We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, modern hotel”
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ARCOTEL Onyx
Ranked #20 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We found the rooms to be very well designed - the mirror at the back of the sliding wardrobe door being a prime example of the thought that had gone into the rooms. Our room had an excellent shower - hot and powerful. The hotel is very handy for the UBahn and surprisingly quiet given the fact that it’s located on the infamous Reeperbahn. The best thing about the hotel though is the staff, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, they answered all our queries, made recommendations and looked after various items of clothing that we left in the bar!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

This hotel is very modern with very interesting interior that has circular/arc theme going on very cool, staff are very helpful and rooms are spotless the hotel is located at one end of the Reeperbahn next to the "squinty tower" and very close to all modes of transport, Bus, Underground, Trains and a Taxi rank (just outside) from the airport you can get a train that goes to the Reeperbahn and the hotel is about a 8 minute walk approximately.
The river is not far away about the same walk as above where there is ferries, river cruises and shops you can also get the hop on hop off bus here for city tours.
So this hotel is in a great location for seeing Hamburg.
NOTE We did not book breakfasts and we are glad we did not, we went for breakfast on our first morning and was very nice but we found out that the price was £18 p/p wow sorry we only had one, but there are plenty of places on the Reeperbahn where you can get food and a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ericbray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed at this hotel in late December. It's easy to find and the underground parking is right next door. You can access the hotel from the parking lot. The hotel is very modern. Check in was easy and fast. Hotel offers free Wi-Fi. We had nice, very clean rooms with a large shower. The beds were comfortable. Most important, it was very quiet. We couldn't hear any neighbors, etc.
We visited the bar late one night. Nice place to wind down. The waiter was friendly and the prices moderate.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sunny19a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed one night at the Onyx Hotel. I made a pretty good deal with less than 90 EUR the night on a Friday. The location of the Hotel is awesome. Parking in the Garage for 12 EUR per day. The room is in good condition but we had some negative experiences: Water maker was leaking and spilled hot water on my arm, door of the shower was leaking and made the bathroom to a pool area and the room smelled not very well. The workout area is too tiny but the SPA with Hamam and Sauna is well designed. For one night absolutely ok - giving the great lokation.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomasito123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Without a doubt one of the coolest hotels I’ve ever stayed in. Located in the Reeperbahn district, the Arcotel Onyx is instantly recognizable by its futuristic shape that makes it look like its bent. The rooms were very spacious and had the carpet had a design with pole dancers in different positions and large round windows that remind you of being on a ship. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and they even grow their own vegetables! I look forward to staying at this hotel soon.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CPenilla420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 323 in Hamburg
1,114 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#27 of 323 in Hamburg
1,328 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 323 in Hamburg
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
east Hotel Hamburg
east Hotel Hamburg
#21 of 323 in Hamburg
842 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#17 of 323 in Hamburg
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: €82 - €228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing