We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“center city”
Review of Das Carls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Das Carls Hotel
Ranked #43 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Check inn not before 14:00.
Parking next to hotel go to reception get card and discount 17 EU for 24 hr.
.Breakfast is amazing fresh juice .Stuff is nice rooms are OK
The hotel is located next to Market ,Pedestrian zone city old town and river .
All in walking distance .Perfect location .

Room Tip: Front rooms with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GY1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while in Düsseldorf. Location can't get anymore centralized than that! Right above the market, 10 minutes walk from the Rhian river and 3 minutes walk from Hafenstraße and the shopping area.

The room I had was for a single person hence the bed was smaller than a queen bed. I made this booking by oops so when I asked to changed I was told it was fully booked so I just took it and it wasn't that bed.

There's parking next to the hotel for 17€ a day but you need to let them know in advance otherwise it gets full so you have to sort out your own parking.

Cons: my shower head was broken so the water stream was too strong and I couldn't change it. Check in isn't possible to do not even a minute before 2pm (even if they have a spare room) unless you pay 30€ - that's not cool but we just set at reception and waited for 20 minutes.

Overall though it was a nice and quiet hotel - might stay there again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank May G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carathotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Das Carls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are glad to hear, that you liked our location in the heart of Düsseldorf.
Our rooms are guaranteed at 2pm, the early check in is an optional offer.
Hopefully we can welcome you again soon.
Sincerely,
Your team of carathotel Düsseldorf Carlsplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Couldn't get a location closer to Carlsplatz. It's across the road, with plenty of Cafes and Restaurants nearby. Walk to the 'Aldstad Restaurant' nearby. They make a killer Veal Schnitzel. We had a family of 4. 2 adults and 2 kids aged 12 & 15, so we got the 'Suite'. The main bed was fantastic. The kids however had to share a double foldout. This was very narrow and uncomfortable for them. It's more suited to 2 small kids who would have found it perfect. As this room was upstairs, it had vaulted ceiling, which were very low in places. There were a few head bumps. There is a breakfast buffet which was pleasant, or you go across the road. Good size bathroom and water pressure. We did peak into other rooms as we walked through, and some of those rooms are very small. Suited our purpose though. Would we stay there again? Yes, probably for the Christmas Market next time.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJFONHOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We stayed at this hotel for a conference my husband attended. I thought the location was great. It was a straight shot up from the train station about 20 minutes away, which was walkable for us with our luggage. Very close to the old town and restaurants, shopping, and river. Quiet are and very comfortable room. Breakfast was included and that was a fantastic selection following traditional European breakfasts with meats, cheeses, pastries, eggs/sausages/bacon, etc. They even had champagne for mimosas. Oh, happy day! Would certainly recommend to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The hotel is located right at the "Altstadt" across the pretty market of the Carlsplatz.

Although the location is perfect, I was disappointed about the hotel itself as I expected a better interior of a 4-star hotel. The room is very tiny and the bathroom needs a makeover.
The "double bed" consists of two single beds that are not even connected to each other, means, they move away from each other.
The tile joints around the bath tube / shower are quite filthy and need attention.

I expected more from a 4-star hotel.

It appears that most of the price results from the great location outside of the hotel and not from the accomodation itself.

As the breakfast was reasonable, I rate this place with 3 of 5.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Olaf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#6 of 239 in Dusseldorf
433 reviews
Carlstadt
Carathotel Dusseldorf City
Carathotel Dusseldorf City
#148 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlstadt
Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#5 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,012 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Carls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Carls Hotel

Address: Benrather Str. 7a, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Carathotel Duesseldorf)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#43 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: €78 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Carls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Das Carls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing