We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Die Wohngemeinschaft Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2016

My mum and i wanted a cheap break and the Cologne markets at Christmas seemed a good choice. Searched about but all hotels were double/triple the cost, so we thought why not! Having never stayed at a hostel we were a little concerned but it would only be for a few days. We need not worry!
Arrived very late (after 2300) and were greeted by the lady at the bar who showed us up to the accommodation floors (4 and 6). There is a separate entrance to the lift, using a key, so you don't need to enter through the bar each time. Reception are is on the 4th floor with a dining area and a tea/coffee machine for free, cold drinks available at a charge. Variety of books in different languages and board games too. Breakfast is an option for 5euros, I think, but do no know what was available.
Our room was a double on the 6th floor, all was clean, bedding provided which was all comfortable. The windows in the photo do not show a curtain, but there is now thankfully, although a little tricky to pull fully closed. Wifi is free and simple to access and quick to run. Room was warm so I didn't need to worry.
Mixed toilet was opposite, always clean. Separate shower rooms were next door, again clean, with a bath mat to stand on. The only fault was a lightbulb out, and the water was either cold or hot at the slightest change of the tap! Also a bathroom further along the hall, and separate toilets too. We were worried there might be a noise issue but other than slightly thin walls, it really wasn't an issue!
The accommodation is easy to find using their directions from their website, and simple walk into town and the river. Would definitely recommend to my friends, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: can request a specific quirky room, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2016

We had an amazing 2 night stay here. Great location away from the touristy center but easy to walk to the river in under 15 minutes. The rooms are very unique with a backstory to each one, it's a fun place to stay. What makes it 5* are the friendly staff, all smiles and full of useful info regardless of the time of day. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesnouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We only stayed for one night at this hostel, but had a very pleasant stay. The staff at the front desk was very helpful in accommodating our luggage while we waited to check in and offered excellent tips on places to eat and activities to pass the time. The rooms are very clean and each are styled individually with a unique theme. The bathroom facilities were very nice and clean. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbostwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Absolutely charming, comfortable and modern hostel in a very nice area, close to Belgian Quarter, easy access to trams & metro. The design of the dormitories is perfect - it guarantees you privacy and aesthetic pleasure :) All necessary conveniences are included, the place is safe, the breakfast is full. Downstairs there is a cafe&bar, which suggests diverse cultural programme. This hostel is #1 for my furhter stays in Cologne and I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank khakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Helpful and friendly staff. The location is perfect - easy to get there even in the middle of the night. Very good breakfast! Towels provided, clean bathrooms. Large and comfy beds with curtains for extra privacy. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sister_Spite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#6 of 263 in Cologne
590 reviews
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#95 of 263 in Cologne
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel
Hostel Koln
#3 of 78 in Cologne
170 reviews
Weltempfanger Backpacker Hostel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Wohngemeinschaft Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Wohngemeinschaft Hostel

Address: Richard-Wagner-Str. 39, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Cologne
Price Range: €24 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hostel "die wohngemeinschaft", the hostel for special live-in experiences in Cologne's creative center, the "Belgische Viertel". Feel like you're at home in one of our 8 rooms, which are unmistakably unique and full of charming details. The Wohngemeinschaft isn't just a hostel but also a cafe-bar as well as a theater. We are conveniently located amongst other Bars, Clubs, Restaurants, small shops, Galleries, Theaters and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Die Wohngemeinschaft Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing