We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Prenzlauer Berg”
Review of Hotel Kastanienhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kastanienhof
Ranked #137 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Very well located hotel on Kastienallee close to a wealth of cafes, restaurants, trendy shops and bars. Area is busier at 11PM than 11AM. Hotel is efficient with quite large rooms that are clean and well furnished. Our room for four nights was on the front so we could hear the trams which run to midnight and start about 4AM (but make it convenient for getting around city). Swings and roundabouts. Didn't disturb us. Didn't eat at hotel as breakfast was extra and lots of nearby cafés offer good breakfasts. Appears to be only hotel in immediate surrounding area and would recommend at rate of @100 Euros per night. Only niggles were having to pay each time you use the room safe and providing kettle but no coffee, tea etc.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Ian G,

Thank you very much for the great review of our Hotel Kastanienhof.

It is a pleasure to see, that you had such a good and convenient stay with us in Berlin.

Yes, you will hear the tram as soon as they drive faster than they should. This is the reason we have installed noise reducing windows in each room facing the street.

Next time you should try our breakfast buffet, as we are right now planing it newer and more modern (b.e. bacon and scrambled eggs will be available), while the price with only 9 € is a fair deal in our surrounding.

In fact, we are also renewing our safes, that step by step, we will get off the few safes with the 1 € payment.

We will talk about the coffee and tea bag sitution with our management team, to check if we can improve on that point for our guests.

We hope to welcome you again soon in Berlin.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kastanienhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel located at Kastanienallee in Mitte. Room was good size and very clean. No airco and busy street so noisy if you sleep with open window. There's a minibar available and drinks are not expensive.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Wendy V,

Thank you very much for your kind review for our Hotel Kastanienhof in Berlin.

It is great to see, that you had a nice stay with us and that rooms very big-sized and clean.

We do have rooms in our hotel with air-condition. They are located in the 5th floor and belong to the Deluxe category.

Further, we do have noise reduced windows in our hotel, to keep away the urban sounds.
Indeed, when you sleep with windows open, you will recognize, that you are in the middle of Germanys biggest city.

Thank you for mentioning our affordable minibar, which is equiped with some Berlin specialities.

We would like to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

What a fun place to start our Rick Steves' Berlin tour. The hotel is in a good neighborhood, safe. It's close to transportation hubs. We enjoyed a typical regional food menu at the restaurant our first evening - great job to the Chef and his helpers. Breakfast is simple - breads, fruits, yogurt, cereal, meat/cheeses. Rooms are nice and clean. Even though we're on a busy street, the street noise wasn't too bad. Free wifi was appreciated. Our room has a desk, a table, two closets, a minibar/fridge. Bathroom is adequate. Comfortable! You can also relax outside with a drink from the bar if you want to people watch!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank takrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear takrafty,

Thank you so much for the highscore and the nice words for our Hotel Kastanienhof.

Great to see that your stay with the Rick Steves Berlin Tour was a full success.

We are glad that the German buffet the first night was a good start for the tour and we will forward the compliments.

Further it is good to know, that the urban sounds are kept away during your stay, as we have invested in sound reducing windows.

We would like to welcome you again in Berlin.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This hotel is very well placed in a quiet northern area with many cafes and restaurants and little parks. Fast access to the city centre. Extremely helpful staff, good breakfast and clean attractive rooms.

Room Tip: most rooms quiet given low level of street noise but probably best in a back room if uneasy sleeper.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear John C,

Thank you so much for the highscore rating and the great comment for our Hotel Kastanienhof.

Indeed, the location is excellent to discover Berlin and to stroll around at the pulsating Kastanienallee.

Glad, that you did enjoy the cleanliness of our hotel, the breakfast buffet and that our staff could help you to get around in Berlin.

We would like to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This was a very nice hotel in an excellent, accessible area of the city with two Ubahn stations a short walk away. The breakfast was very nice and the restaurant/bar which is open in the evenings made a nice place to relax after a day in the city.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank moocoweyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear moocoweyes,

Thank you for the great highscore review for our Hotel Kastanienhof!

It is always nice to see, that so many guests make good use of our excellent location and its near to the public transportation.

Our breakfast buffet is indeed very nice to start the day and our restaurant "Ausspanne" the perfect way to end it.

We would like to welcome you again in Berlin.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Recepetion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#352 of 635 in Berlin
101 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#68 of 635 in Berlin
266 reviews
Mitte
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
#166 of 635 in Berlin
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#279 of 635 in Berlin
217 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#208 of 635 in Berlin
147 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastanienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastanienhof

Address: Kastanienallee 65 | Berlin Mitte, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Berlin
#83 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#92 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: €90 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastanienhof 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kastanienhof is your friendly accommodation in the heart of Berlin-Mitte, located in the vibrant neighborhood between Alexanderplatz and Prenzlauer Berg. Our hotel, with its 44rooms, is inside a typical Berlin apartment building dating back to the 19th century. Every room is decorated with dedication, so you will find many testimonies of Berlin's exciting history. If you want to stay in a warm and cozy environment, experience a creative, cultural and, palatable neighborhood, reach all of Berlin's major sights in no time, then start your next Berlin trip at the Hotel Kastanienhof. The grand entrance hall leading to the mezzanine, the painted courtyard gateway, the stucco and the old stairways - you instantly are connected to Berlin's history. You should try out our hotel-own restaurand "Ausspanne". Our excellent chef Andre Pilz creats traditional german dishes in a modern way. Or you can enjoy our wide selection of drinks at our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Kastanienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastanienhof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing