We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
3
17
6
0
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
17
6
0
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Arrived on Friday at 21.00 the owner/receptionist was sitting at his desk smoking a strong cigarette, the corridor was filled with heavy smoke. He told me i should have arrived 4 hours earlier and was annoyed (since when do you have to arrive at a certain time?). We were shown to a room right next to the reception, the excessively loud music coming from the bar/club downstairs was so loud we told him we would not be able to sleep at all, his reply was 'it should stop about 1am'. We asked for a room on a different floor to try and avoid the noise but he had none available (or so he told us). The internet does not work at all so we couldn't find another place to stay otherwise we would have run like greased lightning. Eventually due to the distress it was causing my girlfriend the room was changed but only for 1 night (we booked 2) and we were put on a higher floor, this made the noise slightly less but not much. This room over looks another hotel just across the street and the windows have no net curtains so you have to keep them constantly closed or be over looked. TV remote had no batteries, only 1 tea bag and not even any milk. The towels were so grey from years of use they felt and looked dirty, stains could be seen through them, they were incredibly frayed and tatty (see photos) and we found out they are cleaned by the owner himself in a washing machine just behind the reception desk. Breakfast was basic, nothing cooked except pre prepared hard boiled eggs, only full fat milk for corn flakes (no other cereal available) and the lady washing up took regular cigarette breaks in an open doorway next to where you are sitting.The balcony in our 2nd room (had to move again) looked like Colditz with bars on the windows and doors plus the owner has dumped things like a broken printer out there, it was un clean and ugly. The bedroom door had a cheap key and lock on it like you would find on a garden shed and unbelievably it wouldn't lock, even after the owners 45 minute attempt to fix it at 11pm. The outside neon sign with the hotel name on is broken and even the local dogs have left their opinion of it with some steaming land mines right at the entrance (see photo), the dogs mess just about sums this awful place to stay. If you were a stoned hippy only paying 25 euros a night you would still feel robbed.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, you will be disappointed big time.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominicl272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

For a B&B (note: not a hotel) with 'no smoking' signs pinned on every door, the smoke filled staircase and hallway were unbearable.
The janitor/owner was the culprit; with a cigarette in hand each time we passed the tiny reception area. Goodness knows why anyone could enjoy their time in this nicotine entrenched residence.
Rooms were decent size and clean upon arrival, but clean towels and room cleaning were non existent during our 3 night stay. Breakfast mediocre and charged as extra. Location perfect for Aldstadt and nightlife, however this comes with noise (to be expected).

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank 95stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

No amount of air freshener can remove the reek of the owner's cigarettes that fill the stairwell as you puff up four floors to your room, which also has its own indefinable smell. The Hotel wi-fi seems to be an free ad-paid service that spams you with ads in Bulgarian, but mostly forgets to provide a connection. You have to go down the street to Max Bar to pick up your email. (You may have to go there when you first arrive as the Hotel reception is often unattended) The TV didn't work. Neither did their card machine. Breakfast was OK but if you didn't finish it the same slices would be waiting for you in the morning. If you don't mind the noise of revelers till 3 in the morning, the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago now but thought i would still leave a review.This small cosy hotel is not for those who love the 5* lifestyle.It is a small hotel that is best used as a somewhere to sleep whilst visiting a lovely city not somewhere to live for however many days. It needed a little updating back when we arrived but what i will say is the staff were lovely, the hotel was clean and the food that was prepared we couldn't fault. It is in a great area and is everything you could need whilst on a city break. We stayed in the attic room, we had to climb 3 lots of stairs and it was never a problem. The room had a balcony out to a terrace which over looked other hotels like you would expect in a city and a window overlooking the square which was filled with christmas stalls. it was a lovely little hotel nothing extraordinary but comfortable and everything you need for a city/weekend break.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hypher1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015

The location is perfect, walking distance to everything and the metro is less than a 5 min walk. It is located in the city center, next to the Rhine, pubs, restaurants, and shopping areas. We had a balcony and kitchenette, I was surprised by the room size, it was a pretty big studio. The bathroom was tiny. The furniture and rooms needs to be updated. The staff is extremely friendly and will help with anything. They always asked me about when I wanted my room cleaned and always came on time to clean the room. If you do not tell them to clean the room, they probably won't so make sure you tell them when you want it to be cleaned. The internet was very annoying, it worked great in the bathroom and the sitting area, but it wouldn't work where the bed was located and that's only 2 feet away from the sitting area. Don't expect to sleep Friday and Saturday nights, the hotel has a restaurant and they blast the music from 10:00pm-2:30am. However, Sundays and weekdays it is very quiet. The hotel has a lot of potential, I really wish they would renovate their rooms. The location is great but if your expecting the same service as a 4/5 star hotel then don't book here. However, if you want to be close to everything and don't mind loud music for 2 days then it's a good hotel to be in due to its location.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flaa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews