We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel almost linked to the main station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center
Ranked #26 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed 2 nights on a business trip and I needed to be close to the main station. I got a very good price online with breakfast included therefore value for money was great. Room was nice, clean and quiet even if on the first floor, just the hallway had a terrible smell of smoke. Breakfast was excellent and varied. No minibar service, I had to go to the bar or use room service. I tried also the hotel restaurant but food didn't really meet my taste. Anyway, overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeTrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

The hotel is VERY basic, but this is acceptable. The service of the hotel is one of the terrible ones I've experienced.
Heating doesn't work, no hot water all night long and again the staff is not really helping. Please take another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Chevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Certainly the worst 4-star hotel in Düsseldorf. This hotel is actually the worst that I've ever been too. If you wanna take a time machine back to the worst side of the 80s: this is the right hotel for you. If you expect a clean and modern 4-star hotel: stay away from the Holiday Inn Düsseldorf! There's a disgusting smell in the air everywhere in the building, the lobby and the restaurant are really run-down, the chairs are full of spots. The spa hasn't been renovated for decades, used towles were all over the place. The rooms offer very old furniture, old tube TVs and fungus in the airing. Breakfast is okay but definately below 4-star standard! This hotel is REALLY bad and disgusting but I rate it with two points (insted of just one) because it's really cheap and the staff was very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank thejetset99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Hotel is in walking distance from main railway station in Duesseldorf - ca. 5 min. Rooms are small and clean. Breakfast and restaurant OK. There is no kettle in room nor free wifi. Good place to one night stopover.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slawekg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Location : I booked through our official travel agent a chose this place primarily for its excellent location. The airport is about 15 minutes by taxi and hte hotel is just metres away from the Dusseldorf Central Railway Station (Hauptbahnhof). The station itself is a great shopping place. From there, the entire city (and most of Europe) is yours. Long distance bus services, departmental stores, Turkish eateries, Indian stores, African Stores, Doner kebab counters, etc. etc. are also all within walking distance. An IBIS hotel is right across the street which also looked similar in size, appearance and facilities.Services : The staff is excellent and very helpful. However, they only seem to have one person in charge late at night and they close the main entrance, which I found odd for a business hotel. You could end up waiting for someone to open the main doors if you are coming back from somewhere past midnight :)) Happened to me a few times. It is not a very big place so I doubt if they have too much by way of business facilities either. This means no convention centre. You can pay and subscribe to wireless (or wired) internet. I stayed for over a month so I took a monthly plan for about 130 euros. Per day charges are quite expensive, probably 15 euros.

Food/Drink : They have a small bar in the lobby and next to it is space for about 20-25 people to sit and have a drink or their meals. The drinks are ok. Prices are just a tad higher than bars in town but that is expected. They even serve Alt. I never tried the food though as it was primarily German stuff.

Rooms : There are many options available. Mind you, even similarly priced rooms may not be identical. I used a suite of 2 small rooms which also had a small kitchenette --- 2 electric stoves, a sink, a microwave, 2 small refrigerators, a shelf full of basic utensils, knives and cutting boards, etc. I also had 2 Tvs, one for each room but BBC and CNN were to only English channels available for free. The bathrooms are decent and mine had a bathtub. Linen was clean. Overall housekeeping did not give me anything to complain about apart from the fact that the circuit breakers triped off a few times at night. This was quickly attended to but since only one person is on duty for the whole hotel at night, it did take a bit more time than is expected.

Other facilities : There is a very small basic gym with an exercycle and some weights. Free for all guests I think. There is a jacuzzi and a steam room with 3-4 cabins. Both work well and are also probably free for all guests (subject to timings).

The prices, as expected are higher on weekdays compared to weekends. Holiday Inn properties in my country India are much more lavish places so I found this place very basic. I also found out that there are better places available for the same or lesser places (Mercure, etc.) but they were in slightly poorer locations. Overall, I was satisfied.

If you plan to stay for a very short time where mobility is the key for you or if you are planning for a very long stay where you might look to cook your own stuff...or you want to live in a slightly quieter neighbourhood than the Old Town or the main business districts and still stay close to the city centre...this place offers you a great (in not cost effective) option.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thelazyloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
NH Duesseldorf City
#29 of 239 in Dusseldorf
946 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unterbilk
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
#23 of 239 in Dusseldorf
337 reviews
Ibis Duesseldorf City
#66 of 239 in Dusseldorf
663 reviews
Ibis Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof
#31 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center

Address: Ludwig-Erhard-Allee 3, 40227 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: €54 - €303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Duesseldorf Hotel
Holiday Inn düsseldorf
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing