We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting both for city sightseeing and quiet evening strolls”
Review of Hotel Kastanienhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kastanienhof
Ranked #138 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This hotel is very well placed in a quiet northern area with many cafes and restaurants and little parks. Fast access to the city centre. Extremely helpful staff, good breakfast and clean attractive rooms.

Room Tip: most rooms quiet given low level of street noise but probably best in a back room if uneasy sleeper.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear John C,

Thank you so much for the highscore rating and the great comment for our Hotel Kastanienhof.

Indeed, the location is excellent to discover Berlin and to stroll around at the pulsating Kastanienallee.

Glad, that you did enjoy the cleanliness of our hotel, the breakfast buffet and that our staff could help you to get around in Berlin.

We would like to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kastanienhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

This was a very nice hotel in an excellent, accessible area of the city with two Ubahn stations a short walk away. The breakfast was very nice and the restaurant/bar which is open in the evenings made a nice place to relax after a day in the city.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank moocoweyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear moocoweyes,

Thank you for the great highscore review for our Hotel Kastanienhof!

It is always nice to see, that so many guests make good use of our excellent location and its near to the public transportation.

Our breakfast buffet is indeed very nice to start the day and our restaurant "Ausspanne" the perfect way to end it.

We would like to welcome you again in Berlin.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Recepetion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a vacation in Berlin - nice place fine neighborhood. Easy access to public transport, tram stop in front. Breakfast ok although slightly expensive. Would consider staying there again on other occasion. Had family room (2 rooms en suite)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mopedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Dear Mopedersen,

Thank you for your review for our Hotel Kastanienhof.

Great to see, that you mentioned our hotel as a nice place and that you made good use of the excellent location.
Yes, the nearby public transportation is great to get started for a Berlin visit.

9 € for an extensive breakfast buffet including unlimited coffee and tea specialities is compared to the surrounded restaurants and cafes (where you pay for a coffee already 4,50 €) actually a great bargain.

We thank you for your stay and that you consider to stay with us again.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Great weekend in Berlin. Hotel located in lively area and very close to all major sights - short tram ride (tram stops outside hotel and runs every 10 minutes) - Could have easily walked in and did so on a couple of occasions - staff very friendly and helpful. Short walk to the Mauerpark - huge flea market on Sunday which was fun. We had room 19 with the connecting room for our two children. Our room overlooked the street and we were not disturbed by outside noise at all - really great value for money and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Room 19 has connecting room if you have children - on the first floor.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Joanne R,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of our Hotel Kastanienhof and the high score rating.

The public transportation nearby the hotel really helps to get started to discover Berlin.

Great, that you enjoyed the Suite room with your familiy and that our soundproofed windows kept the urban sounds away.

Next time, we would like to join for a walk through the flea market!

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic. Cozy rooms. Well staffed. Clean, affordable. Great neighborhood. We had room #10 which is two rooms. Our 16 yo son had his own room. Wifi included. Wonderful restaurant attached to the hotel.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Kate J,

Thank you so much for the great 5 point rating and the lovely comment of our Hotel Kastanienhof.

It is always a pleasure to see, that we meet our guests expectations and that we could point with cozy rooms, staff, cleanliness and location.

We improved our WIFI network for a strong and fast connection (free of charge for all of our guests).

We will pass the praise for the restaurant forward to the restaurant "Ausspanne".
Maybe you would like to leave some nice words for them as well.

We would love to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#358 of 635 in Berlin
101 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#62 of 635 in Berlin
266 reviews
Mitte
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
#166 of 635 in Berlin
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#282 of 635 in Berlin
218 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#209 of 635 in Berlin
149 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastanienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastanienhof

Address: Kastanienallee 65 | Berlin Mitte, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Berlin
#83 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#92 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: €89 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastanienhof 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kastanienhof is your friendly accommodation in the heart of Berlin-Mitte, located in the vibrant neighborhood between Alexanderplatz and Prenzlauer Berg. Our hotel, with its 44rooms, is inside a typical Berlin apartment building dating back to the 19th century. Every room is decorated with dedication, so you will find many testimonies of Berlin's exciting history. If you want to stay in a warm and cozy environment, experience a creative, cultural and, palatable neighborhood, reach all of Berlin's major sights in no time, then start your next Berlin trip at the Hotel Kastanienhof. The grand entrance hall leading to the mezzanine, the painted courtyard gateway, the stucco and the old stairways - you instantly are connected to Berlin's history. You should try out our hotel-own restaurand "Ausspanne". Our excellent chef Andre Pilz creats traditional german dishes in a modern way. Or you can enjoy our wide selection of drinks at our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kastanienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastanienhof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing