We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, Conveniently Located, Value for Money Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Hamburg Alster

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Motel One Hamburg Alster
Ranked #26 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, Conveniently Located, Value for Money Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for four nights so that I could attend the Take That Gig at the Imtech Arena. We found it very easy to get to as there is a U-Bahn station almost directly outside the hotel. We arrived at 11.30am and although they state the check-in time as 3pm we were able to check-in with no fuss. The Staff were very pleasent including the cleaning staff and immaculately turned out. The rooms although not huge were very comfortable and the first two nights we were there I slept better than I have for a long time. The Motel was immaculately clean and had a lovely feel to it. Although I would probarbly not return to Hamburg because I am more of a country bumpkin I would certainly stay in a Motel One again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chellby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    352
    51
    11
    4
See reviews for
59
210
81
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I have arrived two hours before check-in time but a receptionist found possibility to check me in immediately so it was a first pleasant surprise.

Usually mid-range hotels tend to save money on electronics in the room but I found a Loewe brand LCD TV on the wall, that was a second pleasant surprise.
There was no wardrobe for clothes, telephone and soup but I knew it beforehand and was not upset.
Internet connection was OK: 3820kbps download and 685kbps upload speed.

Breakfast was excellent: boiled eggs, different types of wurst, cheese and several coffee machines makig great espresso!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed here while visiting Hamburg University of Applied Sciences in June 2011. The university campus is literally around the corner from the hotel, so its location was quite convenient for me. There is also a U-Bahn station right outside the hotel, which made exploring the city easy as well. It is also within walking distance to the Hamburg Hauptbahnhof (Central Station).

The rooms a bit on the small side and minimalist - no clocks, dressers, or closets - but the relatively inexpensive price of the room more than makes up for this. Everything was very clean, modern, and efficient. The room was air conditioned and free wireless internet was provided throughout the hotel. The hotel staff were happy to help with my requests and spoke terrific English.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at this Motel One and will look for other branches if I have a chance to return to Germany.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank videoordvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We chose this hotel mostly for it's proximity to the train station.....close enough to walk to but not in the red light district next to the train station. The hotel appears to be fairly new. Everything was fresh and clean. Service was friendly. Breakfast buffet was a little light, but otherwise okay. Our room with double beds was surprisingly small for two, but we lived with it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

You can see why the German's don't want to bail out countries like Ireland, when you see how far a Euro can go in a hotel like this...unbelievable value. In Dublin, this would rate as a 3.5/4 star hotel - trendy, clean (without being anodine) rooms, cheap internet and helpful staff. No adaptor at front desk = mildly annoying. Right next to an underground stop, so good location-wise; but whatever else, I just couldn't get over the rate - E70 per night. How can you go wrong?

Room Tip: As part of a chain, make sure of your address..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReindeerSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Hamburg City
#38 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
ARCOTEL Rubin
#63 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Hamburg Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Hamburg Alster

Property: Motel One Hamburg Alster
Address: Steindamm 102, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Hamburg Alster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Design Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Motel One Hamburg Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Hamburg Alster
Motel One Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing