We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you smoke a lot you'll like it- If you dont? pack a face mask and airtank”
Review of Hotel Modern

Hotel Modern
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hannover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Modern
Ranked #126 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The hotel is situated near the city centre, the hotel decorations and facilities were reasonable, clean and the shower was good, breakfast was also good. BUT unfortunately the place reeked of tobacco smoke, one of our party is an occasional smoker and he couldn't stand it, the clothes I hung in the warbode and didn't wear stunk of it, we had one drink in the bar on arrival and no more, we even met outside so as to avoid the sometimes choking atmosphere, the higher you are in the hotel the worse it is, even the guy behing reception was smoking, I had to open the windows all the time which led to some disturbed sleep.
So if you dont smoke, don't like the smell of smoke or have astma etc don't stay here, BUT IF YOU DO don't take your own, just stick her head out of your room door and save some cash

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony_morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I booked this hotel to stay in during the Hannover Messe, but because of the volcano eruptions all flights were cancelled and I was not able to get to the Hotel. I called to explain the problem and they just laughed and said they were keeping my money. They would not even discuss a partial refund. I have checked to see if any rooms are available today and see that they have nothing available so they not only keep my money but book the room out again. Don't do business with people like this it only keeps them going.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank mrcdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I booked reservations 2 months in advance through Booking.com as it was not possible to book directly with the hotel. The entire journey to Europe was cancelled on account of the plume of ash from the Iceland volcano.

I've tried cancelling the reservation with Hotel Modern but the management will not address the issue, negotiate, return phone calls, etc. I would expect to pay a 1 night penalty, but certainly not all three nights! Generally, the attitude of the hotel manager was completely unsympathetic. No gestures were made despiite the fact that they won't have to clean my room serve me breakfast or any other staff-requiring service that I won't use.

While I can't vouch for the quality of the accomodations, the attitude of the management is enough to make me write this review and attempt to steer customers away from this selfish hotel manager.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank spideylookalike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jotxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hannover
Ibis Hannover City
#15 of 159 in Hannover
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wegner
#46 of 159 in Hannover
64 reviews
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 159 in Hannover
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modern

Address: Goethestr. 2, 30169, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing