We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
A glimpse of bourgeois life

Showcases the decor and furniture typical of the bourgeois in Aachen in the 18-19th centuries. It... read more

Reviewed 11 November 2018
RenaeSNS
,
Utrecht, The Netherlands
via mobile
Look at how Aacheners lived post Baroque times

The Couven Museum shows bourgeois living culture of the 18th and early 19th century from Aachen on... read more

Reviewed 2 November 2018
Bob K
,
Fairfax, Virginia
Read all 114 reviews
  
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
36
57
19
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
57
19
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pieces of furniture wall paintings on display pharmacy apothecary porcelain bourgeois architect tiles silverware century style centuries landscape sword boxes item
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2014

I have never seen so many cutleries in a museum; they seem to be in every room.

The museum is housed in a 17th century with a long history. The building was badly damaged in WW2 of which you can see pictures on the stairways. Since 1958 it houses the Couven Museum named after architect Couven who was involved in restyling the house at the end of the 18th century.

Inside you find many beautiful style rooms, an old pharmacy, an old kitchen and much more.

Not to be missed when you are in Aachen

Date of experience: November 2014
4  Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This gem of a museum was a wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of the Aachen Christmas Market. The Couven Museum is one of the ‘stations’ on the Route Charlemagne which connects historical and culturally important locations around the important European city of Aachen. The Couven museum is in a building designed by Johann Joseph Couven who, with his son, were notable architects and there are some remarkable original architectural drawings by them on the grand staircase. The rest of the house is full of notable pieces of furniture and furnishings, paintings, architectural detail, tiles and (on the occasion I visited) musical instruments too. My German friend and I were greeted warmly and given a short orientation explanation before we meandered through each room marvelling at the objects on display. My friend lives only a short distance from the museum but this was the first time she, a musician in her own right, had seen all the instruments on display. There is far too much to describe in this review as it offers a broad insight into the style of living in Aachen in the C18th and C19th. My personal highlights were the Tiled Rooms, the Landscape Room and the musical instruments which were prominent in most rooms. Beside a mandolin was what I believe looked like the original manuscript of an aria from Don Giovanni by Mozart. I loved everything about this museum but I treasure most the sight and memory of that Mozart music. This museum is an essential attraction when visiting Aachen. Don’t miss it!

Date of experience: December 2013
5  Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Very nice, small museum with lovely pieces of furniture and a few musical instruments and gorgeous grandfather clocks, all reflecting home decor fashion and taste of the petit bourgeois. From the website: "The rooms of the museum show the development of the various styles of middle class interior decoration of the 18th and early 19th centuries, from late Baroque and Rococo (Régence and Louis-XV) through Louis-XVI, Directoire and Empire to Biedermeier." Recommended, especialy if you are interested in furniture, decorative arts and local history.

Date of experience: December 2013
3  Thank Dani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

An upper middle class house from 18th and 19th century. Quite nice to show that aspect of life to our kids rather than the usual palaces or peasants extremes.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was a really great small Museum really enjoyed the 18th Century Pharmacy exhibition on the ground floor within the museum. Excellent examples of quite unique Northern European18th Cent carved wooden furniture, with some beautifully detailed 19th Century family portraits on the upper floors. Amazing collection of Delft and other continental tiles in the two tile room collections.
Note: Visits on the weekends are normally free of charge.

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank Trooper37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews