We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
69
112
59
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
112
59
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baltic coast an industrial estate central location outskirts of town small city train station minibar pillows trips business facilities centre uk stralsund mcdonalds toiletries base
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

The hotel is immaculately presented, always friendly and happy to help.The harbour offers an excellent collection of old, but still working. vessels, the surrounding harbour houses are unique, and the town centre a joy to walk through.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mondo369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

I was on a Leger battlefield tour and stayed 3 nights.It was in the 30's and my room at the front of the hotel was like a blast furnace as there was no air-conditioning.
The staff have excellent English and the breakfasts are well stocked with a good choice.I eat in the hotel restaurant twice with mixed results-one good meal, one not so good.
The hotel is fairly isolated but has a Mcdonalds nearby.You can get into town by taxi for 11-14 euros.
There are no English T.V. available but the room does have a fridge

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nojornum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPaymans, Owner at Mercure Hotel Greifswald Am Gorzberg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear guest,

many thanks for your remarks.

The summer in 2018 is one of many records.Temperatures over 30 degrees and this on many days in a row. However, seen over many years, this weathersituation is exceptional. Due to the fact, that these kinds of days do not occur often in Greifswald, our hotel does not have an airconditioning. Last year 2017 we only had 5 days with a temperature over 30 degrees. We also have a lot of wind, due to the fact, that Greifswald is located near the coast.
These facts lead to the conclusion, that the need for an airconditioning in our hotel does not have a high priority. Two years ago we have decided to invest our money (which is limited) in the renovation of the restaurant, reception and conferencerooms.
If the situation, concerning the climate, changes we will reconsider our decicion about the airconditioning.

To your remark concerning the english speaking TV channels, we have to admit, that during your stay in our hotel no englishspeaking channels were available, However this was caused by a broken transponder, which we have replaced.

I would be pleased to welcome you in our hotel a next time, so we can convince you, that we do not only have hot days in Greifswald.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The hotel is located in a commercial zone. There is noise from traffic, goods lorries and pedestrians from early morning until late evening' The lack of air conditioning necessitates opening the window for fresh air and to keep the temperature down. The open window admits the noise from outside! Facilities are basic - woodchip wallpaper, no fridge, no safe, no English language news channel, no tea-making facilities, open laminate cupboards, one small armchair. There was a walk in shower, but no safety hand rail. Towels were well worn. Breakfast.was OK, but evening meals are limited in quality and variety - predominantly pork and fish dishes and the ever-present salad. Most staff are friendly. A few are curt in their dealings with guests.

Room tip: We didn't have a 'good' room.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190cc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

A nice Mercure with a bright reception and bar area. Also had a nice outside seating area. Quick check in with friendly staff. Nice room and bathroom but shower needed some attention. Black areas in tiles and drain seemed to be blocked. We mentioned drainage problems to reception but problem was still there the next morning. Room was also very hot and we asked if we could get a fan but were unsuccessful. We had dinner in the hotel both nights which we enjoyed and had good service in the bar area but again it was pretty hot.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Wonderful stay at this hotel. The locationis a bit far from the city center, but the hotel is great. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. One of the best Mercure in Germany, will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tahiti86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews