We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing cold room, unhelpful staff and a broken pool - what a letdown!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Ranked #66 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 4 March 2011

My room was only 14 degrees when I arrived and didn't heat up as the thermostat was broken. It was so cold that I kept waking in the night - I complained but they only looked into it two days later when I was leaving. The sauna was permanently full and the pool was broken. There was no apology or compensation for this and - of course - it was not mentioned when I booked on arrival. This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had - decidedly worse than a youth hostel, where at least I would have had a warm room and not caught a cold. The area is a bit seedy and the street is quite scruffy, but it is very close to the train station and city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HopefulCityHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed here for 1 night in September 2010 with colleagues on a business trip.

Location was good - about a 10-15 minute walk down to the river.

Hotel itself was nice enough - nice lobby, nice room, good breakfast etc. - but I wouldn't say the service was 4*.

Ok for a business trip for 1 or 2 nights, wouldn't recommend if you are staying for a city break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PookieBear2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The hotel was centrally located and only a few Euros for a taxi from the main station (not too far to walk without bags). Quite well located for the shops and the Altstadt with a little bit of a walk. Free wifi is also available in all rooms, which is good.
On arrival we were given a very warm friendly greeting at reception, but were then told they could not give us a no smoking room as per our internet booking. We took a look at the smoking room but found that although it was clean, the smell of old smoke was too much for us as non-smokers. We therefore asked to be given a non-smoking room as booked 6 weeks prior and were told that as they were full they could not do this and booking a non-smoking room is only a request and not a guarantee. If we really wanted to be guaranteed no smoking we should have also got in touch with them. Eventually they sorted out a no smoking room for us (reluctantly) and the difference was amazing. The room was much brighter and fresher even if it was a bit smaller.
We did miss having the tea and coffee making facilities in the room although tea/coffee making facilities can be requested at reception, mind you when we requested the receptionist was by herself and could not help and another time the guy on reception told us the room coffee was not good and we’d be better to get a coffee at the bar (complimentary) to take up to our room which we did without problem. We tried ordering the complimentary coffee that they say they are happy to deliver to your room, but 50 minutes later it had not turned up so we just went to breakfast. I would advise ordering tea/coffee making facilities for your room as you check in if it’s something you like to have.
Despite the above we found our room to be functionally comfortable, very clean and quiet. The breakfast was good for a continental breakfast with plenty of choice. The hotel is also fairly well located for walking to most of the central Duss sights.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazanchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Hotel is OK, good service and nice foyer etc you'd expect of a Best Western. Had a single room for one night - pretty small room with surprisingly small bed. However, room was quite cheap, so overall not a bad option for an overnight stay, but wouldn't be that great for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scientesquodcarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed here again in September 2010 ( we have used this hotel for over 20 years now )
All that has been said before about the hotel still applies. The new operators of the hotel have allowed standards to slip a little in the breakfast room. The two previous ladies , who oversaw a busy but good breakfast, have been replaced by trainees , who are a bit overwhelmed by the traffic , and as a result the room has dirty used tables, and it can be a struggle to find a clean table at a busy time.
Perhaps a bit more effort is needed in this department !

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Lindenhof Hotel
#67 of 241 in Dusseldorf
153 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Stadt Munchen
Hotel Stadt Munchen
#39 of 241 in Dusseldorf
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#40 of 241 in Dusseldorf
572 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 241 in Dusseldorf
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savoy Hotel

Address: Oststrasse 128, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: €65 - €2,949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western düsseldorf
Best Western Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing