We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Freezing cold room, unhelpful staff and a broken pool - what a letdown!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Savoy Hotel
Ranked #69 of 244 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Freezing cold room, unhelpful staff and a broken pool - what a letdown!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

My room was only 14 degrees when I arrived and didn't heat up as the thermostat was broken. It was so cold that I kept waking in the night - I complained but they only looked into it two days later when I was leaving. The sauna was permanently full and the pool was broken. There was no apology or compensation for this and - of course - it was not mentioned when I booked on arrival. This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had - decidedly worse than a youth hostel, where at least I would have had a warm room and not caught a cold. The area is a bit seedy and the street is quite scruffy, but it is very close to the train station and city centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HopefulCityHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    170
    114
    47
    24
See reviews for
38
131
55
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed here for 1 night in September 2010 with colleagues on a business trip.

Location was good - about a 10-15 minute walk down to the river.

Hotel itself was nice enough - nice lobby, nice room, good breakfast etc. - but I wouldn't say the service was 4*.

Ok for a business trip for 1 or 2 nights, wouldn't recommend if you are staying for a city break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PookieBear2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Loughborough
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

The hotel was centrally located and only a few Euros for a taxi from the main station (not too far to walk without bags). Quite well located for the shops and the Altstadt with a little bit of a walk. Free wifi is also available in all rooms, which is good.
On arrival we were given a very warm friendly greeting at reception, but were then told they could not give us a no smoking room as per our internet booking. We took a look at the smoking room but found that although it was clean, the smell of old smoke was too much for us as non-smokers. We therefore asked to be given a non-smoking room as booked 6 weeks prior and were told that as they were full they could not do this and booking a non-smoking room is only a request and not a guarantee. If we really wanted to be guaranteed no smoking we should have also got in touch with them. Eventually they sorted out a no smoking room for us (reluctantly) and the difference was amazing. The room was much brighter and fresher even if it was a bit smaller.
We did miss having the tea and coffee making facilities in the room although tea/coffee making facilities can be requested at reception, mind you when we requested the receptionist was by herself and could not help and another time the guy on reception told us the room coffee was not good and we’d be better to get a coffee at the bar (complimentary) to take up to our room which we did without problem. We tried ordering the complimentary coffee that they say they are happy to deliver to your room, but 50 minutes later it had not turned up so we just went to breakfast. I would advise ordering tea/coffee making facilities for your room as you check in if it’s something you like to have.
Despite the above we found our room to be functionally comfortable, very clean and quiet. The breakfast was good for a continental breakfast with plenty of choice. The hotel is also fairly well located for walking to most of the central Duss sights.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazanchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Hotel is OK, good service and nice foyer etc you'd expect of a Best Western. Had a single room for one night - pretty small room with surprisingly small bed. However, room was quite cheap, so overall not a bad option for an overnight stay, but wouldn't be that great for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_eyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed here again in September 2010 ( we have used this hotel for over 20 years now )
All that has been said before about the hotel still applies. The new operators of the hotel have allowed standards to slip a little in the breakfast room. The two previous ladies , who oversaw a busy but good breakfast, have been replaced by trainees , who are a bit overwhelmed by the traffic , and as a result the room has dirty used tables, and it can be a struggle to find a clean table at a busy time.
Perhaps a bit more effort is needed in this department !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Lindenhof Hotel
#62 of 244 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
#51 of 244 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#21 of 244 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 244 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Savoy Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Savoy Hotel
Address: Oststr. 128, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western düsseldorf
Best Western Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing