We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kastanienhof
Nearby Hotels
US$87
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$143
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$88
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
US$134
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$97
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$86
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$122
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall(Berlin)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
149
110
16
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
110
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprenzlauer bergtransit passestram routehelpful desk staffshort walktram noisegreat locationformer east berlinwifi includedlively areamini bar in the roompublic transportationberlin wall memorialwould recommend this hotel to anyonenice hoteldouble roombottled water
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel located at Kastanienallee in Mitte. Room was good size and very clean. No airco and busy street so noisy if you sleep with open window. There's a minibar available and drinks are not expensive.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Wendy V,

Thank you very much for your kind review for our Hotel Kastanienhof in Berlin.

It is great to see, that you had a nice stay with us and that rooms very big-sized and clean.

We do have rooms in our hotel with air-condition. They are located in the 5th floor and belong to the Deluxe category.

Further, we do have noise reduced windows in our hotel, to keep away the urban sounds.
Indeed, when you sleep with windows open, you will recognize, that you are in the middle of Germanys biggest city.

Thank you for mentioning our affordable minibar, which is equiped with some Berlin specialities.

We would like to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

What a fun place to start our Rick Steves' Berlin tour. The hotel is in a good neighborhood, safe. It's close to transportation hubs. We enjoyed a typical regional food menu at the restaurant our first evening - great job to the Chef and his helpers. Breakfast is simple - breads, fruits, yogurt, cereal, meat/cheeses. Rooms are nice and clean. Even though we're on a busy street, the street noise wasn't too bad. Free wifi was appreciated. Our room has a desk, a table, two closets, a minibar/fridge. Bathroom is adequate. Comfortable! You can also relax outside with a drink from the bar if you want to people watch!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank takrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear takrafty,

Thank you so much for the highscore and the nice words for our Hotel Kastanienhof.

Great to see that your stay with the Rick Steves Berlin Tour was a full success.

We are glad that the German buffet the first night was a good start for the tour and we will forward the compliments.

Further it is good to know, that the urban sounds are kept away during your stay, as we have invested in sound reducing windows.

We would like to welcome you again in Berlin.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This hotel is very well placed in a quiet northern area with many cafes and restaurants and little parks. Fast access to the city centre. Extremely helpful staff, good breakfast and clean attractive rooms.

Room Tip: most rooms quiet given low level of street noise but probably best in a back room if uneasy sleeper.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear John C,

Thank you so much for the highscore rating and the great comment for our Hotel Kastanienhof.

Indeed, the location is excellent to discover Berlin and to stroll around at the pulsating Kastanienallee.

Glad, that you did enjoy the cleanliness of our hotel, the breakfast buffet and that our staff could help you to get around in Berlin.

We would like to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This was a very nice hotel in an excellent, accessible area of the city with two Ubahn stations a short walk away. The breakfast was very nice and the restaurant/bar which is open in the evenings made a nice place to relax after a day in the city.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank moocoweyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear moocoweyes,

Thank you for the great highscore review for our Hotel Kastanienhof!

It is always nice to see, that so many guests make good use of our excellent location and its near to the public transportation.

Our breakfast buffet is indeed very nice to start the day and our restaurant "Ausspanne" the perfect way to end it.

We would like to welcome you again in Berlin.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Recepetion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a vacation in Berlin - nice place fine neighborhood. Easy access to public transport, tram stop in front. Breakfast ok although slightly expensive. Would consider staying there again on other occasion. Had family room (2 rooms en suite)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mopedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Dear Mopedersen,

Thank you for your review for our Hotel Kastanienhof.

Great to see, that you mentioned our hotel as a nice place and that you made good use of the excellent location.
Yes, the nearby public transportation is great to get started for a Berlin visit.

9 € for an extensive breakfast buffet including unlimited coffee and tea specialities is compared to the surrounded restaurants and cafes (where you pay for a coffee already 4,50 €) actually a great bargain.

We thank you for your stay and that you consider to stay with us again.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews