We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great spa, stroppy staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Ranked #31 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great spa, stroppy staff!”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We travelled to Cologne for a gaming convention, so slightly mixing business with pleasure. We travelled with our two teenagers, aged 13 and 16.

The rooms were okay, although they weren't ready on our arrival, and we were still waiting for our double room at 5pm on our arrival day (we didn't care - we were in the bar, but that's not the point!). The twin room the boys had stank of smoke, but was otherwise clean.

The spa is fabulous with an amazing black-bottomed swimming pool, a great jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms (look out, though - a lot of guests use the facilities naked). The gym is good but quite small.

The waiter in the main bar was very stroppy and a bit unhelpful, although a considerable amount of joking with him eventually got him laughing. The food in the bar is amazing - crispy snacks etc during the day and fabulous steaks in the evening.

Breakfast is really good (but then so it should be for £25 a pop).

The broadband is hopeless and very expensive. Our £18 fee was refunded on check out as we didn't get online once.

Would definitely stay here again, but suffer the roaming charges on my phone! Not cheap, but handy for the Koelnmesse conference centre and walkable distance across the bridge into Cologne (or €10 for a taxi).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    291
    112
    26
    15
See reviews for
55
223
45
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at the Dorint an der Messe as we had a friend's wedding to go to. We were quite lucky and got a great deal via Groupon. Overall the "comfort" rooms are well sized for two people with an equally well sized bathroom.

The hotel location is ideal if you are going to an event in the area and is only a short tram or S-bahn ride into the city centre (€2.50 each way).

The breakfast is great, with a wide range of hot and cold options, jams, breads - my wife was excited to find chocolate bread rolls as she hadn't seen them since she was a kid. The only downside is that on Sunday the staff had issues with trying to keep up with the amount of guests. We were hard pressed to find a table and had to wait quite a while for certain items from the buffet to be restocked. One thing that I as a expat in DE appreciate though is the option of loose tea leaves and tea pots. The only downside is that there were no milk jugs, only coffee cream (which is disgusting in tea), so instead I had to use a glass, causing a bit of mess when pouring. Ther was however ample slices of lemon for other tea drinkers. Overall though we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and were well fed.

Back to the rooms, the coffee machine was unfortunately not cleaned out by housekeeping, leaving us to throw away the moulding coffee pad and wash it ourselves. Another minus is the lack of milk in the rooms, only powdered milk.

After a long drive from Berlin we were pleasantly surprised to find that the spa area was open till 11pm. This gave us plenty of time to rest up at night making use of the pool, solarium, steam room and spa bath. The only negative was that there were no towels left for us to use, instead we improvised and used the towels from the solarium room.

To sum it all up though, staff were very friendly, hospitable, accommodatin and welcoming. A great 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nattheim, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

we (wife, kid and myself) stayed over the weekend to visit. very friendly people. everything was organized for our arrival and the kid's bed was already in the room. room and bathroom was clean, but a little small for a family. the only downturn was the sound of the A/C in the next room during the night, which was barely hearable.
we loved the breakfast. fresh food and lots of variety. friendly service.
Spa area was nice and clean. Fitness area also ok.
the hotel is close to public transport and you are within 10 Min. at the dom.
if we stay again in cologne, this would be a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rendsi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongkong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

the hotel is located next to the fair area
rooms are clean, bathrooms are ok

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbabe2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Never staying at this Hotel again. We paid a lot of money to stay at this hotel and what we got was a room infested with Bed bugs. We voke up with many bites and blood spots on the sheets. Yes we got another room but that was it. Disgusting!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nullermand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Stadtpalais
#34 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Ibis Koeln Messe
#48 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
Insel Hotel
Insel Hotel
#95 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#50 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint An der Messe Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Koln

Property: Dorint An der Messe Koln
Address: Deutz-Muelheimer Str. 22-24, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel An der Messe)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cologne
#11 Business Hotel in Cologne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint An der Messe Koln 4.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint An Der Messe Koln Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing