We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,059)
Filter reviews
2,059 results
Traveller rating
1,051
622
266
82
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,051
622
266
82
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa areanice hotelmodern stylesteam roomcentral locationrooms are spaciouslocation is greatbreakfast buffet isnice breakfastcoffee machinepublic transportmeaterybasementbathrobesmessealsterduvet
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,059 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Fantastic breakfast and helpful personnel. Location is close to the city center and parking is easy in the gänsemarkt public garage.
Rooms are reasonably sized and clean with a modern warm feeling.
Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 521johan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 521johan,

Thank you for your great review.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Alex Obertop
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Great hotel. Clean, modern and spacious rooms at a great value. Good location close to most attractions. I would definitely stay here again. I especially enjoyed the central location. Also, the rooms were extremely roomy and modern.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dcolbe278972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear dcolbe278972,

Thank you for describing our Hotel as an "Excellent Hotel". We are very thankful and looking forward to having you back again soon.

Regards,

Alex Obertop
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Design is beautiful, from the lobby to the bar, the rooms to the wellness. Everything in an unexpected style but with taste. Employees are very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect and rooms are well sound proofed. Little welcome soft drink and a fresh pastry in your room, comfortable bed, great air conditioning system. Breakfast was good and enough. The pool, gym, spa area were great and well maintained.

It would have been the perfect stay if the shower system wasn‘t so complicated and messed up. Spa and bathroom have the same and it‘s a nightmare to find what does what and then how.

Otherwise I don‘t see myself trying any other hotel in Hamburg in the future. High Quality for a very affordable price! Book without thinking twice (and I‘m a very demanding customer)

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Liir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Liir,

WOW, thank you for such a great headline and review.

We are very much looking forward to having you back! Please share your experience in your social and professional circle.


Regards,

Alex Obertop
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Pluses
1) Good central location and close to the subway.
2) One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in.
3) Nearly all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
4) The spa - particularly the swimming pool and Jacuzzi are outstanding.

Negatives
1) There were many problems with the room but the main one for us was the lack of sound-proofing. Not only could we hear people walking and chatting up and down the corridor all hours of the day and night, but the noise from the lounge bar on the 8th floor on the Thursday we were there was quite frankly unacceptable and this is one of the main reasons I will never recommend to anyone to stay at this hotel. Apparently there is a disco every other Thursday night and although it finishes at 11pm which isn't very late, the noise is deafening wherever you are in the hotel. When I complained to reception, I was offered another room but the sound of penetrated every room in the hotel. But there are other reasons I would not recommend this hotel as well....
2) There were no mini-bar prices.
3) There were no instructions on how to use the air-con or FrancisFrancis coffee machine.
4) There was no complimentary tea.
5) There was no indication if the hotel recycled or not so we left all the things that were potentially recyclable and hoped for the best.
6) The complimentary toiletries were of poor quality and had been tested on animals: the hotel spent a fortune on expensive TV's and coffee machines but yet a pittance on mediocre beauty products - it doesn't make sense.
7) Despite having 100 channels on the TV, only 5 of them were English language and they were all news channels. It would have been helpful to have a few English language channels with drama, comedy, etc.
8) The hairdryer was ridiculously heavy and had no cold setting to set hair.
9) The shower was overly complicated and difficult to work out how to use.
10) Although it's a matter of personal taste, the acid coloured corridors and faux 70's Austin Powers decor left much to be desired.
11) 29 Euros for breakfast is exorbitant.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alimarcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We often use Side Hotel for our business stays in Hamburg. The location is convinient both to cosy streets and restaurants as well as to our office.
The rooms are really nice and spacious - build in modern, genuine and nice materials. The breakfast and restaurant have a very good variety of disches with high quality.
The service is always spotless.
The only very small thing is that the gym is a little small and that wifi is not for free.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank teme936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews