We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room choice can make or”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Kanzler
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Room choice can make or”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have stayed here 3 times, each stay for 4 nights/5 days, in Nov 2011 and Jan 2012. Everything is so dark in this hotel! On the whole it's fine - rooms are quiet and clean, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are good so overall it's acceptable value for money. The first 2 times I stayed I had a huge room with a fully equipped kitchenette which was excellent. This time I have had a significantly smaller room and the kitchenette had no equipment in it at all to start with as the rules have changed from 2012. If you book your room as a 'hotel room' you will not get any kitchenette equipment. To get this, you must book as an 'apartment'. So watch out if you want to be able to self-cater.

There is one free-to-view English language movie channel which is a welcome relief to the usual BBC news / CNN / CNBC rolling news you are usually stuck with on German TV.

Breakfast is ok - expensive for what you get. The Italian restaurant which forms part of the hotel is excellent though- I have eaten there many times now and the standard of food is very high. The service can be a bit hit & miss, but don't let this put you off.

There's are free apples and a free-to-use coffee machine in the lobby for all residents which are nice touches.

Location wise, the Kanzler is on the train line between my office (near the DP tower) and central Bonn, so very convenient. I'm not sure how helpful this would be if you're not here for business though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    128
    62
    17
    9
See reviews for
25
74
21
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Went there with wife and baby - first had a room allocated somewhere in the back of the hotel - difficult to access with pram so they gave us a room right next to reception. Big room, clean shower. Perfect. What else do you want - room was an upgrade though we booked at a very low price in advance (though Bonn was busy with international Afghanistan conference at that time). Will come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkyway23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed at the Derag hotel for 3 nights during the German grand prix as it was the nearest hotel with availability at a reasonable price.

The hotel is located on the main road into the centre of Bonn –walking distance to the shops, restaurant and bars etc..

Check-in was fast, efficient and friendly. Reception staff were professional and helpful and speak excellent English.

Our room was like a mini-suite as there was a divider separating the bed from a small living area with sofa, armchair and coffee table. The TV was mounted on a bracket which could be rotated towards the bed or the living area although the choice of international channels was limited. Although there was meant to be free wi-fi internet available, this was not working during our stay. There was also a well sized desk / dressing table. The room was quite bright with several quite large windows. The bathroom was well sized with a good shower over the bath and a well illuminated mirror.

Overall, the room was well appointed with good quality fixtures and finishes although it is all starting to look a little dated.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel. However, we did go for an evening meal in the Italian restaurant within the hotel. The food and service was good and quite well priced although atmosphere was lacking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were of course lucky to get a fantastic deal for our 3 day stay at this wonderful hotel. It is situated in a very covenient location with an underground station nearby and also a few very interesting museums. A leisurely walk along the rhine river bank to the city centre was a highlight and as for the hotel rooms, they were immaculately clean and had all the comforts. The only thing which was not so good was the quality of the reception on TV programmes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozartkugeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

On the Whole, this Extended Stay Hotel is merely adequate... 3 Stars is probably a bit generous overall as 2 Stars would be more appropriate as an Extended Stay...

On the plus side, location is excellent. A subway stop just down the road a few feet (Museum Konig) makes it just one stop to Heusallee where a short walk takes you to the main business centre I worked in. Going the other way, it is the perfect 20 minute walk into the old town past the Universitat or you can walk along the Rhine... The staff in general are helpful and considerate so I think the other comments in prior reviews done about bad service have been addressed for the most part by the hotel management over time...

Biggest problems with the hotel are technology based as I never really was able to get my P.C. to work consistently (Intertnet) there as well as the T.V.! Dryers for laundry (of which there were only a couple) break down and eat your expensive tokens easily... One dryer broke down and then the staff just put a sign "defekt" on it for 1+ Months so unavailable. Internet connection (if you can get access) is expensive as are the laundry tokens and the only thing complimentary in this place is a bowl of green apples at Reception although they might give you the "evil eye" if you take more than one... In addition, the Air Conditioning is quite weak even on maximum which is necessary in the summer months. Luckily for me, it was an unusually cool summer there but there were a few days when one felt a bit "ripe"...

The Breakfast is good but overpriced again for what you can get so best to be avoided on a regular basis. More positives include a good Italian Restaurant attached to the hotel but as you can see by the positives, they really don't have much to do with the actual hotel. The apartment I had included just the very basics. The kitchen had no oven and a very weak microwave but the dishwasher was fine and Service Staff always put the dirty dishes in and started it up for you when cleaning the room. It also took a while to get a toaster for the room which should just be a standard inclusion in extended stay rooms such as this since again there is no oven.

I have to say that the bed was pretty comfortable and the bathroom had all necessary ammenities. In addition, there was a nice little living room area and the work desk was quite functional with good drawer space. Also, the room was adorned with some interesting local art work. Interestingly, there was no clock or radio in the room.

In general, I think that the Kanzler needs a renovation and a serious look at their electrical systems and their capabilities (the access cards to light the rooms also had a tendency to go out!) and look to include Internet Access and a few other items to be ncluded in the basic price to make it a more attractive offering in the meantime. It certainly is not a terrible hotel but that is hardly a ringing endorsement...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
1.8 km away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,046 reviews
0.8 km away
Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel
1.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#4 of 79 in Bonn
978 reviews
1.6 km away
IntercityHotel Bonn
IntercityHotel Bonn
#8 of 79 in Bonn
308 reviews
1.2 km away
Guennewig Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Kanzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Kanzler

Property: Derag Livinghotel Kanzler
Address: Adenauerallee 148, 53113 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bonn
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Derag Livinghotel Kanzler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Kanzler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanzler Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing