We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
National Hotel - Frankfurt
Ranked #187 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We liked this hotel. It was basic and in the centre of town. It was safe to stay here and walk around at night. It is across the road from the main train station which is very convenient. The man at the desk was lovely and very helpful. He really went out of his way for us to find free parking (as we hired a car). It was close to all main sites.
The room was spacious but basic.
One negative was when my partner was walking to the bathroom, he kicked his foot against the uneven entrace into the bathroom. He really hirt his foot. So be mindful to be careful of this step. Other than that, it was a great stay! I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarDar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2010

I stayed at the Hotel National for one night while in Frankfurt. I picked the hotel due to finding only bad reviews for hostels in Frankfurt - this hotel had the same prices but much better reviews, so I went with it instead. The price was terrific, and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel for the price we paid. The staff at check-in were very friendly, and the interior of the hotel was quite nice. Our room was clean, spacious for European standards, and very comfortable. While the proximity to the train station was a huge plus, the only negative thing we experienced was some noise in the room due to traffic outside. It wasn't bad, however, and I had no trouble sleeping. Definitely recommended for students or couples looking for a nice but inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keraniluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Helpful hotel, located for an interesting nightlife, over the road from the main station, nice staff and enjoyed my stay. Internet 5 euro for 12 hours, internet Cafe over the road great for quick cheap connection.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkhurst111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My wife and I previously stayed at the National Hotel in December 2008 and returned for a few days in July 2010 following a pleasant initial stay. Unfortunately, this time we struck a period of very hot weather and discovered to our surprise that there is no airconditioning in the rooms (NOTE: This appears to be the case with many hotels of a similar rating in Frankfurt). Whilst the hotel promotes the fact that windows open, our room tended to resemble a furnace most of the time, despite being provided with a rotating desk fan. Upon opening up the windows, we were greeted with the constant sound of both vehicles and people which was far from ideal. To compound matters, the mini bar fridge barely worked and didn't keep things cold.

One of the "bug bears" from our previous visit was that the hotel bar was only spasmodically opened and disappointingly, nothing has changed. We were given complimentary drink vouchers on our arrival and when attempting to utilise on a Saturday evening was told the bar would not be opening.

Notwithstanding the above comments, the hotel has some positive features in its favour by way of being located close to the main rail way station and offering good sized and clean rooms, along with the fact that a first class breakfast (comprising both a hot and cold selection) is generally included in the room rate. Furthermore, staff are pleasant and free internet use is available in the foyer or accessible via wifi from your room for a nominal cost.

In summary, the hotel is certainly not 4 stars as promoted but is more akin to 3 star hotel offering reasonable value for money. At the end of the day, if one was considering staying at this hotel in summer, it is probably a matter of weighing up the "pluses v's minuses", although I would certainly recommend requesting a room away from the main street to try and minimise noise, should the windows require to be open.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

National hotel is very close to Frankfrut station, the location is good. Although the room is small and the bed is single, it is very clean and well-appointed. The price is just average level and the quality is worth more than its cost. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#55 of 271 in Frankfurt
589 reviews
Savoy Hotel Frankfurt
#216 of 271 in Frankfurt
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Excelsior
#62 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,538 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#32 of 271 in Frankfurt
264 reviews
Colour Hotel
#222 of 271 in Frankfurt
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel - Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel - Frankfurt

Address: Baseler Str. 50, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: €52 - €327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel - Frankfurt 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel - Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing