We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel? More like hotel! But Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here thinking it was going to be a hostel, but as we entered the room turns out it was pretty much a hotel studio room at a great price.

The staff were very friendly, the bar was great, there was great washing facilities and there was alot of younger people which we liked. the vibe of the place was nice.

Also a great location, right next to the train station so in the freezing cold you could run to the train. Also cab rank and busses right outside.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerms89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Small, nice and a budget place to stay in Hamburg.
The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and polite. Rooms were too small, we stayed 4 persons in each room, but we spent most of our time outside looking interesting places, so that wasn't inconvenient for us. The hotel isn't far from metro, restaurant and shops. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koteikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Positive:
Friendly and helpful staff who spoke perfect English.
Free wifi.
Short walk from Altona train station, with good directions supplied from hostelworld.
Comfy bed.
Secure - keycard access to front door and rooms. Luggage storage is accessed with special keycard which is kept at the front desk, and you can only get back in to get your luggage by presenting them a coupon.
Big (at least 1.5m tall) lockers in dorms. Fit my big backpack perfectly, but probably wouldn't fit a lot of big suitcases which aren't quite as skinny.
Dorm had its own toilet and shower (separate). Much nicer than having to leave the room to use communal bathrooms.

Negative:
Dorm smelt like old socks.
Pillow pretty bad - quite lumpy, flat.
Breakfast = extra 5 euros.
Linen = extra few euros.
Location wasn't great. Had to get the s-bahn in to the centre of town, took about 15 mins. Didn't seem to be anything too exciting locally in Altona. That said, I couldn't find any good sounding hostels in the central area of Hamburg.
Walls and/or ceiling of my dorm room were very un-soundproof. Even with earplugs in, I could hear quite loud footsteps, which never seemed to end. Not sure if they were coming from the stairs or the floor above. Must have been a big group of people moving around a lot, because those footsteps seriously went on for at least an hour before I fell asleep (at around 10-11pm).
Seems to be the kind of hostel/hotel that caters to big groups, e.g. school groups. The night I stayed there, there was a big group of high schools kids - they were quite noisy and took up most of the common area.
Lamp for my bunk bed didn't work.
Toilet smelt like urine. Maybe this is the downside of having a bathroom in the dorm, which gets shared between boys and girls? Girls toilets don't usually smell like urine...

Bathrooms weren't really dirty, but certainly didn't impress me as other hostel bathrooms in German hostels have.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel Friday 03rd February 2012 for 3 nights with 23 friends.

The hotel is situated in a great position in Hamburg City Centre. 20 minutes from the airport (taxi cost 18-20 euro) Its only 2-4 mins walk from Altona station and a 5 minute walk from the Reeperbahn (Nightlife).

On arrival into the reception of the hotel, we were greeted by a great member of staff that quickly checked us in and was happy to advise us around the local area.

room 415: As you can see from the pictures, the room is clean and modern. As you can see what type of hotels i normally go to, I was very suprised how good the room and especially bathroom was. The tv had a lot of channels but only one was in english (CNN news).

I would say that this hotel is suitable for large groups (Hens,Stags etc), students or budget minded travellers in a good location.

Room Tip: room 415 was great. Room overlooks the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelagentdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Clean and in good condition for a good price. Only negative thing, there was no hairdryer since it appears in the photos

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
377 reviews
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Bridge Inn Hotel
#233 of 321 in Hamburg
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center

Address: Goetheallee 11, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range: €53 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center is located directly by Altona railway station. It is the ideal starting place if you want to explore the tourist attractions of the Hanseatic city. The 116 low-cost, well-equipped rooms all have a TV and telephone. The hotel bar, free WiFi in the lobby, guest kitchen, fireplace lounge and gaming area means there is no time for boredom. For a small fee you can use the underground car park and the seminar room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing