We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #28 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel location is great, right in the center of Berlin, within walking distance from all the main tourist attractions. Nice view of the river from the restaurant and tapas bar. I requested a quiet room, as always. We got room designed f overlooking the yard which was very quiet. Nice size, windows open all the way to let fresh air in. Bed was pretty comfortable. Feather pillows and down comforters. Breakfast is very good, lots of choices.

What I did not like that bed was 2 smaller beds put together and we had 2 super small comforters. I would have preferred 1 large one. We had 1 bathrobe for 2 people, which I thought was strange since we booked room for 2. Room had really funky smell, in fact not only the room, the same smell was in the restaurant as well. We were not able to air it out completely, but open windows helped allot. There were no bath tub, but the shower was large enough for 10 people, we realized that our room was designed for handicapped. Bedding was super clean and crisp, but strongly smelled of chlorine. One last thing, even though there is smoking indoors anywhere in Germany, Melia still has smoking rooms mixed with nonsmoking on the same floors. From time to time somebody would smoke on our floor or in the next room and I would smell the smoke quite often. When I brought it up at the reception I was told that people smoke in all the rooms and there is nothing they can do about it, not like they can check every single room in the hotel. I insisted they take care of it. I don’t know what they have done, but smoke had stopped.

Overall experience in Melia was as usual, pretty good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisyulja06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,092
    1,617
    246
    59
    26
See reviews for
826
2,446
240
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We also booked at the Melia Hotel on the reviews on Tripadvisor of this hotel. We are glad that we did. When we booked in, we were upgraded to a room on the first floor on the corner of Friedrichstrasse and Am Weidendamm. We had a beautiful view over Friedrichstrasse as well as the Spree River. The Room was beautiful and the service was excellent. The breakfast was expensive, but excellent. We stayed there for 2 nights and my wife received a free bottle of champagne on the morning of her birthday. We will definitely stay over at the Melia again when we visit Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I would strongly recommend the hotel for those travelling to Berlin, it's well located, clean and very quiet. The clerks at the front desk are extremely helpful and friendly, typical good and effective german service! By the way, there is a Spanish restaurante Cafe Madrid inside the hotel which serves excellent food and spanish wines. Sehr gut!

Room Tip: Courtyard room are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very clean, modern, friendly hotel. Next to the main train station.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very well situated, nice staff, perfect and well priced

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank josequeimado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#61 of 634 in Berlin
1,944 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,796 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#14 of 634 in Berlin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing