We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel St. Annen(Hamburg)
US$157
US$116
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$256
US$198
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$237
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$174
US$162
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveller rating
344
548
228
46
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
548
228
46
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomking georgeihg memberpriority clubnice hotellounge accessresidential areaminute walkbusiness hotelthe air conditioningmini barbus stopbusiness tripgood nights sleepquiet locationreception staffstandard room
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel is on the area Alster. We stayed over and had dinner there. The room was spacious enough for two big suitcases. Wifi was great, very fast which is my priority.
The mattress however is too soft for my liking.
Bathroom has all the necessary amenities including shower cap which most European hotels don't seem to have in Cologne and Frankfurt.
Breakfast plus point- they had mushrooms done English style

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank llh161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Dear llh161,

I would like to thank you for your honest review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in the Crowne Plaza Hamburg – City Alster. Great that you could easily access our free wifi and we could provide you with the right speed. My apologize for the soft mattress you had in your room. We have selected a mattress type which fit to most of our guests. We will think about a solution that we might offer some selected rooms with a different mattress. Thanks for mentioning our good and diverse breakfast. We would like to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Hannes Dreher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

The Crowne Plaza @ Hamburg is centrally located with easy walking access to a whole range of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The hotel itself is relatively modern though the rooms are on the small size and do show the signs of their age since they were last refurbished. Nevertheless the rooms are clean, quite and comfortable.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear Andrew B,

I would like to thank you for your positive review. Nice to read that you had a nice stay in our Hotel and that you enjoyed our service. Thanks that you mentioned our good location. It's just 15 walking minutes to the city center and just 2 minutes to the lake “Außenalster”. We would love to welcome you again anytime you are planning to visit our beautiful city again.

Best regards,
Hannes Dreher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Just returned from a 3 day City break with friends. The Crowne Plaza is in an ideal location with easy flat walk into the City either alongside the lake or via a pleasant street containing many local bars and restaurants.
The Hotel is of a good standard in a quiet residential area. The no.6 bus stops within sight of the Hotel and operates at least every 10mins. The rooms are not large but very comfortable with all the facilities you need.
The breakfast is excellent with plenty of hot food and a chef for omelette etc. We did not eat dinner in the Hotel as the choice of local eateries was too good to miss. The bar had a nice atmosphere and drinks were a reasonable price.
Earlier reviewers had mentioned coffee and cake available all day in the reception area. I did ask where this was but told only available in the first floor restaurant.
All staff were very friendly and would definitely use again. Obtained a good b&b rate by booking direct via the IHG member website.

Room Tip: High floor facing the rear garden.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear RetiredCrawley,

thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Further, it's nice to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the atmosphere in our King Georges Bar and all our other facilities met your expectations. Regarding the coffee and cakes: We provide for our business meetings a coffee break with a assortment of small snacks in our lobby. We apologize for any inconvenience that we do not provide it for all our guests in-house. We are working on a solution to avoid any misunderstanding. However, all our guests, no matter if business or leisure, have complimentary access to our “Althaus” Tea Lounge, which is located in our lobby. Feel free to drink a tea as much as you like.
It would be great to welcome you again in our Hotel. If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us via Email or Phone. Once again, Thank you for your five star review.

Best regards,
Hannes Dreher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Crowne Plaza Alster is a top class hotel, located very central to everything in Hamburg, trains, Airport, Ubahn, City Center.
The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful.
The rooms are very nice and very very comfortable.
Restaurant for breakfast was excellent and choice of food was top class, did not eat other meals here.
The Bar is small and quiet, bit overpriced for food considering so many excellent inexpensive restaurants close by.
The pool and gym are good, a bit small but good all the same.
In my opinion the best place to stay in Hamburg.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear brian G, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us. Thanks for mentioning our central location and our friendly employees as well as describing the other facilities in our Hotel like the gym and pool. Our staff's first priority is to realize and take care of our customer's needs. It would be great if you would recommend us and I hope to see you again soon.

Best regards, Hannes Dreher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

This is no stylish hip hotel but it is comfortable and has a good location if you don't like city centre hotels.
The hotel is located close to the Alster lake which has a good running trail around the shores of the lake.
Just 50m from the No 6 bus stop and an 8 minute walk from the S1 train station at Uhlandstraße which gives great access to most of the city without the need to change trains. Rathaus station is just 8 mins away from Uhlandstraße and this gives access to the Town Hall and the Rasthausmarkt.

Swimming pool is small and was rather cold when I was there.

My room 611 was somewhat on the small side and the furniture was not the best but the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors tend to be quieter
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Im-away-again, I would like to thank you for your great feedback. I am happy to read that you felt so comfortable during your stay and that you mention positive our cozy bed. Your review gives a good summary of how to reach different spots in Hamburg with the public transport, which will help our new guests to explore the city. Many thanks for that. I just want to add that it just takes 15 minutes, if you decide to walk to the city center. You might go through the street “Lange Reihe”, where you find some great shops with local products they sell. It would be great to welcome you again here in our Hotel Crowne Plaza Hamburg – City Alster. Have a safe trip home.

Best regards, Hannes Dreher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews