We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Derag Livinghotel Kanzler
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
86
139
69
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
139
69
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantsmall kitchenbottles of beerliving roomnice hotelper daypublic transportmetro stationfree mini barbusiness travelrhine riverdishwasherminibarconsgermanysauna
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Went there with wife and baby - first had a room allocated somewhere in the back of the hotel - difficult to access with pram so they gave us a room right next to reception. Big room, clean shower. Perfect. What else do you want - room was an upgrade though we booked at a very low price in advance (though Bonn was busy with international Afghanistan conference at that time). Will come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkyway23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed at the Derag hotel for 3 nights during the German grand prix as it was the nearest hotel with availability at a reasonable price.

The hotel is located on the main road into the centre of Bonn –walking distance to the shops, restaurant and bars etc..

Check-in was fast, efficient and friendly. Reception staff were professional and helpful and speak excellent English.

Our room was like a mini-suite as there was a divider separating the bed from a small living area with sofa, armchair and coffee table. The TV was mounted on a bracket which could be rotated towards the bed or the living area although the choice of international channels was limited. Although there was meant to be free wi-fi internet available, this was not working during our stay. There was also a well sized desk / dressing table. The room was quite bright with several quite large windows. The bathroom was well sized with a good shower over the bath and a well illuminated mirror.

Overall, the room was well appointed with good quality fixtures and finishes although it is all starting to look a little dated.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel. However, we did go for an evening meal in the Italian restaurant within the hotel. The food and service was good and quite well priced although atmosphere was lacking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cdwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were of course lucky to get a fantastic deal for our 3 day stay at this wonderful hotel. It is situated in a very covenient location with an underground station nearby and also a few very interesting museums. A leisurely walk along the rhine river bank to the city centre was a highlight and as for the hotel rooms, they were immaculately clean and had all the comforts. The only thing which was not so good was the quality of the reception on TV programmes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozartkugeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

On the Whole, this Extended Stay Hotel is merely adequate... 3 Stars is probably a bit generous overall as 2 Stars would be more appropriate as an Extended Stay...

On the plus side, location is excellent. A subway stop just down the road a few feet (Museum Konig) makes it just one stop to Heusallee where a short walk takes you to the main business centre I worked in. Going the other way, it is the perfect 20 minute walk into the old town past the Universitat or you can walk along the Rhine... The staff in general are helpful and considerate so I think the other comments in prior reviews done about bad service have been addressed for the most part by the hotel management over time...

Biggest problems with the hotel are technology based as I never really was able to get my P.C. to work consistently (Intertnet) there as well as the T.V.! Dryers for laundry (of which there were only a couple) break down and eat your expensive tokens easily... One dryer broke down and then the staff just put a sign "defekt" on it for 1+ Months so unavailable. Internet connection (if you can get access) is expensive as are the laundry tokens and the only thing complimentary in this place is a bowl of green apples at Reception although they might give you the "evil eye" if you take more than one... In addition, the Air Conditioning is quite weak even on maximum which is necessary in the summer months. Luckily for me, it was an unusually cool summer there but there were a few days when one felt a bit "ripe"...

The Breakfast is good but overpriced again for what you can get so best to be avoided on a regular basis. More positives include a good Italian Restaurant attached to the hotel but as you can see by the positives, they really don't have much to do with the actual hotel. The apartment I had included just the very basics. The kitchen had no oven and a very weak microwave but the dishwasher was fine and Service Staff always put the dirty dishes in and started it up for you when cleaning the room. It also took a while to get a toaster for the room which should just be a standard inclusion in extended stay rooms such as this since again there is no oven.

I have to say that the bed was pretty comfortable and the bathroom had all necessary ammenities. In addition, there was a nice little living room area and the work desk was quite functional with good drawer space. Also, the room was adorned with some interesting local art work. Interestingly, there was no clock or radio in the room.

In general, I think that the Kanzler needs a renovation and a serious look at their electrical systems and their capabilities (the access cards to light the rooms also had a tendency to go out!) and look to include Internet Access and a few other items to be ncluded in the basic price to make it a more attractive offering in the meantime. It certainly is not a terrible hotel but that is hardly a ringing endorsement...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I made reservations well in advance for Kanzler, but 3 days before my departure I went online to print out my confirmation, I found out that they had been "Cancelled" to no knowledge of mine.

When I called the hotel (International long-distance, mind you), I was told several times that the reservations manager wasn't available even though it was during business hours over there and I would have to call back another time. The next day, I called and spoke with her and was of little assistance. She informed me that the hotel was "oversold" and nothing could be done about it. I don't mind when a hotel loses a reservation, especially if there's another hotel nearby, but it seemed like the ENTIRE city was sold out that week.

Kanzler: Get a better reservation system.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews