We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Swissotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Berlin
Ranked #39 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the Swissotel Berlin.

Service was as what you would expect of any 5-star hotel, but concierge counter was not manned all the time (same as the ground floor reception). The need to pay for internet access also marred the experience slightly.

Clean and comfortable room with a great view of the Kurfürstendamm, but room size could have been slightly bigger (our room was odd in shape with a central divider serving as the wardrobe).

Overall, still a satisfying experience at the Swissotel Berlin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Tgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,849
    821
    176
    48
    20
See reviews for
318
1,158
242
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We loved this hotel. Great views from the room (our room looked out onto cafe Pranzler). Smart and Clean, well equipped rooms. Very friendly and professional staff.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have better views and less likely to suffer from noise on street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Maybe because we asked for (and got) courtyard rooms on a high floor, but I have never had such a quiet room in any hotel. The hotel is also fantastically clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and courteous. I booked directly with the hotel, and the non-refundable advance rate was unbeatable value. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We were very impressed with the hotel. We stayed for 3 nights midweek and the hotel did seem rather quiet. We had a 10th outwardly/street facing room which was great because I am happy to watch the world go by from the nearly floor to ceiling windows. Even the bathroom has two floor to ceiling windows so you could like in the bath and watch the skyline. The only challenge was that because it was the top floor there was a lip on the roof which obscured the skyline unless you were standing on the window base/sill.

Our room was on the curve of the building and we though it rather small. You could not adequately walk around the bed without climbing over the chair. The chair itself did not have a foot stool like other rooms because frankly it wouldn't fit I expect.

The Nespresso Coffee is a nice addition but the lack of alternatives such as hot chocolate and tea was dissapointing.

The Staff were great, helpful and friendly as you might expect from a five star hotel.

We had a room only rate and did not have breakfast in the hotel because frankly at €21 for an American Breakfast is too expensive and so is a €14 continental.

I gave the hotel a 4 out of 5 because of 3 things only. The size of the room, charging €12.50 per 24hours of internet and the pillows*

*They give you 4 pillows on the bed but I would think that you would need 8 pillows to have it, in any way, emulate an actual normal pillow. You do get a pillow menu but they are for anti allergy and neck support pillows. They didn't offer "standard" pillows. I had to use the chair cushion and on the last night the dressing gown to support my head.

I have attached pictures of our room and view.

Location is great dependant on your needs. There are a number of places around the lunch and evening meals, the transport links like all of Berlin are superb(U-Bahn,S-Bahn and R-Bahn). Shopping is right on your doorstep. Take a trip to KaDaWe(Europes largest Department Store).

Would we return? Yes but we would like to maybe stay around the Mitte district next.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Swissotel is a classic noughties minimalist hotel built in a very high quality. Staff are extremely kind and professional- I asked for an early check-in for Monday in an email Sunday afternoon- they responded and hav mananaged that I am able to check in at 1130! Athough at first the room was on a lower floor, at my request they moved me into a higher one- where the view is indeed better. In any case, if you have the budget to stay there, do stay in the Ku'damm view rooms as the internal courtyard is quite sterile to look at.

The room is very comfortable, with big desk and a very comfy lounge bed to do your reading. The gym is indeed on the small sidebut with ample cardio rooms.

Maybe the only little downsize is the breakfast- at 21 Euro i would have appreciated a little more attantion to detail (melon cuttings included raw bits, the swiss bircher musli was quite poor and the quality of pastries was also mediocre)- these are minor things, but this is a hotel aiming to be in the top bracket.....

For anyone in a business trip or a weekend getaway with a focus on the West side, this is a very good choice!

Room Tip: rooms wih a ku'damm view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#33 of 634 in Berlin
1,867 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#35 of 634 in Berlin
1,871 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,206 reviews
Charlottenburg
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Berlin

Property: Swissotel Berlin
Address: Augsburger Str. 44 | Am Kurfürstendamm, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Business Hotel in Berlin
#21 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Berlin is located at legendary Kurfurstendamm in the heart of city center west! Upon entering the modern, light-flooded lobby you will immediately sense the tranquility. The contemporary design, as unobtrusive as the friendly service promises a pleasant and relaxing visit. Guests appreciate the convenience of free wireless LAN, DSL Internet connection, as well as the Nespresso coffee maker in all of the hotel's 316 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Swissotel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing