We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hostel? More like hotel! But Great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hostel? More like hotel! But Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here thinking it was going to be a hostel, but as we entered the room turns out it was pretty much a hotel studio room at a great price.

The staff were very friendly, the bar was great, there was great washing facilities and there was alot of younger people which we liked. the vibe of the place was nice.

Also a great location, right next to the train station so in the freezing cold you could run to the train. Also cab rank and busses right outside.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerms89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    158
    76
    14
    16
See reviews for
55
42
73
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Small, nice and a budget place to stay in Hamburg.
The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and polite. Rooms were too small, we stayed 4 persons in each room, but we spent most of our time outside looking interesting places, so that wasn't inconvenient for us. The hotel isn't far from metro, restaurant and shops. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koteikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Positive:
Friendly and helpful staff who spoke perfect English.
Free wifi.
Short walk from Altona train station, with good directions supplied from hostelworld.
Comfy bed.
Secure - keycard access to front door and rooms. Luggage storage is accessed with special keycard which is kept at the front desk, and you can only get back in to get your luggage by presenting them a coupon.
Big (at least 1.5m tall) lockers in dorms. Fit my big backpack perfectly, but probably wouldn't fit a lot of big suitcases which aren't quite as skinny.
Dorm had its own toilet and shower (separate). Much nicer than having to leave the room to use communal bathrooms.

Negative:
Dorm smelt like old socks.
Pillow pretty bad - quite lumpy, flat.
Breakfast = extra 5 euros.
Linen = extra few euros.
Location wasn't great. Had to get the s-bahn in to the centre of town, took about 15 mins. Didn't seem to be anything too exciting locally in Altona. That said, I couldn't find any good sounding hostels in the central area of Hamburg.
Walls and/or ceiling of my dorm room were very un-soundproof. Even with earplugs in, I could hear quite loud footsteps, which never seemed to end. Not sure if they were coming from the stairs or the floor above. Must have been a big group of people moving around a lot, because those footsteps seriously went on for at least an hour before I fell asleep (at around 10-11pm).
Seems to be the kind of hostel/hotel that caters to big groups, e.g. school groups. The night I stayed there, there was a big group of high schools kids - they were quite noisy and took up most of the common area.
Lamp for my bunk bed didn't work.
Toilet smelt like urine. Maybe this is the downside of having a bathroom in the dorm, which gets shared between boys and girls? Girls toilets don't usually smell like urine...

Bathrooms weren't really dirty, but certainly didn't impress me as other hostel bathrooms in German hostels have.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mel827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel Friday 03rd February 2012 for 3 nights with 23 friends.

The hotel is situated in a great position in Hamburg City Centre. 20 minutes from the airport (taxi cost 18-20 euro) Its only 2-4 mins walk from Altona station and a 5 minute walk from the Reeperbahn (Nightlife).

On arrival into the reception of the hotel, we were greeted by a great member of staff that quickly checked us in and was happy to advise us around the local area.

room 415: As you can see from the pictures, the room is clean and modern. As you can see what type of hotels i normally go to, I was very suprised how good the room and especially bathroom was. The tv had a lot of channels but only one was in english (CNN news).

I would say that this hotel is suitable for large groups (Hens,Stags etc), students or budget minded travellers in a good location.

Room Tip: room 415 was great. Room overlooks the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagentdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Clean and in good condition for a good price. Only negative thing, there was no hairdryer since it appears in the photos

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#53 of 319 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#18 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center
Address: Goetheallee 11, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center is located directly by Altona railway station. It is the ideal starting place if you want to explore the tourist attractions of the Hanseatic city. The 116 low-cost, well-equipped rooms all have a TV and telephone. The hotel bar, free WiFi in the lobby, guest kitchen, fireplace lounge and gaming area means there is no time for boredom. For a small fee you can use the underground car park and the seminar room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing