We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Hamburg Horner Rennbahn(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$78
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Hamburg Altona(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ARCOTEL Rubin(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$197
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel St. Annen(Hamburg)
US$165
US$113
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$151
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
12
10
3
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
10
3
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hotel is perfectly located just off the reeperbahn. The staff were very friendly and gave us great advice about the area. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the beer in the bar was cheap. They deserve a medal for putting up with me and my friends for 3 nights and i would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I stayed three nights with two friends, we were all 18 yrs old. At first we were a little scared, arriving to St Pauli and seeing all the sex shops and strip clubs and the ruff neighbourhood and the hotel too felt a little scetchy. But the owner was extremely nice and told us everything about the neighbourhood, what to watch our fot and were to go and other valuble information. We had booked three beds in a sex bed room but all the other rooms were full so we got a four bed rooms by ourselves. Not a very fancy hostel but the rooms were nice and cheap and the staff was really nice!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estdcfyhvgkjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June 2012 with a bunch of guys for a stag. I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised. Main points:
- excellent location with loads of pubs and clubs nearby, seemed really safe
- we stayed in a room for four and whilst it was basic, it was also clean and relatively comfortable
- the bar in the hotel is pretty cool and the beers cheap
- the staff we met were really helpful
- at £45 pppn, it was quite expensive for a hostel but didn't really come across as your usual hostel
- how many people can claim (publicly...)that they spent a night in an ex-brothel!

All in all, I would stay here again for a lads trip and would recommend it for other groups of guys wanting to explore this side of Hamburg.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Booked 3 nights at the Kastanien for our annual boys trip away. If you're looking for cheap, cheerful and convenient then this is the place for you. Only 30 seconds from the Reeperbahn and all its attractions the hotel which used to be a brothel still has all the trappings you would expect. The rooms were clean and airy and the bunk beds perfectly adequate for all of our party. One minor issue was only one toilet and shower per floor which caused a few early morning queing problems but it wasn't a big deal.

There was a nice little bar downstairs which was a real bonus, you don't tend to get bars in budget hotels. It was a good place to meet before going out and to have a late beer before bed.

The area is just brilliant if you're after nightlife with the Reeperbahn just yards away and so many bars and clubs within walking distance. Easy getting there too, tube from the airport and then 5 minutes walk so what could be easier.

I'd recommend it to anyone after a few days cheap stay in Hamburg, we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWalking-Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Stayed here with a German friend of mine in May 09, in a double room on the first floor. We arrived very early on a night bus (7am), the lovely owner let us leave our bags in a locked room, freshen up, and even cleaned our room first so we could check in earlier. Room was large, airey, and had a TV and wardrobe. There is a FREE internet terminal downstarirs too, and a small bar where you can start your night off from. There is also a large room where you can drink your own booze if you're in a group. We ended up going out on the town with a german football team who were staying!

The location is superb, one street behind the reeperbahn so you are right in the action, with none of the noise. You are in walking distance to the harbour with its incredible beach bar and boat tours, and the tube station is a 2 minute walk. The other main owner/manager is an awesome guy who gave us some superb tips where to go and what to do. The building is a former brothel which makes the place very unique and you can see this influence throughout, great fun!

If you're on a budget, I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Lastly, try the Chinese takeaway next to the petrol station - awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manchesterrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews