helped carry our luggage up the 2 or so flights of stairs, as well as arrange a taxi for us to get back to the station.
The quantity of cooking and utensils was bare minimum but everything worked!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank docoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

The positive: 1) Great Location 2) Large and Basic room 3) Exceptionally Clean 4) Really friendly Owner 5) Comfortable beds
The negative 1) No lift - be ready to carry your luggage up. 2) Difficult to find if you are driving.

Would highly recommend this place,

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DSS-Bombay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We were requiring a self contained room for a 5 night stopover in Mainz and this hotel seemed to fit the criteria. before arrival we checked with them about arrival time, and got an email response to say that they would be there about 1:00 pm. the owner, Deli, was waiting for us, showed us the room arranged check in, and then we headed off into the city.
The hotel was newly renovated, so the kitchen area and bathroom were in great condition, and the bid was big and comfortable.
because we had been travelling for 4 week, we just wanted somewhere we could have our own breakfast, and cook our own dinners, if we liked, and so it was well equipped for that. The local markets around the DOM provided fresh produce for wonderful meal, washed sown by a fine Riesling as we watched the barges pass by outside our window.
All the major sites in the city were within walking distance, as were loads of cafes and restaurants. Travel down the Rhine on the local tour boat was just over the road, so everything was close and convenient, like the cultural highlights of the DOM and Gutenberg Museum.
The only thing we could fault was that were on a main road, Rheinstrasse, which seemed to a major arterial route to the bridge over the Rhine, so it was impossible to leave to windows open at night. As it may, it wasn't too hot, but in mid-summer, and no air-con, I'm not sure how the rooms would be?
Apart form that we can toughly recommend Hotel Havana as a good self catering hotel in Mainz.

Room tip: Ask fro room 4 to get view of the Rhine
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Obees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Well located boutique hotel close to the town square restaurants and many shops. The rooms are accessed by stairs, I stayed in a large room on the first floor that has a small kitchenette. Access the the hotel is by a rear alley with no real reception area, you are greeted by the owner or cleaner in our case.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JasonA885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed in Havana hotel overnight only but we found this hotel as very good to stay with 3 years old daughter because room had small kitchen.
Room was really clean and with large bathroom.
Location is very near to old town and to shopping center. So, I can really recommend this hotel for families.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Igor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews