We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Ranked #172 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We paid 62 EUR / night for a double room including breakfast. The hotel is very central - you can walk to the Ku-Damm in 10 minutes and the nearest U-Bahn station is also just five minutes walk away. The No. 100 Bus stops across the road to take you to the Brandenberg gate, Unter den Linden and the Reichstag.

The staff were very friendly and breakfast was good for this price class. Unlike our last experience in an Holiday Inn Express hotel in London there was still ample food left at 9:30 am.

There are so many hotels in Berlin it is difficult to choose. This one is good value for money, central and clean. If you just want a room and breakfast this fits the bill well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear lan2109,
thank you very much for your review. We know that there are many hotels you could choose for your stay. And we are honoured that you picked our Holiday Inn Express to spend a couple days here in Germany's Capital. Should your travelplans bring you again to Berlin, we would be proud to accomodate you again.
Your Team from the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 432 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

Staff were extremely friendly- no problems at all. All spoke excellent English, including the young lads doing the (buffet) breakfast service. Their friendliness was definitely the best thing about the hotel. The bar was open from midday until 1am with reasonably priced beer, the room was extremely quiet, and the shower was excellent.
There were a couple of VERY minor gripes- the internet was a bit slow (when paying per 15mins it's not helpful) and the towels were a little small in the room. The sleep quality was marked down slightly by a rather annoying creaking from above the bed every minute or so! But these really were minor- it was otherwise a fantastic hotel in a good location.
Good restaurants nearby (Argentinian steakhouse 3 doors up, and a good Italian in the basement of the Europa centre near the Irish pub), and near the big shopping district.
Just a note of warning if you have kiddies though- there's a gay 'club' two doors away!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lornaliz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear Lornaliz,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an overview regarding your stay in our hotel. We are very proud that you rated us 5 points! We would be honored to welcome you back.
Your Team from the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here as it was basically the best I could find on a student budget- it was better than I could have expected!

Double room was spacious, brand new feeling and with a sofa as well as the bed. Check-in and check-out were very fast, and the staff were extremely helpful. I am especially thankful to the young man on the desk in the evening who I asked if there were any good restaurants nearby. He recommended Ambrosius just 5-10 minute walk down the road for traditional German food and it was excellent, notice it doesn't have many reviews on here but it is worth a look if you stay here! He also spoke perfect English which I appreciate is quite common amongst those in Berlin but still impressive!

Only problem for us were that the room was quite hot- we were incredibly tired so we just fell straight to sleep anyway but had to have the window open which made it loud for the road outside. We turned the fan right up too, but it was still very hot so we were kicking the covers off, surprising in January! I am sure this would have been sorted out for us had we asked but we were too tired to bother!

Thanks to everyone there for our stay, would happily go back again if I returned to Berlin.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Joe P,
What a nice summary of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West and here is our big thank you for sharing this feedback with us.

I hope you will soon make another trip to Berlin. We look forward to seeing you.

All the best for 2012!

Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Very comfortable here for a one week stay. The location is excellent - close to a main shopping, eating, and entertainment area, down the street from the zoo and near the Tiergarten. I had considered Motel One around the corner, but for about 15 euros more, the Holiday Inn Express has bigger and much nicer rooms. The hotel is fairly new. The rooms are quiet, pleasantly, if minimally, decorated. I booked a double bed. It was fine for one, a little cramped for two - a queen size would have been better. The bathroom was big enough and the shower hot plenty of hot water at all times. I thought the single blue ceiling light was nice so you could use the bathroom in the middle of the night without being blinded. The room had plenty of electrical outlets. There was no individual climate control, but the temperature was fine. I don't know how it is in summer. The window could be opened if necessary. My room had a small fold-out sofa, a good workdesk, and enough light for reading on the sofa or in bed. The wifi was excellent. I think it should be free for all price categories, but 5 euros per 24 hours is quite reasonable if they are going to charge. A safe in the room would be handy but there is one at reception. This is a Holiday Inn EXPRESS, so there are no refrigerator or mini-bar in the room (not a deal breaker for me), nor closet nor drawers, but there is a place to hang a few things. The reception staff was really great. They printed my travel documents for me whenever I needed to do that. One thing I would like to see changed: the lobby vending machines have cookies, crackers, candies, etc. Some dried fruits and nuts would be good to offer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the extra sofa-bed in it. Much more comfortable when you are sitting around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortsOfCall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear PortOfCall99,
thank you very much for your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to read that we could deliver the service you expected. We'll share your uplifting words with all our staff members.
Your Team from the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Pros : Very silent and clean room, with kettle plus coffee and tea. Professional staff. Really cheap for the location and close to the underground. Also the instruction to reach the hotel on their website was really helpful.

Cons : The WIFI access was not free which is quite surprising in 2012 and there was no vegetables for the breakfast.

Otherwise we definitely recommend it even for a full week as we have done it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlad74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Vlad74,
thank you very much for your time to write an overview regarding your stay.
We appreciate your kind words and are proud to say that we'll add vegetables to our complimentary breakfast by February.
We are looking foward to welcoming you back again.
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#110 of 635 in Berlin
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#263 of 635 in Berlin
522 reviews
Friedrichshain
Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West

Address: Kurfuerstenstr. 78, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#130 Family Hotel in Berlin
#143 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: €69 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel opened in 2008! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is located in the center of Berlin only a few steps away from the famous boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well-known department store KaDeWe, the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church, Berlin Zoo, Potsdamer Platz and Charlottenburg Castle. The worldfamous Alexanderplatz in Berlin Mitte, the Berlin Jewish Museum, the Berlin Wall, the Brandburg Gate, Berlin Unter den Linden, Friedrichstrasse , and Check Point Charlie are all within easy access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West offers 158 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is only two minutes from the InterContinental Hotel which hosts major events throughout the year. The Holiday Inn Express Berlin Hotel City Centre West offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to reception and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing