We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely my favourite place in Hamburg”
Review of Von der Motte

Von der Motte
Ranked #11 of 128 Coffee & Tea in Hamburg
Price range: US$0 - US$17
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We love good food. And we know that in hectic times like these we all need good brain food so that body & soul are functioning. That's how we came up with the idea of slow fast food. Besides our favored All-Day-Long breakfast at the weekend, we focus on fine-dining-salads and sandwiches which you can individually order by choice on a special menue card and we offer as well small international dishes which recipees we have picked on our travels from all over the world. Come for coffee and cake and you will discover cakes which you might not have heard of before. Our favorites are the sweet potato cheesecake and the Hawaiin "Kauai" Carrot cake made with carrots, pineapple, coconut and other great ingrediants. Yummy - Yummy! If you are on the run you can get everything to go. We wrap it up for you so you can enjoy your favorite soup, salad or cakes later... We are based in Hamburg Ottensen, just around the corner from the hectic streetlife. And will be happy to see and serve you - come chillaxing with us!
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This is a very cozy and nice coffee place in Altona, Hamburg. It has a small kitchen, so the food make take a bit long, mainly during very busy hours, but it is totally worth the wait. Either for a brunch (their english breakfast is amazing!) or for an afternoon tea, you find here a great selection of nice and tasty dishes. You can seat outside on a rainy day and feel cozy, or outside on a sunny day and feel all the life of Altona around you. It is perfect for either meet with your friends or just be alone reading a book.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joana Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Energyseeker, Inhaber at Von der Motte, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Joana,
thank you so much for this great valuation. And you speak exactly about the points of what is intended! Great that you can feel it. Thank you! :-)
Feel welcome at any time.
Kindest regards,
Silke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2016

Peaceful interior, friendly staff, tasty good-looking food, good drinks. I really enjoyed my dish (Herzhafte französische Cakes), but the portion size of that excellent side dish of salad and vegetables on my plate was smaller than what I see here in visitor photos.
At the time of day we were there (Saturday noon), it was not too busy, maybe 10-12 guests. Calm. Bright.
I 'll go back there for sure.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M-Afsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Energyseeker, Inhaber at Von der Motte, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear M-Afsar,
thank you for the great valuation. You are welcome at any time! :-)
Kindest regards,
Silke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

had breakfast here on a sunday morning. we arrived at 11 am and had to wait until 12.30 pm until our food arrived! when it finally did come it didn't all come at the same time so that my partner had already finished eating once mine arrived. the pancakes were vegan which was a great option to chose from but they tasted of oil. will not be returning.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

The wait for the breakfast was so long, it took us 1:30 min to receive our order and it was not that special to wait for pan- cakes and French toast... The only thing that was good is the attitude of the person was good.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Thani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

This was my second time at this restaurant and I have to say it is really good, even though the "week menu" from last time was a lot better, u can order breakfast anytime! (Which for me its always a good thing). It's also worth mentioning that the portions are not so big, so take that into account.
The waiters are very friendly and funny, the prices are ok and the outside terrace is beautiful.
P.S.: Try the Pancakes w/ bacon and honey with some blueberries on top. ;)

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Von der Motte also viewed

 

Been to Von der Motte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing