We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
279
430
142
25
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
430
142
25
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station waffle machine hotel is an easy walk clean functional rooms noisy road minute walk no tea coffee making reception and bar area tourist sites free wifi paid euros construction site main road luggage room stag weekend by foot parking facilities
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

A mixed review, the positives - Close to the Steinstrasse U Bahn, actually 150 mtrs walk from the south east exit of this station. After existing, just walk along the footpath under the rail bridge and you are there with the Ibis sign and 7 storey hotel in front of you. You can take the U Bahn to Central Station in 3 mins, otherwise, you can walk to the Hauptbahnhof (Central Station) in about 12 - 15 minutes. The rooms are small, with basic services, but there are no fridges or wall safes. Beds are comfortable and rooms are very clean, noting the hotel was only built a few years ago. The breakfast buffet was also quite reasonable for about 12 euros p/p. Scrambled eggs, bacon, and a variety of cereals, cold meats and bread was available for offer, along with juices, tea and coffee and fruit. There is a small bar next to reception, and reception is open 24/7. Staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke good English.
Really only one negative, and that was the aircon. While it was quite cold outside the room was hot. Event with the aircon on the lowest, we had to regulate the temperature by opening the window. We did submit a complaint but while it appears that an effort was made, the system really was not blowing much cool air. We removed the heavy duna and resorted to just a sheet which in conjunction with the window opening regulated the temperature. Not quite sure how this will operate in summer.
We spent 13 nights here over the Christmas period and overall were quite happy with the experience.

Room Tip: While the soundproofing is excellent, you can have a room on the south for a view of the river,
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emtnems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Ten minutes walk from the main station, in a quiet residential area between a main road and nearby railway lines; not at all picturesque!! Rooms adequate - but no kettle to make hot drinks in the room which means you are reliant on the small bar for (expensive) hot drinks. Room small but comfortable, with good sound-proof glazing. Breakfast buffet was nice, but very busy. Paid in advance for breakfast, but the hotel decided to change the breakfast times on New Years Day, which meant we missed the breakfast we had paid for in advance, with no offer of a refund. Staff helpful and friendly, but overall would probably stay somewhere in a livelier area if we visited again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tintinfan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carsten W, General Manager at Ibis Hamburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear guest of ibis Hamburg City,

thank you for your review. We are sorry, that the changed breakfast times on new years meant that you missed breakfast. Please contact the hotel directly as you are using a screen name on Tripadvisor and we have no ways to check your claim and refund the money. Once we have the more detailed information, we will do our best to satisfy your request concerning a refund.
We look forward to hearing from and recommend our sister hotel ibis Hamburg St. Pauli Messe for a livelier area to stay in in Hamburg.

Best regards,

Carsten Woll
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Location: a minus. I was not comfortable walking from train station to hotel at dark.
Breakfast: a minus. Very surprised that there was no green tea. Table service (clean up from previous guests) slow so i started cleaning myself.
Room cleanliness: a minus. I had not the feeling of being in a clean fresh place. I believe to have noticed urine smell when lying in bed (room 210).
Reception: friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank juliandanielj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

The hotel is an easy walk from the main station (as long as you have armed yourself with good directions). We requested, and got, a top floor room, although the views of the immediate neighbourhood are not very exciting.
With Ibis, you expect good value and a decent room, and Hamburg City meets this criterion. The rooms are not large, but clever design makes the most of the available space. The hotel is obviously relatively new and the decor is eye-catching and funky.
We did not eat in, but many did; and the bar area was much busier and lively than in most Ibis hotels we have used.
The rooms do not have tea/coffee making facilities, a safe or a fridge; and the bottle of water provided seemed a bit pricey - so we bought elsewhere.
All in all, a good choice for our city break; and we would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Modern and friendly Hotel, located near main Station and Deichtorhallen. Although located on a busy crossroad the rooms are quiet, due to triple glazed Windows. Facilities ok, breakfast good Quality, only space in breakfast area is really limited related to the high number of rooms and at specific times not easy to find a place. Bar ok, staff over all friendly

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GabrieleMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews