We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$106
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
NH Hamburg Altona(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$196
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$121
US$117
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
ARCOTEL Rubin(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel St. Annen(Hamburg)
US$164
US$113
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
25
48
14
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
48
14
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We chose this hotel for its proximity to our friends' apartment. We were, I think, the only non-Germans in the hotel, and yet the staff spoke English and everyone was very friendly. The room was small, in the European mode, but the bed was comfortable, there was good wifi, and the bathroom was fine. Having paid a lot of money recently for hotels in the UK and France, it was refreshing to spend only 110 euros per night for a hotel like this. Those accustomed to air conditioning should be warned, though: the rooms do not appear to have AC. Breakfast (an extra 12 euros) was excellent in quality and range of options.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tiefenthal, Manager at Hotel Tiefenthal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Rebarton,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Birgit Töben-Deul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We were at this hotel for 2 nights during the Hamburg harbour birthday and we enjoyed our stay. It is clean and the staff is polite, friendly and helping wherever they can. Breakfast buffet is big and fresh. The underground station is directly infront of the hotel entrance and it takes only a few minutes to be in the city centre. Shopping centers and restaurants are also nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridor (e.g. 206, 306, ..) are slightly bigger than the others
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexvasilico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tiefenthal, Manager at Hotel Tiefenthal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Alexvasilico,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Birgit Töben-Deul
General Manager
Hotel Tiefenthal Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I have stayed here 2 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful. A bit disappointing that I only could get a beer from the minibar, or I had to go outside.
The room was okay, very warm heated but that's better than too cold.. Breakfast was good, just as you would expect.
Overall I had a good stay but that's about it.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wim_Pluimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

This small hotel is situated in the safe and pleasant area of Wandsbek, just a short ride on the underground from the city centre. Staff at Reception were very friendly and helpful. My single room and bathroom were small, but spotlessly clean and had everything I wanted, including a fridge and television. My bed was blissfully comfortable and the room quiet and so I enjoyed a good night sleep. The breakfast room is very pleasant with a nice view down the main shopping street; the choice of food was not huge, but nicely presented and tasty. Very generous, good coffee! A great "no frills" hotel with excellent service. Recommend.

Room Tip: Side rooms are very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anneke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

We specifically chose this hotel for its location to our friends living in Hamburg. We were expecting something average but were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel ideally located near shops, restaurants and all means of transportation including one of the main bus terminals in the city.

We had a room on he second floor overlooking the carpark. Not the most spectacular view but it didn't matter at all.

The bed was very comfy, shower was excellent and central heating kept us toasty warm throughout.

We didn't go for the breakfast option, instead choosing to eat around the area which was easy and there are plenty of options.

If you're visiting for work or play, this hotel is very good value.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews