We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it”
Review of Hotel Oase

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oase
Ranked #278 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you can slightly increase your budget, avoid it. The hotel is in a shady area and the characters frequenting the area also has a grey touch to it.
The managers failed miserably in communication even the basics. There was too much of noise from the room heater.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajarshi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oase
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Well where do I start with this hotel. We went to Hamburg for a night away and thought we would book something cheap and cheerful as we wouldnt be in the room much. I have no problem with the room being small or it being a 2 star hotel, but you still expect a certain standard. The main two things being cleanliness and hot water. I was in the shower not even 10 minutes and the hot water ran out, it went absolutely freezing in the middle of me washing my hair. Not a nice experience on a cold evening! We later discovered that they had turned the boiler right down to obviously save money. But as a hotel, hot water is surely a given? The room smelt weird, like smokey/musty and the shower head was in serious need of a clean. The room looked like it needed a decent clean and the tv was really old. We had requested a double room but when we arrived we were in a twin room. We asked reception about a double but they said if we wanted a double we should push the beds together. Well surely its their job too, not ours. It made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. The other main issue is the location, its in downtown Hamburg where the streets are full of rubbish, beggers and prostitutes. I would not have wanted to walk along there on my own. Im not a snob, but i expext a standard in any hotel, regardless of the star rating. I strongly recommend you do not stay here. We made the mistake of not following the reviews and thought we would find out for ourselves because we wanted to save money. But even we were shocked. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pink243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Stayed at Hotel Oase in May 2009. Simple, clean, right next to U-bahn station. Perhaps a bit overpriced at 119 Euro per night per triple room. Ask for a room facing inner garden as traffic on main street is quite busy and noisy. No Wi-Fi unfortunately.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delovoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Torben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cristiano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Terminus Hamburg
#129 of 319 in Hamburg
130 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Hotel Village
Hotel Village
#142 of 319 in Hamburg
117 reviews
ARCOTEL Rubin
#59 of 319 in Hamburg
703 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Kieler Hof
Hotel Kieler Hof
#221 of 319 in Hamburg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oase

Address: Steindamm 79 | St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: €57 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Oase 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Oase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing