We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but not so good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Ranked #141 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, but not so good facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Best part of it is the location, just across the train station.

The single room I stayed was quite small and old. The bathroom looks bigger than the room (but it isn't), the flush had some problems. The television didn't work properly.
The hotel needs renovation, the elevator also needs some kinf of calibration.
The staff is not very nice or helpful. Onr of the cleaners entered anyway in the room after realising that I was there.
The internet costs 5€ for 12 hours, but is not very fast.

At first the hotel seemed cheap, but after staying there I wouldn't pay it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mislouro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    169
    133
    36
    38
See reviews for
53
90
105
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My family and I stayed here for two nights, in two rooms, my brother and I in one room together, and it was great. Our room was the biggest on the top floor and had plenty of space and a good view of the train station. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and breakfast was decent for a hotel buffet. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

3 of us, all girls, stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We were on a budget, and this hotel was perfect. It's right across the street from the main train station, so getting to and from the airport was a breeze, and it also made it very convienent when we had to take the train to other places for one day tours. We had a triple room, with 3 twin beds, the room was dated, but was very spacious and the washroom was clean. Again, this is a budget hotel, so don't expect anything fancy about the rooms. The elevator is vintage and tiny, which we didn't mind. It's one of those old style hotels where you don't get to keep your key, you drop it off at the front desk when you leave your room. As other reviews may have already mentioned, the hotel is next to a red light district. We didn't find out about that till we were walking on the street one evening and noticed that everyone else on the street were men, and we were getting strange stares. We were tired by the end of the day and didn't stay out late anyways. But there is a bar across the street from, and we dropped by every night on the way back, they had free wifi. It is also a good walk to the Ziel, approximately 15-20mins walk. One downside to the stay was that there was construction going on right outside our window, and they would start at 6AM.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I give three points to this hotel only for the discounted price they offered. If I would have paid the normal rate, I would not give points at all. This is very well positioned hotel in front of the train station of Frankfurt. This is the only good side of this place. Whole hotel needs to be renovated, the room and the bathroom were incredibly small, the bed was uncomfortable. There is no minibar in rooms. (I thought in hotels with three stars it was mandatory) In addition I had several other issues - all lights were not working properly also the TV did not function well. Other problem was the inside noise - I was woken up by every person that passed in front of my room. My suggestion - go there if your stay will be short and you really do not have another option and if you get discounted price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
239 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Frankfurt is a tricky city to get a good priced nice hotel during fair times. Continental is well located in terms of public means of transportation, a step away from the main train station. The neighbourhood is not the best, but any way, there are many hotels and restaurants within the area. The room is average, nothing special, but too noisy due the trams running in front. Bathroom was completely renovated, it was OK but with almost no amenities. Not even a free bottle of water, no free wifi internet connection at the room. Breakfast was average. Price too high at fair time (was the book fair, rate of the room EUR 225 plus EUR 8 for breakfast).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfausto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#50 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Colour Hotel
#217 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Savoy Hotel Frankfurt
#215 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
National Hotel - Frankfurt
National Hotel - Frankfurt
#155 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#52 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt

Property: Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Address: Baseler Str. 56, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Hotel Continental Frankfurt)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home - in Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt - close to the main station! The central location in the state capital allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Frankfurt can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt is comfortable and contemporary in design, from there you can reach the fairgrounds and the airport optimal. Functional rooms in different categories, free WiFi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a newly designed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing