We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient business hotel near reeperbahn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Ranked #66 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Quiet hotel but near the reeperbahn (main night club/tourist area) so plenty to see in the evening. Took some time to find a nice restaurant but there a choice at the end of the strip ( turn left then right out of hotel). 10 min walk from the train station which has a direct train (S2) to the airport. Very clean rooms and lovely large shower.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank Triumph5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Triumph5,

Thank you for your feedback and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our location met your needs.
I am glad you liked our bathrooms and our large showers.
.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2015

Excellent location close to the tram station and attractions but in a quiet setting.
Good price for the value.
Clean room and bathroom.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Good breakfast although the selection can be improved (all meats were pork which I don't like and might not suit all customers, but when I asked the staff were very helpful and quickly brought Turkey instead)

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yakshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Yakshack,

Thank you for completing a review after staying at our hotel. I am pleased that your overall experience was good and that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

As a holiday Inn Express Hotel we are limited by the brand standards concerning the choices of breakfast meat we offer. I am happy to read, though, that we were able to offer you an alternative to pork and that you could enjoy your breakfast.

We would certainly love to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015

For my annual visit to HAM during April i would normally stay next door at East but this year left it too late so had to settle for budget hotel next door. Reasonable rooms as would be expected for a HI. Breakfast standard, self service continental fayre, nothing special.
Pricy for the level of hotel but it was HAM Aircraft Interiors Expo so basically a license to charge whatever they can get away with.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank I_SpyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2015

Dear I_SpyUk,

I appreciate your feedback regarding our property. It is great that you liked the location of our hotel.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pascal N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We booked this hotel because we made a last minute decision to visit Hamburg and wanted something in a decent location, once we arrived we paid for the room and also the parking up front. Upon entering the room we weren't overly impressed given the price we had paid!

The bed felt like a camping bed to sit on and the room felt a bit cramped. Nevertheless we unpacked and went out to explore Hamburg. The location of the hotel was great and it allowed us the freedom to walk around the main parts of the city with ease. There was also a fair on opposite the hotel which we finished the night walking around in.

However when we went to bed, we discovered that the bed sheets weren't clean as there were a few brown stains on them and we felt quite uncomfortable staying in the room. As stated earlier the bed felt like a camping fold out bed and we weren't impressed given what we had paid. With the fair going on opposite the hotel, we weren't impressed with the amount of noise coming through the windows as it felt like we might as well have had our bed in the middle of the fair! Obviously the timing of the fair isn't the hotels fault, but it concerns me given the park opposite is always used by these sorts of events..

In the morning we enjoyed the free breakfast, there was quite a lot of choice and it was a buffet style we you could get your fill!

However when we came to check out, we were told by the woman at reception that we had to pay for overnight parking, which we were told the night before we had already paid for. I protested to this fact, as the price we paid for the room the night before also included the parking charge. The woman at reception was adamant we hadn't paid it and printed out our receipt, stating a different charge for the room than originally reserved. Eventually the woman gave in and offered us the parking for free?! Which we couldn't work out as we had already paid the whole fee the night before!! We left very disappointed by our stay...

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2015

Dear David C,

Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to hear you liked our location. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are truly sorry you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received and regret you received service that was less than satisfactory. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. We will address these with the proper department to improve the quality of product and service that we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Much better than last time. They now have fast internet. The location is fantastic – right in the heart of the city, rooms are clean and OK, and breakfast is reasonable. I find it a very good place for the business traveler.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boazweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear haimboaz,

Thank you for your great feedback.

I am happy that you gave out hotel a second chance and noticed a lot of positive changes and we demonstrated our goal to give friendly welcoming service.


We would certainly love to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 323 in Hamburg
893 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 323 in Hamburg
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 323 in Hamburg
390 reviews
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: €71 - €208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing