We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Hotel - Frankfurt
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$290
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$453
US$395
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$237
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
US$220
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Frankfurt Messe(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Excelsior(Frankfurt)
US$248
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$337
US$237
AdinaHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villa Kennedy(Frankfurt)
US$321
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
47
134
118
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
134
118
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationnice star hotelbody washeuropean hotelsthe hotel staffhotel is situatedhauptbanhofeurosrenovation
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I stayed at the Hotel National for one night while in Frankfurt. I picked the hotel due to finding only bad reviews for hostels in Frankfurt - this hotel had the same prices but much better reviews, so I went with it instead. The price was terrific, and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel for the price we paid. The staff at check-in were very friendly, and the interior of the hotel was quite nice. Our room was clean, spacious for European standards, and very comfortable. While the proximity to the train station was a huge plus, the only negative thing we experienced was some noise in the room due to traffic outside. It wasn't bad, however, and I had no trouble sleeping. Definitely recommended for students or couples looking for a nice but inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keraniluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Helpful hotel, located for an interesting nightlife, over the road from the main station, nice staff and enjoyed my stay. Internet 5 euro for 12 hours, internet Cafe over the road great for quick cheap connection.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkhurst111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My wife and I previously stayed at the National Hotel in December 2008 and returned for a few days in July 2010 following a pleasant initial stay. Unfortunately, this time we struck a period of very hot weather and discovered to our surprise that there is no airconditioning in the rooms (NOTE: This appears to be the case with many hotels of a similar rating in Frankfurt). Whilst the hotel promotes the fact that windows open, our room tended to resemble a furnace most of the time, despite being provided with a rotating desk fan. Upon opening up the windows, we were greeted with the constant sound of both vehicles and people which was far from ideal. To compound matters, the mini bar fridge barely worked and didn't keep things cold.

One of the "bug bears" from our previous visit was that the hotel bar was only spasmodically opened and disappointingly, nothing has changed. We were given complimentary drink vouchers on our arrival and when attempting to utilise on a Saturday evening was told the bar would not be opening.

Notwithstanding the above comments, the hotel has some positive features in its favour by way of being located close to the main rail way station and offering good sized and clean rooms, along with the fact that a first class breakfast (comprising both a hot and cold selection) is generally included in the room rate. Furthermore, staff are pleasant and free internet use is available in the foyer or accessible via wifi from your room for a nominal cost.

In summary, the hotel is certainly not 4 stars as promoted but is more akin to 3 star hotel offering reasonable value for money. At the end of the day, if one was considering staying at this hotel in summer, it is probably a matter of weighing up the "pluses v's minuses", although I would certainly recommend requesting a room away from the main street to try and minimise noise, should the windows require to be open.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

National hotel is very close to Frankfrut station, the location is good. Although the room is small and the bed is single, it is very clean and well-appointed. The price is just average level and the quality is worth more than its cost. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

This hotel is not 4-star for sure. Also they are "purposely" misleading by posting photos of nice renovated rooms with flat screen TV etc in their websites + Booking.com. We paid Euro105/nite for a double room no breakfast - not worth the price. When we arrived, we were given a room with deco and furniture from the 60s-70s. It was old and musty, albeit bigger. Obviously it was far from our expectations after what we saw from their websites. We found out that of the 77 rooms in the hotel, only 20+ rooms have been renovated so they are advertising on that basis and claimed rudely that we are the only customers unhappy about that?!!! They finally gave us a renovated room which was quite small but nonetheless new. So if you thinking of booking this hotel, our advice is to specify for renovated rooms.
Also the free tea & pastries they advertised is nothing much more than a small plate of cookies (for all to share!) and tea pot always running out of water.
Also, no shampoo/conditioner and usual toiletries provided so no way is this 4-star!
The person at the front desk is also doubling as the guy setting up the tea time stuff and god knows what else.. so don't count on seeing someone at front desk all the time.
Only good thing about this hotel is the location but then again, there are loads of hotel around the station so you have plenty of choices.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaloBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews