We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel, very clean, helpful staff, great location”
Review of Hotel Garni Kluth

Hotel Garni Kluth
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bonn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Garni Kluth
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting Bonn for an international taekwondo competition.

At 71 Euro per night felt a little on the pricey side for a small hotel with no spa facilities, bar, etc.

However, on arrival - 2 hours before official check-in - we were greeted happily and shown straight to our double en-suite room (not all rooms are en-suite). The bedroom was large and bright, two very comfy twin beds. The heating was by radiators which can be set to your own comfort level. The bathroom was large and had a nice shower, and was spotlessly clean (y). Plenty of towels.

No English channels on the TV but thats no biggy really. FREE wifi was good. The price included a continental breakfast in the mornings, with tea & coffee, orange juice, breads, meats and cheeses, a boiled egg, cereals and yogurts available.

The only downsides were some noise from the heating/hot water system - not sure which - which was annoying at times. Also the rooms are above a bistro and sometimes there was noise from the diners and also from outside the bistro (outside seating). Occasional interruptions from the bells of the nearby church.

NOTE: Not sure there is any suitable disabled access, we had to walk upstairs from the entrance to get to reception and the rooms - you might want to check this out if its a problem for you

But all in all there was nothing that would prevent us from staying there again. We enjoyed our stay there.

Its in a nice little street of shops, no much traffic, several restaurants etc., around. There is an Aldi supermarket within easy walking distance.

We got there by public transport taking the airport bus to the Hauptbahnhof for 8 Euro per person which includes using other local buses to get to hotel destination - which for us was a second bus. We had an early flight home so the hotel manager kindly arranged a taxi for us which came on time at 4:15am! It cost us 13 Euro back to the Hauptbahnhof to take the airport bus back to the airport (another 8 Euro per person). Although the taxi driver tried to convince us to let him drive us to the Airport for around 55 Euro total.

Room Tip: I think there might be rooms NOT above the bistro for reduced noise. NOT all rooms are ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andyajsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2015

Family owned and managed for four generations, hotel Kluth offers 15 rooms and radiates an outdated fifties atmosphere. The building dates from 1798, yet the hotel clearly is rebuild shortly after WW2. It is a basic establishment. Staffs are friendly.

The hotel is located in Duisdorf at an pedestrian street filled with uninspiring shops. Bonn centre is at 5kms. You find Duisdorf railway station at walking distance.

Our single room had the size of a monastery cell. Jammed into 9 square meters: chair & tiny desk, wardrobe, suitcase rack, washbasin, TV high up the wall, shower cubicle in the corner and a reasonable single bed. No separate bathroom, toilet is outside the room. Walls are thin. All was clean.

Windows can be opened. As a result you enjoy, besides fresh air, distance traffic noise. The hourly sound of the church tower bell leaves the impression of a countryside village.

Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet & daily papers and a free hotel parking near the property. The hotel owner is serving an OK German breakfast.

The atmosphere in the hotel is not inspiring. At €47 for a claustrophobic room plus breakfast, hotel Kluth is overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

The hotel is clean and the proprietress is friendly and helpful. The rooms are not large, but neat as a pin. I particularly enjoyed the perfectly clean sheets and pillowcases, and the warm featherbeds. Hotel Kluth was a great place to fight 9 hours of jet lag, in the wrong (west-to-east) direction. The location is wonderful, with the pleasant feel of a small town and plenty of useful and interesting shops along the street, including restaurants and grocery stores. Buses to Bonn run every 10 min or so one block away; or if you have a little time in the morning you can strike out on foot- and bike-paths across the lovely fields of wheat. Breakfast is plentiful and the proprietress is friendly and most helpful.

I stayed in 2 different rooms, on the 1st and 2nd (American 2nd and 3rd) floors. The first was sunny with a large window overlooking the main intersection along the main pedestrian zone of Duisdorf. It was cheerful but could get noisy. The second faced the back, with a smaller window facing the back. Street noise was nonexistent but the light was not as pleasant.

Sound proofing is not great: perhaps Germans tend to use louder voices more often. I could often hear my neighbors even late at night. Interior spaces are dark. The parking sounds a bit remote: I used buses. I am not sure how easy it would have been to communicate with the proprietress in English: I used German. No lift, of course.

I found this a very friendly and undemanding hotel.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank nanofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sieliebtfrieden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
1.2 km away
Mercure Hotel Bonn Hardtberg
7.4 km away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#6 of 79 in Bonn
1,027 reviews
4.9 km away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
IntercityHotel Bonn
IntercityHotel Bonn
#9 of 79 in Bonn
327 reviews
4.1 km away
Centro Hotel Bristol
Centro Hotel Bristol
#30 of 79 in Bonn
221 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Baden
Hotel Baden
#31 of 79 in Bonn
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Kluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Kluth

Address: Rochusstr. 221, 53123 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range: €52 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Garni Kluth 1*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing