We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit”
Review of Walhofs Winebar

Walhofs Winebar
Ranked #275 of 2,743 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Price range: US$3 - US$23
Description: Walhofs is a young and cozy wine bar and restaurant in the district of Sachsenhausen, Frankfurt am Main. We are specialized in German, Italian, French and Austrian wines and we currently have 200 different wines on the menu, of which 25-30 wines by the glass. The interior consists of modern baroque and pop-art elements. At Walhofs, we serve European food. One could think of tapas style dishes to share with friends, but also regular dishes with a German and Mediterranean touch. Quality, seasonal cooking and regional products are our focus points. During the night, the music will be turned up to create a happening bar atmosphere. Walhofs is very well located in a quite street at 2 minutes walking distance from both the train/metro station Südbahnhof and the metro station Schweizer Platz.
Restaurant details
Description: Walhofs is a young and cozy wine bar and restaurant in the district of Sachsenhausen, Frankfurt am Main. We are specialized in German, Italian, French and Austrian wines and we currently have 200 different wines on the menu, of which 25-30 wines by the glass. The interior consists of modern baroque and pop-art elements. At Walhofs, we serve European food. One could think of tapas style dishes to share with friends, but also regular dishes with a German and Mediterranean touch. Quality, seasonal cooking and regional products are our focus points. During the night, the music will be turned up to create a happening bar atmosphere. Walhofs is very well located in a quite street at 2 minutes walking distance from both the train/metro station Südbahnhof and the metro station Schweizer Platz.
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent selection of wines, amazing atmosphere. Perfect place to sit and relax. Definetly a must visit place for a drink whilst exploring the streets of this awesome town!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank I4137HPsoniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2018

We went to this place expecting the extensive winecard and familiar dishes and were met by small tapas choice and not so good wines. The food was tasty for what it was but as I said not as expected

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Astra_FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

This is a great wine bar/full-service restaurant with outstanding food, service and wine selection. A totally fun evening for the food and wine. Seating is comfortable spread across two rooms. On a side street and easy to reach. Food is upscale modern German. Service is excellent with multiple languages spoken by the staff. Wine selection is an interesting mix, by the glass or by the bottle. Wine and food prices are reasonable for Frankfurt and portions are large. Reservations recommended on Friday and Saturday as there are maybe 40 covers (seats) in total. In the main dining room there are high tables as well as standard seating, and in the back room there is standard seating. No snobbery here, everyone having an enjoyable evening with friends, great food and wine.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

The owner, chef and staff of this winebar know what they do. We were well looked after. The food is great. The only suggestion I would give is keep the eye on the ball when it starts to get a little busy after 8pm so that all the tables are attended to. Keep up the good work you do you make your customers feel very comfortable and happy.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MsEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

This place is great. Lots of wine knowledge; relaxed atmosphere. Great food. Wait staff doesn't rush you. Overall a great find.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank lacyr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walhofs Winebar also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Walhofs Winebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing