We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Kastanien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kastanien Hotel
Ranked #265 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have just returned from a very pleasant, short weekend stay in Hamburg. The Kastanien hotel lies just off the Reeperbahn. My expectations were not high in advance, however it is perfectly adequate for what you pay. I was a bit apprehensive when I learned that a large group of football fans had booked in for the weekend. However, they were fine and I hardly heard them. The people at reception made you feel welcome and were very down to earth.
Everything was clean and the hotel is right in the middle of the night life without any apparent noise. You have immediate acces to restaurants, hotels and pubs. The S bahn is literally a two minute walk with a fast, cheap and direct connection to the airport. I commend this hotel to al.l

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hotel is perfectly located just off the reeperbahn. The staff were very friendly and gave us great advice about the area. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the beer in the bar was cheap. They deserve a medal for putting up with me and my friends for 3 nights and i would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I stayed three nights with two friends, we were all 18 yrs old. At first we were a little scared, arriving to St Pauli and seeing all the sex shops and strip clubs and the ruff neighbourhood and the hotel too felt a little scetchy. But the owner was extremely nice and told us everything about the neighbourhood, what to watch our fot and were to go and other valuble information. We had booked three beds in a sex bed room but all the other rooms were full so we got a four bed rooms by ourselves. Not a very fancy hostel but the rooms were nice and cheap and the staff was really nice!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estdcfyhvgkjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June 2012 with a bunch of guys for a stag. I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised. Main points:
- excellent location with loads of pubs and clubs nearby, seemed really safe
- we stayed in a room for four and whilst it was basic, it was also clean and relatively comfortable
- the bar in the hotel is pretty cool and the beers cheap
- the staff we met were really helpful
- at £45 pppn, it was quite expensive for a hostel but didn't really come across as your usual hostel
- how many people can claim (publicly...)that they spent a night in an ex-brothel!

All in all, I would stay here again for a lads trip and would recommend it for other groups of guys wanting to explore this side of Hamburg.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Booked 3 nights at the Kastanien for our annual boys trip away. If you're looking for cheap, cheerful and convenient then this is the place for you. Only 30 seconds from the Reeperbahn and all its attractions the hotel which used to be a brothel still has all the trappings you would expect. The rooms were clean and airy and the bunk beds perfectly adequate for all of our party. One minor issue was only one toilet and shower per floor which caused a few early morning queing problems but it wasn't a big deal.

There was a nice little bar downstairs which was a real bonus, you don't tend to get bars in budget hotels. It was a good place to meet before going out and to have a late beer before bed.

The area is just brilliant if you're after nightlife with the Reeperbahn just yards away and so many bars and clubs within walking distance. Easy getting there too, tube from the airport and then 5 minutes walk so what could be easier.

I'd recommend it to anyone after a few days cheap stay in Hamburg, we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_JWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Centro Hotel Keese
Centro Hotel Keese
#131 of 323 in Hamburg
111 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#105 of 323 in Hamburg
175 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Auto-Parkhotel Hamburg
Auto-Parkhotel Hamburg
#146 of 323 in Hamburg
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Commodore
Commodore
#178 of 323 in Hamburg
113 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#151 of 323 in Hamburg
108 reviews
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastanien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastanien Hotel

Address: Kastanienallee 27, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: €93 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kastanien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing