We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
76
231
127
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
231
127
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaces to eat locallyroom was cleanfree wificonnectionstationairportcity
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017

The budget Ibis hotels are basic, you will get a Bed, a plastic chair, a TV, a washbasin, a shower, a toilet, hot water, shampoo in a bottle, a bar of soap and couple of glasses for water. You are paying half the price of anything else so don't expect miracles.

We were staying for a couple of nights to go to a show at the Mehr! Theater and a night out in Hamburg and considering we spent about 12 hours there and that was sleeping it suited us perfectly.

You have about a 5-minute walk from the Wandsbeker Markt U-Bahn and another 5 minutes to Wandsbecker Chausee for the S-Bahn which is fine.

We didn't have breakfast as we stopped for coffee and a bite in one of the Cafes as you walk to the station.

Quick heads up on the U-Bahn - if there are up to 5 of you then get a 9Uhr Collective pass which covers you all for unlimited travel on the U-Bahn and Buses until 6 the following morning, at just under 12 euros it is a bargain!

There are places to eat locally but we were in town, if you get the munchies on the way back at 1 AM then there is a McDonalds if desperate.

Pay Little, Expect Little - you won't be disappointed,

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena5194, Geschäftsführer at Ibis budget Hotel Hamburg City Ost, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you very much for the good explanation. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We booked a room here during our sightseeing stay in Hamburg. Although the hotel is a bit far from the city center, there is a U-bahn nearby. The room was clean but there was no soap near the sink and the view out of the window was awful -directly into the wall. There is a free wifi in the rooms and the staff was friendly. The breakfast (open buffet- coffee, tea, bread, toast, cheese, salami, butter, musli, eggs, nutella, jam...) was good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena5194, Geschäftsführer at Ibis budget Hotel Hamburg City Ost, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

With the nearby U-Bahn you just need 9 minutes to the main-station. We have a view to the street or to the houses you can choose what you prefer.

See you next time in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Spent two night. Room more than essential, with poor space to place things but clean.
Good breakfast.
Just a memo. If You have to check in after 2200 you have to do by yourself(reception is close), and it could be not so easy complete all ops.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena5194, Geschäftsführer at Ibis budget Hotel Hamburg City Ost, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

After 2200 our reception will be closed and you check in at our check in machine. You just need your reservation code and a credit card or maestro card. It is very easy with the touchscreen monitor. If you have a problem we have an emergency bell right from the check-in-machine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We keep returning to this hotel of the IBIS brand. For our family activities its well located. Leave the car in their f.o.c. parking lot and get a family card for families. Then board the S-Bahn and go to town or the Landungsbrücken by the port. Hamburg is a must for Tourist visiting Germany. Sooooo much to do and to explore.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pargoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena5194, Geschäftsführer at Ibis budget Hotel Hamburg City Ost, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

That's true, Hamburg is a must for tourist visiting Germany, we have so many things to do. Hope you come back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

They offer buns by Resch & Frisch which is the best company for gluten free buns. Won't go to any other Ibis Budget in Hamburg no more, even hotels with double the price won't offer such good buns... Rooms are also clean, lots of shopping possibilities around. Direct bus connection to the airport. Friendly staff. One of the best choices in Hamburg if considering the value that you get for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finotzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena5194, Geschäftsführer at Ibis budget Hotel Hamburg City Ost, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you very much for the good comment. See you next time in Hamburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews