We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
81
151
69
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
151
69
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townrestaurants and shoppinginner courtyardchristmas marketbreakfast buffetyogurtvisited dusseldorfgood sizecold cutswalking distancesmall hotelshort staybed was comfortableeasy accesstrain stationaltstadt
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Stayed at Das Carls Hotel for 1 night to attend the Christmas markets. Location is great – 7 mins walk to the Rathaus Market. The room was clean, and bed was comfortable. The WIFI quality was excellent allowing for streaming and the breakfast was good. Reception were friendly and overall the short stay was very pleasant. In summary good hotel, great location, fair price and would recommend

Room Tip: If you want real quiet choose a room on the higher floors
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Location is good - easy walk to alstadt. The breakfast is very nice. There is a market opposite the hotel. Complimentary water bottle is good. The hotel staff were good and provided directions. The manager is never available to talk to. The bar area is nice and small - good to sit before going to the room. There is a train station to the right - few steps from the hotel. There are taxi's if you walk across the street to other side of the market. There is heater but never used it. I just slept for the night and stayed out most of the time.

The 6th floor room I stayed is a store room under stairs converted to hotel room. Paid couple of hundred dollars for it. The high price was a goof up by expedia and after spending 140 minutes in the lobby talking to expedia at 1 euro per min price. Not worth the money as I spent 400+ for one night including the price, international phone cost etc. This could have been resolved by the hotel very easily. Bathroom is very small - arms will hit the wall. The bathroom door is difficult to close so water may leak out of the shower. The room is good with a bed and TV. Only half the channels or basic channels will come. TV is a monitor on the table. If you put two suitcases on the floor in the room, then you won't be able to walk around.

It is good if you don't stay in the hotel if you use it for coming to sleep at night. I won't stay here at the price I paid. I don't think the hotel should rent this as a room but instead change it to storage. I will probably stay at other hotels and come in cab to old town.

Room Tip: Dont' choose room 605.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anand N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

A very enjoyable three night stay at the Carathotel. The staff were all pleasant but I would particularly mention the young female receptionist wearing spectacles (apologies for not getting your name) who was delightful, knowledgable and spoke better English than most native speakers. The hotel is well situated close to the Altstadt and an easy stroll from the Rheinufer. However it is on a busy street opposite a market and we were glad that we had spent a little extra for a room at the back overlooking the inner courtyard. The room itself was maybe a little small for a "superior" room but it was comfortable and clean. Overall a very good experience and well recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy street opposite a market and we were glad we'd spent the extra for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrSkodaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

good location . good breakfast. staff is helpful . I ordered single room for 2 nights. bed was not comfortable . the hotel need some renovation . the life is old fashioned. the decor of the hotel is out dated. overall average hotel suits a 3 star hotel more the 4 star.
Breakfast was excellent and the location of the hotel is so good .

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAHED S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

I just love the location, its in the middle of everything, walking distance to bars and to the river. Easy access to the underground metro station. Very friendly staff.

Rooms are a bit small but does the purpose. No english TV channels except the news.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Abdoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews