We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
First Domizil
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$133
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$81
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
US$78
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$148
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$182
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
14
16
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
16
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Wow. Location is fantastic... few mins walk to station and right next to cathedral with plenty places to grab a bit or drink. The apartment is very nicely setup indeed and host extremely friendly and accommodating. The bakery across the road is worth visiting for breakfast as well.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

I totally agree with everyone who has commented on the fantastic position of these apartments. They are located practically next door to the breathtaking Dorm Cathedral, with brilliant access to the train station and to lots of good shopping, restaurants and bakeries. The building provides an ideal base for anyone wanting to explore Cologne. When you first arrive, keep your eyes open because the building entrance is discreet to the point of near invisibility at night. If you can’t find it, look for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst instead. The Domizil Apartments are directly across the street next to a takeaway kebab shop. Access is gained via pin code which you collect from the guy who runs the kebab shop (who is also the go-to man for any issues you may encounter).

My travelling companion used Booking.com to reserve our fifth floor penthouse and the site described ‘all’ apartments as having ‘two bedrooms and laundry facilities’ (backed up by email confirmation). We are good friends, not partners, and we were travelling with my friend’s 7 month old baby so we really needed that precious second bedroom. Upon our arrival (around 8pm after almost 30 hours travelling) we were told that the tiny, temperamental elevator would only go as far as the fourth floor because it was ‘broken’. We were forced to take turns to ride in the Lift of Terror and then drag our (copious and heavy) luggage up two steep and narrow flights of stairs in order to reach the apartment. Upon entering we were confronted by one bedroom, one bed, and no washing machine. By this stage we were way too tired to argue, so we wedged the cot into the bedroom and I slept on the horribly uncomfortable sofa in the living room (which may or may not have been a sofa bed, but there was no information in the compendium and no spare linen anyway).

During our stay the underfloor heating was on the blink so the place was either boiling hot or freezing cold (indeed, it sometimes managed to be both at the same time) and the internet connection was as temperamental as the elevator. The kitchen and bathroom were tiny and outdated by Australia/NZ standards but my German friend said that’s very common in Germany and shouldn’t be seen as a negative. There was plenty of street noise at night (not to mention the regular chimes from the lovely bells of the Dorm) so bring earplugs if that is likely to bother you.

Overall, this review probably sounds rather negative but it’s not meant to be. I loved the atmosphere of the apartment and aside from being justifiably irritated about the AWOL bedroom (for which no apology or offer of recompense was forthcoming) we enjoyed our stay. For me, the apartment’s flaws fell firmly on the right side of charming rather than annoying. The location really is utterly superb and I would happily stay there again, BUT I would make sure I contacted management beforehand for reassurance about the number of bedrooms!

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor if you need two bedrooms.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

The location is fantastic, if you don't mind street noise (we didn't mind). Open all the windows in the living room and enjoy the sights and sounds. There is no difficulty checking in. When you find the apartment doors (there is no sign except on the door), go to the restaurant directly to the right of the door and the owner will gladly assist you. He was wonderful, by the way, purposely remembering my name through our stay. The apartment is large and comfortable. Negatives: The floors, and thus the rooms, get warm from below and you can't control the temp. Fortunately, we were there in December, but i'd imagine it gets quite warm in the summer. Also, the elevator is TINY and scary and the stairs are dark and dangerous.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JuliaC6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

The main highlight in Koln is its Dom or cathedral, so it made perfect sense to stay just within the area. First Domizil is just that...literally around the corner that I can see part of the cathedral from the side window.

This apartment is a short walk from the central station (which is beside the cathedral) so it was convenient for us to arrive and then depart from early morning the next day. It is just a bit difficult to find at first because its sign is on a door. But just stand on the island with the traffic lights, look towards the direction of the cathedral and it will be right about at your 3'oclock side, look out for the door sign. It is beside Eataly restaurant (the owner of the apartment)

But we were amazed to find a complete and large apartment. There are 2 large bedrooms which was comfortable for us 4 people. It has a large living area and its wide windows open out to the street and part of the Koln Dom. It has a complete kitchen that we decided to buy from the grocery at the station and make dinner instead since there was not much to do in Koln by evening anyway. The apartment is clean and well-maintained. Perhaps the only problem with 4 people staying in the room is that you have to wait for your turn in the bathroom as there's only one. But that's not much of an issue for us, anyway.

If you don't want to cook, McD is just across the street as well as other restaurants. If you walk to the area of the Dom, then it is filled with more restaurants and a pedestrian street for shopping.

The old town is also about 10 minute walk away from the Dom.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tambalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Penthouse apartment was fabulous! Heaps of room for the two of us, lovely outdoor terrace and seating area, super fast WIFI and two steps from the cathedral, tourist office, mini markets, restaurant's, river etc. This is a great base to explore Cologne. Car parking was in the underground car park right across the road under the cathedral, it wasn't the cheapest in town at 20 euro a night but was too handy to bother parking further away. Everyone complaining about the 'check in' or lack of need to pull their heads in, ITS NO BIG DEAL...we have all read the reviews and know what to do! Go to the Pizza Restaurant next to the front door! Within two minutes we were being shown into our apartment. It is a self catering apartment what do you expect people! The vertical blinds in the lounge were not the greatest in keeping out the light...but, we were on holiday and wanted to be up early!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RocheMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews