We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid 3 stars hotel, definitely does not deserve a 4 stars rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Berlin City West
Ranked #155 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A solid 3 stars hotel, definitely does not deserve a 4 stars rating”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Not ideally located, but nevertheless not too far away from the city center, I have found this hotel rather disappointing for a 4 star. I had a room on the top floor which has the advantage of having a small balcony with a great view on the city. The room was clean and rather nice, even though the furniture and fittings are quite spartan. Personnel at the reception desk is nice but beware of the waiters at the bar, which I have found to be very unfriendly and unpleasant. Couldn't take advantage of the buffet breakfast, which looked quite nice, nor of any other hotel amenity (not that there is much else, really). If this hotel was classed as a 3 start I would have given it a 4 rating here on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor, they are a tad smaller but with a nice balcony and great view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtzuegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeG, Leiter Gästebetreuung at NH Berlin City West, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor which we really do appreciate.
We regret the unsatisfying service you experienced at our Bar.
We took your comment as a chance to discuss expecially this point with the Bar team to ensure that those happening remains the exception.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and hope to welcome you once again at NH Berlin City West to convince you of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    270
    127
    40
    23
See reviews for
85
225
63
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Having read bad reviews i was quite dubious about staying here. I initially booked for one night only just in case. This was perfect for us. Train ticket 3.65E (short bus hop to nearest tube stop and no changes) brought us right to the door of the hotel. Check in not allowed til after 3pm but they kept our cases in a locked lobby area. Large room - we requested one at the back because of mentions of noise). We slept very well. Kitchen areas are now empty - now a closed little room off the main bedroom. Two large single beds. One large sofa and coffee table with a small fridge. We walked into KuDam strasse for shopping daily (15 mins). We used underground for longer trips (right outside). Had breakfast outside the hotel. Internet cafe a few doors down towards the metro station. Good beer/G&T in bar for a nightcap. Would definitely stay again. 3 lifts worked perfectly. No noise. Downside: Check in is slow, no aircon, a little tatty on corridoor.

Room Tip: Unless you need to sleep with windows open the front rooms are equally good. You have to wait longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
265 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The idea that this property is even a 3 star, let alone 4 is completely absurd. Out of the way location in a seedy area, it is what I would imagine a Soviet era Eastern European "workers hotel" would resemble. Totally threadbare carpets, 1 very slow elevator, tiny rooms ( mine was supposed to be one of their "best" and A/C that didn't work. Everything in the room, including the TV and bathroom fixtures appeared to be completely original, circa 1985. The only reason I stayed here was it was booked by a company hosting me. The whole place was depressing. They were running specials for 38 Euros a night and I would say that would be a fair value.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

There is a metro station enterence 50m away from hotel. As travelling with metro & bus network is very easy & cheat in Berlin, it makes easy to go everywhere from the hotel.
The rooms were clean, quiet, the reception employees were very helpful.
And the best thing about the hotel for me was the great open buffet breakfast. There were a wide variety of cheese & breads, yogurts, egg, cold & hot drinks etc.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room close to elivator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Firstly, the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. A call to reception requesting something would see it brought to the room within minutes.
The room was more like an apartment with living room, double bedroom, small kitchen with fridge and cooker, but with no crockery, cutlery untensils etc, and a bathroom. The bathroom was very clean but on the whole the apartment was a little shabbyand tired, with grubby paintwork, and walls. The bed was comfortable although had two single duvets on a zip together mattress. The living room had a round table with four chairs two faux leather chairs and a sofa bed. TV with only two English channels both news. It was not too noisy but I was on the 5th floor.
Breakfast was not included in my room rate and is charged extra at €17.00. This is over priced by about double. It is the usual buffet style serve yourself with a selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereals and pastries and bread. The hot alternative is poor quality produce and poorly cooked. e.g. only scrambled egg offered and it had to be SLICED! If I stayed again, which I might, I'd have my breakfast elsewhere. The coffee however was very good and plentiful.
My other major criticism was WiFi or internet connection. Business package cost €5.95 per hour or €17.95 per 24hours or €75.00 for seven days. An economy alternative started at €10.95 (24hrs) but was much truncated. This is a rip off and would discourage me as a business traveller, after all I am out most of the day and only really need WiFi early evening and first thing in the morning. I think €5.95 per 24 hours would be a fairer price, or make it 24 hours during the stay not a 24 hour period.
The standard of the hotel was adequate to a point apart from the aforementioned, it was in a good area, but if it was aiming at the business traveller or budget traveller, Premier Inn it ain't.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerhouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#126 of 634 in Berlin
388 reviews
Ibis Berlin City West
#173 of 634 in Berlin
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
TWO Hotel Berlin by Axel
#218 of 634 in Berlin
58 reviews
Hyperion Hotel Berlin
#138 of 634 in Berlin
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Berlin City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Berlin City West

Property: NH Berlin City West
Address: Bundesallee 36/37 | Wilmersdorf, Charlottenburg, 10717 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in Berlin
#109 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#113 Family Hotel in Berlin
#156 Business Hotel in Berlin
#158 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Berlin City West 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to NH Berlin City West, a four-star hotel ideally located just five minutes from one of Berlin's most popular shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Berlin City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Berlin City West Hotel Berlin
Nh Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing